We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the typical Doubletree”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We stayed here one night after a miserable night at Hotel Plaza de Armas in Old San Juan. This is a great hotel located in trendy Condado. Only a $7 cab ride from Old San Juan. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There is a 24 hr supermarket across the street which is convenient to get coffee or other Puerto Rican gifts. It is a short walk to the beach and to the lovely restaurants and shops of Condado. Our room was quite modern, very clean, free wi-fi, and they gave us beach priveleges to their sister resort. I have stayed in many Doubletree properties over the years, and this was definitely the nicest. They also have a nice happy hour every day with 2 for 1 drinks.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laurie_loves_gators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeSanJuan, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Hola Laurie_loves_gators,
Thank you for your kind review. I was happy to read that you were able to take advantage of our Beach Club, which gives you access to our beach front sister properties. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if I can be of any further assistance.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,869)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,843 - 1,849 of 2,869 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2012

Stayed here over Thanksgiving while visiting family. I've visited San Juan about 7 times in the past 12 years, and this is the first hotel I plan to have a repeat stay. The property was well maintained and very modern. Service and the staff were excellent. Diana (front desk mgr?) was outstanding. We were put in the wrong room at first (queen bed), but were smoothly transitioned to the king room we reserved. If you can swing a king room, I highly recommend that as it was bigger than the queen making it much more reasonable in size (queen was too small for me). We were in Room 2010 which has sliders to your own patio. You could step off the pation to the terrace in front of about 10 similar rooms, then down a few steps to the pool. This was the best location in the whole property!

Food was very good. Gym was very nice, but limited with a few cardio machines and a rack of free weights. The hotel's locations was excellent too: across from a supermarket and near plenty of dining with a 2-3 short block walk to the beach. Self parking is a bit of a walk (ask for directions) and you need to get your ticket validated at the front desk every time you re-park, so I recommend $5/day more for valet convenience (I'll do that next time for sure).

Enjoy

Room Tip: King room with patio is best location to enjoy outdoor space and roomier than queen rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SunFunSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeSanJuan, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Hola SunFunSun,
Thank you for spending your Thanksgiving with us. I am happy to read that Diana was able to accommodate you with your requested King-size room. Also, I am proud to read that we are the first hotel that you plan to re-visit. Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com and I will be happy to assist you with your reservation.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

My sister and I stayed overnight at the DoubleTree at the end of our cruise. This hotel is beautiful, and the staff is awesome! From Antonio's greeting and handling of our bags at the door to being escorted to the front desk to the free drinks we were given while waiting for our room to be available (we were there early), we were treated as if we were staying at the Ritz-Carlton. Actually, I imagine the staff was a lot friendlier at the DoubleTree than they would be at any snooty hotel! Plus, the warm cookie at check-in was incredible and hit the spot for two weary cruisers.

The room was comfortable and immaculate with a very nice TV with excellent channel selections. The bathroom in our room was striking. Clean and minimal with glass, chrome, and wood. The pool area was small but beautiful, and there was plenty of nice seating at the pool area and in front of the hotel. My sister smokes, and she felt very safe and welcome smoking in the lounge area in front of the hotel. I appreciated the free in-room WiFi as well as the fast Internet and quality printer in the Business Center.

Additionally, there were several nice eateries within a very short walking distance. We ate at Bebos, which is an inexpensive local place about 1.5 short blocks from the hotel. It was recommended by the staff, and it was excellent.

What I was most appreciative of during our stay was that our 5:30 a.m. departure didn't throw off anyone. There was cheerful staff at the front desk to assist us with check-out, and the valet helped us with a taxi. I was afraid we'd be on our own at such an early hour, but the DoubleTree staff took good care of us as we started our trip home. Their care was greatly appreciated!

I wish we had scheduled a couple of days just to be pampered at the DoubleTree. I've already recommended it to 2 people here in Oklahoma City, and I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants a good place to stay in San Juan. It's particularly good for people catching a cruise in San Juan because it's about half-way between the pier and the airport.

We stayed at the Embassy Suites at the front end of our cruise, and there were several small issues with our stay that made us appreciate the DoubleTree even more. When I visit San Juan again (and I will!), I will definitely stay at the DoubleTree for my entire visit.

Room Tip: We stayed on the side facing the street on the 5th floor (room 510), plus it was by the elevator, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DonnaOKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeSanJuan, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2012

Hola DonnaOKC,
Thank you for your kind review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us after your cruise and that our staff was able to assist you with all your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if I can be of any further assistance.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

The hotel was very clean. The customer service and valet guys extremely polite and very helpful with directions. A little further from main old town but overall I will stay at this hotel again. The down side is parking was very pricey for $16 a day.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lizJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Stayed at the Doubletree for one night post transatlantic cruise. Booked it based on the reviews by Tripadvisor members.
On arrival, we were met by Antonio, who greeted us in a very friendly manner and took care of our luggage.
Check in was very quick and friendly, and even though we arrived at the hotel about 08.30, we were given access to our room right away. We were surprised and delighted with this. Excellent customer service.
The room was spacious, comfortable, and spotlessly clean. Full marks to the maid service.
Another plus for this hotel is the free internet access. We did not travel with a laptop, and were pleasantly surprised to find we had free access to a computer room just off reception with computers supplied. Brilliant....why can't all hotels offer this service?
We did not eat in the hotel as we like to eat in local restaurants. The hotel is only a short walk from Ashford, which has plenty of food outlets.
Did not receive our chocolate chip cookie on arrival....will ask for two the next time as we will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GlasgowRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeSanJuan, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2012

Hola GlasgowRobbo,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for your kind review. I was happy to read that you had a fantastic stay with us and that we were able to provide you with early check-in. I have shared your comments with Antonio, who was thrilled to know of the positive impact he had on your stay. I am sorry you did not receive our delicious DoubleTree cokie. I will make sure to give you extras when you return. Please feel free to contact me at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if I can be of any future assistance.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

I stayed here during the week of October 9, 2012. The Hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly. I was not disappointed and enjoy the stay very much. The location of the Hotel was exellent and close to the places I visited during my stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Skyrunner64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Phenomenal place to stay. Retro acted our aaa membership at checkout. Helped us find tours from the city. Very helpful. cookies at checkin are pretty dang good too! We used E&B tours, also great experience. Would stay again...in a heartbeat.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank Josh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeSanJuan, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2012

Hola Josh D,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for your kind review. I was happy to see that we were able to assist you with finding tours to go explore the island. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact me directly at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if I can be of further assistance.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.9 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.6 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 47 in San Juan
7,204 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,764 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 47 in San Juan
4,922 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00911-3529, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: £129 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing