We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cooling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
El Paso, United States
1 review
“Cooling”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

A/C not working, reported it and the night was cold, could not get a/c to be at a comfortable level, rooms very small for price, over $200! Other guests had bigger rooms for same price. I love Hilton brand, I dont know if I would go back to this location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Saludos Jose S,

If possible please contact me at yodil.caban@hilton.com or by phone at 787-649-3530, as I would like to personally apologize for your inconvenience with the A/C unit. I do hope that you would see this as an isolated incident and give the opportunity to be of service to you and be able to accommodate you in one of our larger rooms.

Always at your service,

Yodil Cabán
General Manager
yodil.caban@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,633
    848
    230
    68
    29
See reviews for
591
1,101
183
543
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
805 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This hotel is in a good location for business travelers - as I was when I stayed here. It's within walking distance of the Atlantic Condado area beach, the popular Ashford Avenue area, and a fantastic PR locals area that I will not name so it can maintain its charm.

The rooms are nicely appointed and there is a business center and fitness center. The shared spaces are really nice. There is a great seating area out front, in the foyer, and the pool area. The pool is also very attractive with 2 hot tubs. There is also a restaurant, bar, and room service.

The best thing about this hotel's location is that there is a SuperMax grocery store across the street and a wonderful Puerto Rican restaurant about 2 blocks away (Dona Basilia's).
The set rate during my visit for cab fare to Viejo San Juan was $15 and $17 to the airport.

The hotel room tax is ridiculous but that is not the fault of the DoubleTree. I had the U.S. Government rate and the nightly tax was more than 25%.

Room Tip: I didn't realize that there are a few rooms along the pool with patios. If I had known I would h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeatOfMyPntsTravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C., United States
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Very clean and comfortable hotel for a business stay. Hotel staff provide good customer service and the facilities are very modern and clean. The luxury residence building next to it has a full-sized Starbucks (if needed) and a 24/7hr grocery store across the street which has a full-service deli. The local area is a bit sketchy, particularly at night, might not want to walk around but ok if you're driving. It's also less than 10min away from the San Juan beaches and tourist strip for more dinning and entertainment options. Food at the hotel restaurant was mediocre.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Engie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponce, Puerto Rico
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Came for bussiness, got all I needeud and more. Had a wonderful experience. The hotel has the best location, service and personnel, it's A+. And Damaris at the bar is great, we love her. Room service fast, gym is 24/7 with laundry available. The pool is so inspiring, so sad I was by myself. It would be great to be with your significant other.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank hecappas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a long weekend. As the other reviews point out, the hotel is in a safe area, there's a 24 hour supermarket across the street and a Starbucks on the hotel grounds. The rooms are nice (we had little luggage since we were only there for two days, and the room was large enough for us), clean and the bathroom was in good shape, with a powerful shower.

There's wifi everywhere, and the staff are great with recommendations. We took full advantage of their sister resort"s facilities, which was awesome to have such access for Doubletree rates. We didn't use the pool area of the hotel, but it looked nice and clean.

Most of the action is a short 15-20 minute walk away, and it was a pretty nice walk. There's always a cab waiting for you if you'd rather ride.

One issue - when people order room service, they put the tray outside to be picked up. That's pretty standard at hotels. When we were there, the trays would stay out for hours at a time. We'd go for lunch and dinner, and someone's tray was still in the hallway. They looked messy.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wdrefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here just for one night, as we arrived in San Juan late. The check in was very efficient and that delightfully warm cookies are always a bonus. I had booked a queen room, but it very much looked & felt like a double. The room is quite small, but functional. Everything had a purpose and a place. My only complaint was the blinds. We faced the city and by 6:30am, our room was completely illuminated. We had both sets of blinds drawn shut, but it does little to darken the room. Other than that, the staff was lovely, the room was clean & my husband enjoyed a late night swim.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IrishTravelingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piccadilly, Antigua and Barbuda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Traveled to San Juan with family for a well needed get away. We stayed at this property before but not since its a Double Tree by Hilton. The upgrades and improvements are just great. The warm cookie upon arrival, a very nice touch! Our room was available upon arrival even thought it was before the stated check-in time. The room was as expected, since we stayed there before but the improvements were evident and very positive. Even though it smelled a little musty upon arrival.....did not have that clean fresh scent. We were on the bed and breakfast plan so we had breakfast every day at Cafe Pierre......the breakfast buffet was very good and the staff very attentive and efficient. We also had lunch and in room dining, all very good. Housekeeping during our stay was good, they always fulfilled our request for amenities and the room was always clean and fresh when we return to it. The Front Desk staff, especially Margarita was really friendly and efficient. We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.9 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.6 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,035 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,711 reviews
3.4 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 47 in San Juan
947 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Property: Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00911-3529, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing