We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel
Ranked #36 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed 19 July 2012

My husband and i stayed here to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and we were NOT disappointed in the least. We had an amazing time, the room was big, had a curtain to divide the room into two, a futon for the kids to sleep. Had a refrigerator and microwave. The manager was so helpful he even gave us his personal map to use. We got great tips on things to see and do and great directions and didnt get lost once on the island. The only negative thing was that the "Boat Bar" was only open one night during our 5 night stay oh and wifi was sketchy but that is good if you need to leave the "world" behind. We would have enjoyed hanging out at the bar. There is a great feeling of slow life felt here. We were also welcomed on our last evening when we walked down to the sister hotel the Acacia and swam in the enormous hot tub. It was huge! The Acacia is very Zen like and a little more upscale. We were extremely excited by the room that we stayed in was "#125' even though it was a mere coincidence. There is no parking per se for the hotel but we were able to find closeby parking every night. This is definitely a hidden gem on the island. Go and stay there if you get the chance. Tell Popo(the cat) we said hello.

Room Tip: There was no fitness center or restaurant. Great getaway, especially if you want to hide from the wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BusyBuford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (613)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 613 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

I love the location of this place; it is block to the beach, and within walking distance of the casinos and restaurants. It's on a busy street - but that street takes you straight to Old San Juan - no turns! There are signs on the street that announce: Danger! You are now entering the assault and theft zone, but I felt perfectly safe walking around the neighborhood at all hours of the day - even the dark. I must say though, the hubcaps were stolen off my rental car the last day. And, although I was warned about the lack of parking, I was able to find a spot right next to the hotel each day.
My room was clean, but a little darkish - one lamp didn't work. Also my bed and pillows were hard as rocks. The people who work there weren’t the friendliest in the world but, they weren’t down-right rude either. The bar looked as though no one had been in it for months. I would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: My room was off the lobby - I heard everything . . . There's also a "cave" by the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WyoBuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I was wary of staying here, especially after reading the reviews. However, we snatched up their deal of the day rate - which I found directly on their website - and we were able to stay 5 nights for $375!

On our very first night, we arrived at 2 am. We were hot, sweaty, and tired. There was a mixup at the front desk, so the night attendant put us in a room for the night and told us to come back in the morning to speak to the manager. We were put into the tiny room (112) that everyone on this site seems to be complaining about. Yes, it was small, but it had a comfortable bed, a working AC, and a TV. We passed right out. After a stressful day of traveling, it seemed like the most comfortable sleep in my life.

We awoke the next morning and went to the front desk to figure out the issue from the night before. Turns out, I had booked the reservation under my partner's name and was totally oblivious to that fact at 2am the night before. The manager was helpful and quickly got us sorted away. We were able to move our luggage into the room across from where we stayed the previous night - 113. It was several sizes bigger than 112.

Pros:
The bed was comfy.
The AC worked gloriously well.
The TV worked (we're not night owls, so we spent a few hours each night unwinding in bed).
The room was quiet.
The front desk attendants were courteous and very helpful.
Only a few blocks from a gorgeous beach (it wasn't even very crowded!)
The pool, while small, was very relaxing and never crowded.


Cons:
Yes, the bathroom is small. But it wasn't that much of a big deal to us. The toilet, shower, and sink worked perfectly. However, the door is very thin, not allowing for much privacy when using the toilet (and with Puerto Rican food, I guarantee you'll visit the toilet several times during your trip - especially if you have the mofongo!).

**********************************************************************************************************************

This hotel is perfect for the world traveler who is budget minded, and looking for comfortable accomodations after a day of exploring Old San Juan or walking on the beach.

About the travelers: We were a mid-20s couple on a 4th of July vacation from the US.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladyforsci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Stayed here for a couple of days. Some rooms are lovely and quaint and have refrigerators and one I saw even had a stove- others are very small with a bathroom so tiny it is hard to navigate. Things move slow here- so if you want fast service, not the place. But the nearby beach is quite beautiful and the bakery down the road is good. Also, breakfast at the sister hotel is very nice.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank gloria73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We booked 3 rooms at this hotel for our group based on the price, which fit our budget. We were traveling with teenagers and spent three nights. Check in was somewhat slow, parking was nonexistent and directions to possible parking were vague. Having read the reviews we were skeptical about what what we would find upon entering our rooms. What we found were quaint, clean rooms, though a bit small (2 out of the 3). The youth enjoyed the pool, our group did fill it up as it is on the small side. The walk to the beach was short and the time spent there was enjoyable. We also found Kasaltas panaderia, which is well worth the walk for breakfast. We spent most of our time sightseeing and out of the rooms, using them for showers and sleeping, but they served our purpose. If you want all the amenities of a luxury hotel this isn't the place for you, but if you are looking for a quaint, cozy spot you should consider this place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdk357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The good reviews have to be plants, because this hotel is a dump. Check-in took forever. They could only provide us with one key to our room and there was no key to the safe. The wifi was limited to certain sites, like internet service in a communist country (we couldn't access youtube, for example). The "TV" was a 21-inch PC monitor. There was a cockroach in the bathroom, the lighting was so dim it was difficult to shave, and the shower nozzle was at shoulder level. When we left the room, they turned off the AC, so we returned from a walk in hot, humid San Juan to a hot, humid room. They supposedly have a bar, but I couldn't find it. Possibly the worst thing is that it's a long way away from everything. You can get a nicer hotel in the heart of the Condado for about the same rate and save yourself a lot of cab fare. The best decision we made on the trip was to check out of At Wind Chimes two days early, forfeiting half of what we had paid. They didn't even ask why we were leaving. That's a sure sign of a place that gets a lot of walk-outs.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steve60640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We visited Puerto Rico in June 2012. The pros; Great location to Ocean Park beach, nice little shops and Kasalta's, a well known local bakery. Staff were very accomodating! The pool was lovely and the sister hotel, Acacia had a beautiful, large hot tub. The AC in our room worked great! There are some very nice areas within the hotel property to relax whether in the shade or sun. The plants/flowers were beautiful.

The cons; we were very excited to have arrived, however the more time that we spent in our room, the more issues we had. After a day in the sun, we settled down to catch some television to find that ours did not work. When going to call the desk about this, realized that we did not have a phone! Once at the front desk, it was explained that the phone had to come out of that room that day for wiring issues, someone did come to the room to attempt to fix the tv, was unable but did say he would put a work order in for the next day. We woke with bug bites which were probably from the 2 in gap underneath the door which we ended up trying to cover with the pillows from our beds! No blankets on the bed, just a sheet and thin bedspread (I understand that it's a warmer climate, but not with the AC on). The next morning, the toilet plugged, hot water was sparce, one small bath towel for each, water from the shower leaked into the room. We just started to see things that could have easily been replaced, small things like the rusty, broken fixtures on the shower rod. We did approach the dest the next morning requesting a room with a working television (as we were told it was the tv and not sure what would be done about it) and a phone in our room. I was told, "I'll see what we can do". We went out for b-fast, returned to find the tv working! Miraculous. At our check in, we were offered one or two keys to our room, but was discovered that there was only one key available. There was no gate lift buzzer available so we had to ask someone to open the gate for us each time we went in or out with our rental car. Upon our check out, we heard two other people requesting new rooms, one for too noisy of her location and the other for cockroaches in her room. We are not over priviledged, high maintence people, but some things are just common comfort for travelers, expecially if you have children with you and do not go out at night and do the club scene and expecially for the cost charged. Parking is $10/day, and a $10 charge to get a key for the safe box in your room. So an additional $50 added to our bill. Next visit, we will stay at the Acacia, it was much nicer. Hard to believe that the same person/company owns both!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greenmtngrl726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
Acacia Boutique Hotel
Acacia Boutique Hotel
#33 of 48 in San Juan
646 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Wave Hotel Condado
The Wave Hotel Condado
#15 of 48 in San Juan
199 reviews
3.6 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#29 of 48 in San Juan
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Tres Palmas Inn
Tres Palmas Inn
#17 of 48 in San Juan
630 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
1.6 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#23 of 48 in San Juan
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel

Address: 1750 McLeary Ave | Condado, San Juan 00911, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range: £92 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly intimate boutique hotel, At Wind Chimes Inn is a restored Colonial Spanish Villa located in Condado, San Juan. The inn is a short block away from the nicest beach on the North Shore. Our tropical rooms have 10' ceilings, terracotta floors & private bathrooms, A/C, and basic cable TV. WIFI is available in the common areas. Visit our famous Tiki Boat Bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Wind Chimes Hotel San Juan
Hotel At Wind Chimes
Wind Chimes Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing