We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place in a great location for a very good price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice place in a great location for a very good price”
Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

Very nice botique hotel. Beautiful soak pool. Nice quaint rooms. Perfect San Juan stay. Small tiled rooms just like all of the hotels in condado. Very nice staff. Easy to find. Hard to find a place to park.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyinjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    184
    100
    48
    58
See reviews for
66
226
45
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

In December I reserved a room for 2 nights. Also, I was assured that We would get a room in quieter section of the hotel. When we showed up in late February they had no room for us. The clerk couldn't reach the owner - the solution was for the clerk to lead us with our bags down a dark side street to another place. The room there was good. We liked it. We wished to stay there for our second night. That was refused. The best they'd do for us was to promise to have our bags rolled back to Wind Chimes that afternoon. This really stunk. It left us feeling worried about our stuff. We went out for the day, came back found our stuff intact BUT in a front room right above a noisy boulevard --that night we heard many loud jeeps and convertibles roaring by blaring their music.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank needarest67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Juan hotels

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I was a little worried when I read some of the reviews that said the hotel was little more than a hostel in a seedy area of town. I did not find this to be true. Yes, the rooms are small, and it has a campy kind of feel to it. But we enjoyed it so much more than our stay at the Sheraton, which was generic and so removed from the Puerto Rican experience.

We walked up Ashford Street one day to Pinky's, where we had a terrific breakfast. Then we walked down to Kasalta's for another local eating establishment favorite. http://browsingtheatlas.com

The hotel was charming and we enjoyed our stay. We'll stay again if we go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank BrowsingtheAtlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheeling, West Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

This review is a bit late as we stayed four nights in February 2013. First I must say I read a few reviews from people who visited after we did & wonder if they were at the same quaint place as my husband & me. The front desk staff was wonderful (morning coffee in the lobby, excursions arranged, directions given, towels, etc & we experienced 4 front (very nice) desk people during our stay & the owner I believe even assisted us to the max when we had to depart via cab at 5 in the morning. The hotel is right on a bus route---75 cents gets U into town in 15 minutes!! We saw foot patrol officers just down a few blocks from the hotel & elsewhere--felt quite safe at night as well as day. Staying here you do feel like U are in a room which was once a part of a grand home in SJ. We loved the location to beach, bars ---a bit up the street maybe 15 minutes walk or so 7 authentic restaurants quite nearby!! Cool little tiki bar & refreshing dipping pool. The room we had was on the first floor just across from the entrance into the Lobby across the small courtyard & it was fine & clean!! Would return in a heartbeat!! Thanks Wind Chimes. Rose & Brian

Room Tip: The hotel was full when we were there but I do think a deluxe room would've been nice, however w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rosemary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

It's very quiet and cozy the pool was awesome. Walking distance to many amenities such as Walgreens, restaurants n Deli's. if you are looking for a true Puerto Rico experience this is it! It's is away from isla verde which is jam with tourist. This hotel iis Condado and u see regular everyday life in Puerto Rico. I had a very nice stay the front desk guy was very nice!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ometa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

Pool is nice if you want to refresh from your long flights.

Good jumping off point for most of what PR has to offer.

Quizzical as to why the front desk customer service (owner?) is awful when the rest of the staff offers above-level service.

Unless you are familiar with central/south American accommodations, you will find the musty smell and roaches off-putting.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Berlin, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

My new wife and I and my parents stayed here on 3/10/13-3/11/13. The Inn was situated two blocks from the beach and that’s the only plus. Other than that it was in in a crime area about 2 blocks from the inn. The pictures on the website were not at all what it looked like. My wife and I stayed in room 102 which was just outside the main door and also at the check in desk. You could hear every word/noise up to about midnight then at 6am the fun really started with the banging around and loud talking. Our door was paper thin and so were the walls. NO bath tub just a shower stall….My parent’s room was even worse. Their room smells so musty and mildewed that you could hardly stand it. My dad said the faucet was falling off of the sink, TV didn’t work at all and ceiling fan rattled all night. For my 78 yo parents, they didn’t need a place like this to stay. We paid $125 per night which I wouldn’t have given $40 for. Do NOT stay at this Inn. Awful place…..

Room Tip: There is none...Dont stay here.........
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
Acacia Boutique Hotel
Acacia Boutique Hotel
#29 of 46 in San Juan
615 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#22 of 46 in San Juan
328 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#18 of 46 in San Juan
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Wave Hotel Condado
The Wave Hotel Condado
#7 of 46 in San Juan
131 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coral Princess Hotel
Coral Princess Hotel
#14 of 46 in San Juan
912 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Iberia
Hotel Iberia
#39 of 46 in San Juan
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel

Property: At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel
Address: 1750 McLeary Ave | Condado, San Juan 00911, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly intimate boutique hotel, At Wind Chimes Inn is a restored Colonial Spanish Villa located in Condado, San Juan. The inn is a short block away from the nicest beach on the North Shore. Our tropical rooms have 10' ceilings, terracotta floors & private bathrooms, A/C, and basic cable TV. WIFI is available in the common areas. Visit our famous Tiki Boat Bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Wind Chimes Hotel San Juan
Hotel At Wind Chimes
Wind Chimes Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing