We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5-Star Treatment & Facility” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“5-Star Treatment & Facility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

My sister and I stayed overnight at the DoubleTree at the end of our cruise. This hotel is beautiful, and the staff is awesome! From Antonio's greeting and handling of our bags at the door to being escorted to the front desk to the free drinks we were given while waiting for our room to be available (we were there early), we were treated as if we were staying at the Ritz-Carlton. Actually, I imagine the staff was a lot friendlier at the DoubleTree than they would be at any snooty hotel! Plus, the warm cookie at check-in was incredible and hit the spot for two weary cruisers.

The room was comfortable and immaculate with a very nice TV with excellent channel selections. The bathroom in our room was striking. Clean and minimal with glass, chrome, and wood. The pool area was small but beautiful, and there was plenty of nice seating at the pool area and in front of the hotel. My sister smokes, and she felt very safe and welcome smoking in the lounge area in front of the hotel. I appreciated the free in-room WiFi as well as the fast Internet and quality printer in the Business Center.

Additionally, there were several nice eateries within a very short walking distance. We ate at Bebos, which is an inexpensive local place about 1.5 short blocks from the hotel. It was recommended by the staff, and it was excellent.

What I was most appreciative of during our stay was that our 5:30 a.m. departure didn't throw off anyone. There was cheerful staff at the front desk to assist us with check-out, and the valet helped us with a taxi. I was afraid we'd be on our own at such an early hour, but the DoubleTree staff took good care of us as we started our trip home. Their care was greatly appreciated!

I wish we had scheduled a couple of days just to be pampered at the DoubleTree. I've already recommended it to 2 people here in Oklahoma City, and I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants a good place to stay in San Juan. It's particularly good for people catching a cruise in San Juan because it's about half-way between the pier and the airport.

We stayed at the Embassy Suites at the front end of our cruise, and there were several small issues with our stay that made us appreciate the DoubleTree even more. When I visit San Juan again (and I will!), I will definitely stay at the DoubleTree for my entire visit.

Room Tip: We stayed on the side facing the street on the 5th floor (room 510), plus it was by the elevator, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DonnaOKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeSanJuan, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
Hola DonnaOKC,
Thank you for your kind review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us after your cruise and that our staff was able to assist you with all your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if I can be of any further assistance.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,539
    817
    215
    65
    28
See reviews for
545
1,061
175
511
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

The hotel was very clean. The customer service and valet guys extremely polite and very helpful with directions. A little further from main old town but overall I will stay at this hotel again. The down side is parking was very pricey for $16 a day.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
109 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

Stayed at the Doubletree for one night post transatlantic cruise. Booked it based on the reviews by Tripadvisor members.
On arrival, we were met by Antonio, who greeted us in a very friendly manner and took care of our luggage.
Check in was very quick and friendly, and even though we arrived at the hotel about 08.30, we were given access to our room right away. We were surprised and delighted with this. Excellent customer service.
The room was spacious, comfortable, and spotlessly clean. Full marks to the maid service.
Another plus for this hotel is the free internet access. We did not travel with a laptop, and were pleasantly surprised to find we had free access to a computer room just off reception with computers supplied. Brilliant....why can't all hotels offer this service?
We did not eat in the hotel as we like to eat in local restaurants. The hotel is only a short walk from Ashford, which has plenty of food outlets.
Did not receive our chocolate chip cookie on arrival....will ask for two the next time as we will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GlasgowRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeSanJuan, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
Hola GlasgowRobbo,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for your kind review. I was happy to read that you had a fantastic stay with us and that we were able to provide you with early check-in. I have shared your comments with Antonio, who was thrilled to know of the positive impact he had on your stay. I am sorry you did not receive our delicious DoubleTree cokie. I will make sure to give you extras when you return. Please feel free to contact me at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if I can be of any future assistance.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

I stayed here during the week of October 9, 2012. The Hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly. I was not disappointed and enjoy the stay very much. The location of the Hotel was exellent and close to the places I visited during my stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Skyrunner64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

Phenomenal place to stay. Retro acted our aaa membership at checkout. Helped us find tours from the city. Very helpful. cookies at checkin are pretty dang good too! We used E&B tours, also great experience. Would stay again...in a heartbeat.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Josh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeSanJuan, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Hola Josh D,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for your kind review. I was happy to see that we were able to assist you with finding tours to go explore the island. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if I can be of further assistance.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

Stayed here the weekend of 11/17/12 and had a great experience. The staff was friendly, the room was very clean, well appointed and ready before scheduled check-in. Though the pool area is small, it is very pretty. If you desire a beach experience, the Doubletree has an agreement with La Concha resort so that Doubletree guests have free use of the beach and amenities offered there. We had a perfect day on the beach at La Concha - just an easy 15 minute walk from the hotel - beachside wait staff, lounge chairs, umbrellas and local music from the park next door! The only place the hotel came up short was the buffet breakfast. It was basic and not very tasty for $16. I would definitely stay here again and hope to soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank S1traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

The best hotel facility in town. Due to work requirements I had the need to stay in San Juan several times during this year (2012). Every single time the Doubletree's friendly staff had met my expectations providing great service. The hotel meeting facilities and the rooms are very modern and clean. The queen size bed is pretty comfortable and adequate for a great night of sleep. I love the breakfast every morning and the room service menu is pretty good. A larger area for dining would be even nicer. In a recent visit, The Assistant Manager, Omar Ramos was very helpful and professional providing assistance and alternatives with our training meeting. Rosa Desarden was also invaluable in locating rooms for additional staff coming into San Juan in short notice. I will come back with my family for a vacation pretty soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeSanJuan, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Hola Jose H,
Thank you for staying with us during your visits to the island. I was happy to read that we lived up to your expectations and provided you with great service during all your stays. I have shared your comments with Omar and Rosa, who were both excited to hear the positive impact they had on your stays. I look forward to welcoming you back during your next visits whether you are coming for work or vacation. Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if I can be of any future assistance.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.9 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.6 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,677 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#8 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,616 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
1.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Property: Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00911-3529, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Odigeo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing