We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE TO STAY!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE TO STAY!!”
Reviewed 20 March 2011

My husband & I stayed here the night before our cruise. We picked this hotel based off of the reviews from this site an they were right on target. We arrived early evening and check in was a breeze. Our room had a queen bed and a great view. The staff was extremely friendly and made some restaurant and site seeing suggestions. The first evening we took a cab to Old San Juan which was around $15US each way. The next day we took the bus .75US and it was easy and we got to see parts of the city. We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant and it was very good, The grocery store across the street is a real convenience for snack and last minute items. We didn't use the pool, but it was beautifyully lit in the evening and well maintained. I definately reecommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANNIVERSARYTRAVELER2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,606
    842
    227
    69
    29
See reviews for
581
1,092
179
534
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2011

The Doubletree was a great find in San Juan, where you pay a ton for beach access. As a business traveler, it was much more important to me to have a convenient location and comfortable room than be on the beach. I traveled with colleagues and a companion. While I was out working in town, my companion enjoyed the pool and exercise rooms. Business center was sufficient for basic web and bw print needs. Staff was friendly, dining options were pretty good.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happycatapillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 17 March 2011
Saludos Happycatapillar,

Thank you for your review. Should your business travels bring you back to Puerto Rico please do not hesitate to contact me at yodil.caban@hilton.com. I would like to have the opportunity to welcome you back personally.

Always at your service,

Yodil M. Cabán
yodil.caban@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

We stayed here the night before our cruise and it was the perfect spot! Our kids were in heaven with the pool. We stayed in one of the rooms right off of the patio and it allowed the children to have quick access to the pool as well as the hot tub. There were great games for the kids to play as well.
Breakfast included was amazing. The staff of the hotel could not help us out more to accommodate our late check out. They took care of our bags while we lounged around the pool for the afternoon. Well worth every penny!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

We arrived a day early for our cruise. After reading all the comments about this hotel it was a no brainer not to stay here. Every positive comment we had heard was correct.
It was not as close to the beach as I had thought. When I asked for directions to the beach, I was given a letter so that we could spend the day at their sister hotel, La Chonch.
After a 10 minute walk we had the beach we wanted, with lounge chairs, cabanas, towel service etc.
The Under the Trees restaurant was excellent and affordable.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

The hotel itself was very nice. It was clean, help was very prompt if needed, location was pretty good, but I did have a couple issues.

I'll start with the negatives (which isn't really the fault of the hotel, but still something to be aware of). I booked our vacation through a 3rd party website and so I thought I was getting a great deal. The problem is that there is a $15 charger per day to park your car at the hotel parking garage! There is also a 15% tax that I was not aware of in the beginning. So overall the stay ended up being quite a bit more expensive than I had planned.

The room was nearly spotless when we got there. We also were given a couple of very good cookies as a welcome. Since the airline lost our luggage, the hotel did have toothbrushes, toothpaste, deodorant, and other toiletries for us which was a lifesaver.
The room included a mini fridge, microwave, safe, iron and ironing board, blowdryer, a small LCD TV. It had a shower but no bath tub which was fine with us.

The location was about a 5-10 minute walk to the nearest beach. It took about 5-10 minutes to drive to the Plaza Las Americas (largest mall in the Caribbean). It was very large (300+ stores, 11,000+ parking spaces) and very nice. The hotel was approximately a 5-10 minute drive to Old San Juan. It took approximately 30-40 minutes to drive to Fajardo. It was also about 10 minutes from the international airport.

There are a few restaurants in the hotel. We ate at Under The Trees 4 or 5 times and it was great every time. We did not try the other two places, but they both looked good as well. There are also plenty of other restaurants near the hotel, and definitely a lot in Old San Juan if you want to drive just a little bit farther.

The fitness center was very small. It had cardio equipment and dumbbells up to 50lbs. I believe that was all that was in there. The pool was fairly small, but it did the job and was nice. They do have 3 public computers if you wanted to get on the Internet.

Overall we were both satisfied with our stay. The hotel seemed more like a business-person type of hotel more than a family for vacationing, but it worked just fine for us. I like to try new hotels every time I go somewhere, but I would not mind going back to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joel22484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

We stayed at the Doubletree a day before our cruise based on the reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. The room itself was pretty tight for three people and all of our cruise luggage when the murphy bed was pulled down. The design and furnishings of the room were very sleek and modern. The beds were comfortable and we slept well. The staff was friendly, happy and helpful. We liked the hotel so much that we have reservations for next year. We plan to stay longer next time.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Surfercisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline, WA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

This was a 3-day stay prior to a cruise and we were glad we were in such good hands.
The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable, with adequate light and temperature controls. Internet access was available for free. Breakfasts included juice, coffee, eggs, sausage, bacon, and either french toast or pancakes. Some days, there was a fruit and yogurt station. The pool was comfortable and relaxing. However, the best part was having a reciprocal agreement with the Concha Resort (a 20 minute walk) . This hotel is right on the beach, with pools, pool service and a bar and restaurant, all really nice options.
We would stay tat the Doubletree again!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roomtogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.9 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.6 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 48 in San Juan
6,950 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 48 in San Juan
2,691 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#9 of 48 in San Juan
857 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Property: Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00911-3529, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing