We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary pleasant hotel in a central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Contemporary pleasant hotel in a central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

The Doubletree by Hilton hotel in San Juan, is in a central location in this the island's capital. Very clean accommodation with all the usual facilities in rooms, with comfy queen sized bed. Large flat screen TV and microwave as well - handy if you want to pick up something tasty from the large supermarket situated across the road from the hotel, and warm it up. Staff at hotel very friendly, helpful and pleasant. Nice gardens and pool in grounds. Old San Juan is just a $15 cab ride away, with all the historic sites. There is a wonderful free hop on/off trolley for tourists in the old town. If you ride a complete circuit it takes about an hour - well worth doing to give you a basic orientation of the old city and sights. Thoroughly enjoyed our visit to San Juan and the Doubletree.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenS92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,572
    823
    218
    67
    29
See reviews for
565
1,072
175
518
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed 2 nights following a cruise holiday. Well situated on a main road but traffic noise was not a problem. 5 minutes walk from the hotel,via a park took us to the long beach-ideal for a nice walk along the sand or the sea.

Supermarket opposite the hotel very good and also has a bank, so you can change currency there.
Staff at hotel very pleasant and helpful. Food and drink we had were good and not too expensive.

Altogether a good stay - only problem was it was too short! Gives us an excuse to return to San Juan.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanB91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
110 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed here yet again after a transatlantic cruise from the UK. We arrived at the hotel from the cruise ship about 8.00am and were allocated a room shortly after 9.00am. Brilliant service from a very friendly receptionist. Room was clean and more than adequate for our needs.
We decided to eat dinner in the hotel, and on going to the dining area, noted that we were the only two people there. Friendly waitress took our order, and while we were waiting for our food, the restaurant started to get busier. Almost an hour later, our food was delivered to the table. Seemed to us that carryout food was also being served from the dining area. Our wait was really unacceptable and several people who came into the restaurant after us became quite angry at the length of time it was taking for their food to be served. Two ladies at the next table to us were offered complimentary drinks, so the staff knew there was a problem. This is the only thing that stops us from giving the hotel an excellent rating.
Breakfast next morning was buffet style and very good.
Will stay here again if we are ever back in San Juan.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlasgowRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbados
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

My first experience staying in Puerto Rico and at a Double Tree was great. The Doubletree experience was one I would recommend for anyone not looking for a super resort feel but a great vacation. I was impressed.

The room was a little different from what I have experienced before. While, yes as in previous reviews it appears smaller than typical hotel rooms, it doesn't take away anything and the room quite grew on me, actually wished the vacation was longer.

The only weird thing for me was the bathroom with the frosted door and the sort of lack of complete privacy. I got accustomed to it I guess.

The staff was always courteous and helpful. Special mention to the breakfast staff, the front desk/check-in team and bell boys. Especially Margarita at front desk, she was always helpful, cheerful and put a smile on your face. Keep up the good work.

The location is very good with two top restaurants a stone's throw away (Under the Trees and Silk), the 24 hr grocery across the road. Overall the area seemed very safe during my stay and we never worried about walking around. Importantly it was not too far from anything, the big mall and shopping area, the airport and Old San Juan.

Thanks to the team for everything and see you next time I am in San Juan. Oh yeah, don't forget the cookie, so tasty.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chef_Cor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Good service from the staff and nice breakfast and close enough to San Juan and the airport. Room size is adequate. Plenty of restaurants around with a supermarket across the way. Just a bit of a walk to the beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spinleks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Tx
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

My husband and I along with two friends stayed for three days after our cruise returned to San Juan on November 2nd. We arrived early in the day before normal check-in time, but our rooms were ready. Our room was adequate sized, the bathroom didn't have much counter space, but there was a tiered shelf to one side that provided extra room for our junk. The shower was large (no bathtub), the door to the bathroom was a frosted glass sliding door. Some people might find that feature lacking privacy. There was a work desk/chair and plenty of electrical outlets for computers, etc. - also a microwave and small fridge in the room. Had a decent flat screen TV.
Across the street is a 24 hr. grocery store that sells beer and liquor. Very friendly staff there.
If you are adventurous, the city bus line has a stop in front of the hotel. We took the bus to Old San Juan one day and had a blast. It was worth the experience!
There are quite a few restaurants within walking distance, some are inexpensive.
The hotel restaurant offered a breakfast buffet (we didn't do that) and a small breakfast menu that was pretty good, the coffee was great.
The hotel bar was not quite what we expected - the bartenders were not experienced and seemed unsure of how to make some common drinks. After explaining what to do, they did okay.
One of our favorite things to do in the evening was sit outside in the front of the hotel, sipping on a drink, listening to the coquis (frogs) chirp. You don't get more relaxed than that!
We would book this hotel again if we ever return to San Juan.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aqualogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed here Oct 30-Nov 3 this year after having stayed in Nov 2012 - and will stay on the next trip.

The location is very convenient. It's about 2-3 blocks from the beach. It is just steps away from a few good restaurants (many more are just a "healthy walk" away). Plus it's across the street from a supermarket which is so convenient for us!

The staff is just outstanding (Bo, you have a great team!) If I have to suggest an area for improvement it would be the valet. I recommend using the valet over self parking since self is $15 and valet is $20/day. Self parking is a long walk with nothing to see. I didn't understand the valet staff though. When you pull up, they wait at the desk. If you go to your trunk for luggage, then they come over to help. Not sure why they don't come over automatically to at least open the door. Maybe they are too short staffed there. Nonetheless, getting the car was always very quick and all were the normal friendly that is throughout the hotel.

Stayed in a King Gardenview room (we were lucky to get the same exact room as last year since I love the location at the end). We just love walking out our sliders to the patio and continuing to the pool or across to the gym. LOVE IT!!!!

If we visit San Juan next year, we will return!

Room Tip: Kind gardenview is a bit larger than all the others and pool access is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunFunSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.9 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.6 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,774 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,649 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#10 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Property: Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00911-3529, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing