We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit to San Juan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan Puerto Rico
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First visit to San Juan”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Staff was excellent in the restaurant and at the front desk as well as valet service. Especially Courtney and Loany at front desk, Antonio and Will at valet. Room was nice but tight once the Murphy bed was opened. Otherwise, service was incredible. Restaurant, Pierre's cafe was excellent. Food was tasty, fresh, and well priced.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbChesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,653
    856
    229
    70
    30
See reviews for
604
1,109
184
549
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Everything you would expect from a Hilton property, modern, clean and comfortable rooms with nice touches such as fresh brew coffee machine, fridge, safe and microwave. We were here for five nights and also enjoyed the pool and gym both of which were never very busy. Across the street is a 24 hour supermarket which is convenient for grabbing groceries, there are two restaurants and a coffee shop on site and it's a ten minute walk to a wide range of bars and restaurants on Ashford Avenue. There is a bus stop across the street and we used this to get to old San Juan (75 cents each way on the T5) and also to Plaza Las Americas Mall (can't remember bus numbers but reception gave us the details). Just had breakfast one morning at the hotel and this was very good (buffet). Would stay here again if staying in this part of San Juan.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ros T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Our room (double with Murphy bed) was so tiny that once the Murphy bed was extended, there was no floor space whatsoever. The bathroom had very "high design" glass walls which meant that you could not turn the light on at night without waking sleeping companions, plus it had no fan. There is no airport shuttle at this hotel which seems like an obvious service (taxi to the airport starts at $17 plus bag fees). Considering the cost of this accommodation, I was not impressed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed 5 nights at the Doubletree in San Juan 12/25-12/30/13. This was our first time in Puerto Rico, and while the hotel was not on the beach or in a "resort" area, it was in very close proximity to the beach and Condado areas. The 24hr grocery store across the street was fantastic- we ended up usually only eating one meal "out" per day, saving a lot of money. The pool and hot tub areas were very nice as was the fitness center. We didn't eat at the restaurant, but went to the bar one night for drinks and the staff were very friendly. We had a room with a Murphy bed for the kids- which worked out fine as we put it up each morning and had plenty of space in the room to move around. Overall, we really enjoyed this hotel and would definitely consider staying here again if we were back in San Juan.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
3 Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We were not originally planning on staying in San Juan, but a bug infestation at our condo somehwere else forced us to relocate during the peak week of Puerto Rico's tourist season. I called everywhere, hoping to be on the beach. The only hotel with an opening was Doubletree. Well, we got really lucky. The Doubletree is awesome. We walked into the lobby after three days in a horrible place, and I instantly relaxed. The Doubletree is in a very walkable location, and we walked to several great restaurants. (Blonda, Pinky's and Ummo- one more on Calle Wilson traditional PR food can't remember name) The Cafe Pierre in the lobby was good for dinner as well. We had a pool view room with a king bed in the garden wing which is smaller and quieter- only two floors. Our room was very large, and immaculate. I was so happy. I am a little crazy, so I always pull back the sheets and do a bedbug check. I pulled back the sheets, and it was the cleanest mattress I have ever seen in all my years of travel. We used the pool daily, and it is lovely. My only suggestion is to play some background music to cover the humming of hotel machines. I would absolutely stay at the Doubletree again. The rates are so reasonable considering the location and the rooms. We loved it.

Room Tip: If the rooms with balconies in the garden wing are available, get them. They open into an outside po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank momwantstotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Not sure why this hotel is #2, but its a great place to spend a couple of days. A long walk to the beach, but you can use the beachfront property of la Concha Hotel. Not sure if I like the weird bath door set up in the room. Other than that, I will go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Viajero736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We really liked this hotel. Upon check-in, we were given two delicious cookies. We asked for some directions in the neighborhood and got informative answers, which was excellent as this was our first trip to San Juan. The pool area is gorgeous and there are lots of nice seating areas both in the lobby and outside the front doors. Our hotel room had high ceilings and big windows. The bathroom was well-appointed with Crabtree and Evelyn Citron toiletries. Shower had two shower heads and was very spacious. The only reason I haven't given the hotel full marks is that it's a bit far out from old San Juan. It's a flat rate $17 taxi ride to get into the city. You can take a local bus (bus stop is right outside the hotel) but we waited over 45 minutes for it to come so that's not a great option.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mermaid929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.9 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.6 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,119 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,736 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
1.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#23 of 47 in San Juan
4,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Property: Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00911-3529, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing