We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms poolside are great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Thunder Bay, Ontario
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Rooms poolside are great”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel prior to our cruise and were very pleased with our room. We booked a king room and were pleasantly surprised with a lovely patio that looked on to the pool. The other couples we were with had very small rooms so I recommend spending the money on a king room or specifically request a poolside room. The staff were friendly and there is a starbucks on site. We did not eat at the hotel but did enjoy some drinks at the lobby bar. The hotel is across the street from a Super Max which was very convenient and it was an inexpensive cab ride to old San Juan.

Room Tip: Book a room poolside...it is worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennylaika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,605
    842
    227
    69
    29
See reviews for
580
1,092
179
534
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival last night, we encountered a very courteous Robert. He was definitely our "Ambassador" and face of excellent service. On this morning, my husband called the front desk and the female he spoke with was less than courteous. I later called back and spoke with Nicholas. He answered my questions, accomodated our need and provided additional, unsolicited information, which became invaluable. These gentlemen went above and beyond in customer service. The hotel was perfect. The accomodations exceeded our expectations and we used our AMEX points for the stay! We stayed at this location in 2002, and were less than impressed as this location was another hotel chain. The new and improved Doubletree is head and shoulders above its predecessor!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Saludos Patrice L,

Thank you for your review and for recognizing Robert’s and Nicholas’s commitment to excellence in service. I personally congratulated them and they were thrilled to be mentioned in Tripadvisor. We do look forward to welcoming you back soon and If we can be of assistance to you in any way please do contact us toll free at 1-877-926-3030 or by e-mail at reservations@sjdoubletree.com.

Always at your service,

Yodil Cabán
General Manager
yodil.caban@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Within walking distance to the beach. Staff could be a little friendlier. Power outages for 5-6hrs for consecutive days. Make sure you check with staff as this can change an entire day if you're there. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Hotel restaurant food has decent quality. Staffs no care attitude hurts this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Nicholas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Saludos Nicholas W,

The temporary power outage of May 5th and 6th was an isolated situation and will not reoccur. In an effort to ensure that our hotel is maintained in the best possible conditions for our guests, we needed to bite the bullet and created the 4 hour complete power outage, so we could upgrade various of our electrical and mechanical systems. We’re sorry that the comfort of your stay was interrupted because of this, if possible please contact me at 787-649-3530 or at yodil.caban@hilton.com so that I can speak directly with you about this situation.

Always at your service,

Yodil Caban
yodil.caban@hilton.com
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middle Island, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The Sheraton is a great hotel for those in a cruise vacation. The hotel was clean, comfortable and the staff wonderful. A secret "happy hour" every day was a must do. A few steps to Old San Juan, the forts and cruise ship piers

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALAFE456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Upon arriving on Sunday, May 4, we were given a paper explaining that power would be off from 1030-430 but that staff has It would have been nice to know this via email or a call BEFORE check in so we could cancel our plans but this gave us no time to do that. Trying to make the most of the trip, we bared with the situation and service was restored by approximately 345. The staff did their best to accommodate us by serving water but I couldn't even get a free Coke by the pool when I mentioned it to the server. Would have been a nice gesture. The hallways were dangerously dark and I almost tripped over a maid's cart; there were flashlights hung to the ceiling of the one working elevator. We awoke the next day, Tuesday and went about our business only to find that by noon, the power would be out yet again. Having been told it should be restored within the hour, we headed for lunch, stopped at the beach, sat by the pool and as of 4pm, remain without power. The worst part is, this was a business trip for my husband and we've been here for 48 hours total, have another day to go and we've been without power 9 of those 48 hours and counting. I think this is a terrible way to handle a power outage for an "upgrade to service" since we were not notified beforehand. It's our right to make a decision to cancel a reservation because of no power but that right was taken from us along with our money. Sadly, this hotel would have received higher marks from us if we could have had basic necessities met consistently during our entire stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank niknate4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Saludos niknate4,

We are truly sorry that the comfort of your stay was interrupted by the temporary power outage of these two days. In an effort to ensure that our hotel is maintained in the best possible conditions for our guests, we needed to bite the bullet at the very last minute and created the 4 hour complete power outage, so we could upgrade various of our electrical and mechanical systems. This was an isolated situation and will not reoccur. Our hotel and commercial area ( Starbucks, Silk Restaurant, Cafe Pierre, LIV Fitness Club, Bella Rental Car and YeloSpa) are equipped with an emergency generator that runs 100% of our facilities. Once again, we are very sorry and do hope that the next time you travel to the area, you would be our guest again.

Always at your service,

Yodil Caban
yodil.caban@hilton.com
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, TX, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Hostess and servers all greet customers with a smile and a sincerely pleasant welcome. They follow up to ensure food is prepared properly, and tastes good. Hotel is well located within easy reach of convention center and Old San Juan.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Gerald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed at the Doubletree for three long nights last month. I am truly baffled by all the glowing reviews of this place. A free cookie must be a magical allure for some travelers. First off, the hotel is billed as being in "Condado". It is actually nowhere near the beach/restaurant/casino/nightlife area that visitors would consider Condado. To put it in perspective, La Concha resort in the heart of Condado is 1.6 miles away. About equi-distant in the other direction is the Luis Llorens Torres housing project, one of the largest and notoriously dangerous areas in the world. The Doubletree is "near the beach" as billed, but the beach is at the end of a public park with a view of a huge sewer pipe nearby. They supposedly have beach privileges at LaConcha, but we were never told this when we checked in. Found out on Trip Advisor after I got home. Not good.
That said, the hotel itself is modern, clean and comfortable, other than the shower that flooded the bathroom every time you used it. The staff is very good, friendly and accommodating. There is a small pool on the property, about 20 by 15 feet, and a small fitness room nearby. Apparently these amenities justify the $27 resort fee they tack on to your bill on a daily basis. Trust me, this is NOT a resort by any means!!!
I would have been much more charitable in my review if I didn't feel so deceived by the location of the hotel. Others seem to think it's great to be next door to a huge supermarket, but that's not my idea of a relaxing locale for a vacation. To each his own.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LillyAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Saludos LillyAtlanta,

We are truly sorry that you were not able to enjoy our hotel’s location during this trip, but would like to invite you back and offer our assistance in planning your activities. We would suggest enjoying the Puerto Rico Art Museum, La Plaza del Mercado ( Local Gastronomic center with Farmers Market) and/or El Centro de Bellas Artes ( San Juan’s Performing Art’s center) all within walking distance. To relax and unwind, we would suggest enjoying any of the restaurants at the hotel’s Gallery Plaza and/or a full day at our Yelo Spa ( San Juan’s new and most unique SPA). From reading your review, it seems that it is mostly based on your experience of the urban residential areas of Santurce (3 miles north of our hotel) versus the more tourism focused surrounding areas of Condado, Ocean Park and even Old San Juan. Our hotel is centrally located between the San Juan airport (Isla Verde) and Old San Juan, each five miles away from east to west. These areas are part of the tourism district and safe destination, but we do advise our guest to take the necessary safety precautions just as they would while visiting any major US City. If possible please do contact us directly toll free at 1-877-926-3030 or by e-mail at reservations@sjdoubletree.com so we can assist with your next visit or answer any questions.

Always at your service,

Yodil Caban
yodil.caban@hilton.com
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.9 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.6 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 48 in San Juan
6,946 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 48 in San Juan
2,690 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#9 of 48 in San Juan
855 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Property: Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00911-3529, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing