We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel
Ranked #35 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed 17 September 2009

This is a "get what you pay for" situation. It's not fancy, but it's more than adequate. My husband and I had a great time staying there. We didn't go to San Juan to hang out in the hotel, so it met all of our needs. The staff were very friendly and helpful, helping us making rental car/travel reservations, etc. The bar was available for a couple drinks before heading out in the evening. Our main complaint was with the location of our room, it was right next to the front desk and we could hear everything. Luckily (and unluckily) the air conditioning unit was very loud so it drowned out some of the commotion. But, like I said, we were only there to sleep so this didn't bother us too much.

This doesn't reflect on the hotel at all, but we wished we had stayed in Old San Juan. Condado was nice, with great restaurants and it was still close to OSJ, but it wasn't as much of the vacation experience we were looking for. I would definitely consider staying there again, but I would be sure to ask for an upstairs room.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prietto0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2009

Don't bother staying here! We review this hotel on line and decided to stay her based on the photos of the inn. We chose this hotel for our 3 night weekend getaway for our anniversary. The front desk staff was unfriendly and very rude. The biggest disappointment was that the hotel bar, which was only open till 7 pm on a Fri. night and did not even open on Sat or Sun. The pool is tiny with No lounge chairs poolside and if u want sun you have to go to another area. There is No Parking for guests(3 spots in a tiny courtyard you have to pay extra for). The beach is a 2 block walk . The rooms are only average for the price of a stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcaaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

Stayed at Wind Chimes last week with my sister. Had a very large room, the 2 queen on the ground floor. Small bathroom, but nicely done. Sleeping area large and comfortable, at least until the a/c went out - then they moved us to Acacia, and I'll also write a review there. The thing that totally disappointed me was the "kitchenette". It consisted of a single unit with 1/2 size frig, small sink, 2 burners. Lots of supplies but no coffeemaker or microwave, so I only used it to keep water cold...until the door fell off. To be fair they did fix the door. It was clean and cool when the a/c was working, and the beds were very comfortable. They were very nice about moving us to Acacia at about 10PM our third night in town, which was a definite upgrade. Overall, though, I can't give Wind Chimes the highest rating. But if you can get a good rate it's definitely do-able for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

Great place to stay,cozy, friendly atmosphere. Staff was very helpful and pleasant.
Our room was very clean and comfortable. The Tiki Bar is nice, if you want to stay in one night great place to relax, have drinks and lounge about. You can even grab a bite at the Tiki bar. All in all we will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gallerico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2009

I stayed at Windchimes Inn, San Juan PR twice in June 2009. The place is modern, private, clean and rooms are somewhat small. I would not recommend it to families with children, since there is not enough space for the children to run a bit, as they usually do. However, I would definately stay there again. They also offer parking for $10.00 a night. Breakfast for about $10 dollars. I think they offered a continental breakfast w/ eggs. Check w/ Inn on this. Clean beds and rooms. You can catch bus # 52 up the street to historic San Juan for 0.75 cents one way each person and be there in 15 minutes. It was pretty nice to be able to do this. Lynette, the front desk person, is such a very helpful and friendly person. She helped so much in getting me around, whether it was recommendations for food, or beach (right up one block), directions or arranging for the rental car company pick up at the Inn. May favorite place for dining, especially for breakfast/lunch is called La Pattiserie, a french cafe about six blocks north on Ashland Avenue; a main avenue. Windchimes Inn is a really good value, especially since it is a centrally located place, good clean rooms, service, and the airport is only about four miles away.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uVIEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

This was the perfect place for me. We didn't want to stay in a typical tourist resort in Isla Verde. The location was perfect. Two blocks from the beach nestled amongst villas and high rises and within walking distance to restaurants in Condado. It was tremendous. The staff were very helpful, the bartender was a riot, the room was small but clean and met all are needs. I can't wait to go back- we've already started saving.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricangreengo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

We stayed here because the cost was inexpensive for Saun Jaun. And it was a value. It is one block from the beach, two blocks from a great playground for children and a bus stop, and within walking distance to the grocery store and many restaurants. Our room was very large, clean, and over looked the pool and street. The staff was very helpful with advice on local restaurants. While the hotel is not plush, there was not one bad thing about our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorothy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
Acacia Boutique Hotel
Acacia Boutique Hotel
#32 of 47 in San Juan
642 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#30 of 47 in San Juan
264 reviews
3.6 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Wave Hotel Condado
The Wave Hotel Condado
#16 of 47 in San Juan
171 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#8 of 47 in San Juan
776 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ciqala Luxury Suites
Ciqala Luxury Suites
#12 of 47 in San Juan
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel

Address: 1750 McLeary Ave | Condado, San Juan 00911, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range: £113 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly intimate boutique hotel, At Wind Chimes Inn is a restored Colonial Spanish Villa located in Condado, San Juan. The inn is a short block away from the nicest beach on the North Shore. Our tropical rooms have 10' ceilings, terracotta floors & private bathrooms, A/C, and basic cable TV. WIFI is available in the common areas. Visit our famous Tiki Boat Bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Wind Chimes Hotel San Juan
Hotel At Wind Chimes
Wind Chimes Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing