We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bad attitude and bad service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
San Diego, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“bad attitude and bad service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The front desk people, had a bad attitude all the time, didn't help me at all, wanted a tour and they didn't support me I end up taking a tour by myself. lost my key and the front desk guy was rude. My room cleanest was very poor. leave a towel in the floor and find it in the same place. In general my hotel experience was bad, will never stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Saludos MariaS,

I can assure you that what you have expressed in your review does not represent our service culture, we believe that our strongest asset is our people and their caring nature for our guests. Please do contact me at yodil.caban@hilton.com or at my cell 787-649-3530, so we can discuss further and I can apologize personally.

Always at your service,

Yodil Cabán
General Manager
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan At Gallery Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,572
    823
    218
    67
    29
See reviews for
565
1,072
175
518
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

THIS HOTEL. Omg can i even begin to describe how am beaming right now as i write this review. I stayed here for 5 days with my fiance' and every min. of it was just wonderful. From the min i walked in an smell the fresh flowers in the lobby(which they changed everyday by the way) i was just in heaven from then on. The staff was sooo helpful and polite, always smiling, always offering to do anything. Miguel especially, he really made it memerable. The room was super clean and the linens were fresh, the maid service took care of our mess everday, (thanks Emna!) i walked into a clean room. :-) Everything is super close the 24 supermarket across the street was just what we needed, the beach is 2 blocks away. I was also able to get my Starbucks in the morning which was just wonderful. The neighbood is what really got me most, the stores are so close and full of friendly happy tan people, anything we needed we were able to get. The Pool area is just fabulous, is nice and quiet, ideal for couples, christian and juan were always right there when we needed a pina coloda to cool down with after a dip in the whirlpool. The food was awesome, the room service was always on time, even when i ordered after hours the staff looked out. I will DEFINETLEY be back, if i ever go to San Juan i will never stay at another hotel. The staff and atmosphere made it so memerable and i would not change a thing! :-) Book this hotel people! You will not be dissappointed. :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Saludos Ang L,

Thank you for being our guest and for this wonderful review. We are truly happy that your experience was so positive and you were able to enjoy San Juan and all of the comfort of our hotel. Thank you as well for recognizing the efforts of our staff, this means so much to us as a team and our guest-centric culture. If we can be of service to you in any way please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 1-877-926-3030 or by e-mail at reservations@sjdoubletree.com.

Always at your service,

Yodil Cabán
General Manager
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan At Gallery Plaza
yodil.caban@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We used this hotel after being on the Caribbean cruise and stayed for 5 nights wished we had only stayed 1 good check in but asked if we could have a garden room and we would pay more as the room we were in was very dull and we felt hemmed in. They said they would get back to us but never did. Complained every night about the noise coming from the room above us but nothing was done and we just had to put up with it, Returned to the room after being out for the day and the dirty bedding was just left on the bedroom floor. The breakfast was off poor standard I ordered tea and my god it was the smallest teapot I have ever seen more like a milk jug, I went to get buffet breakfast and all the containers that the food was under was empty and we had to wait for it to be replenished and when it did come it was cold . We did not eat in the hotel after that we ate at silks restraunt next door which was fab.If you like to sleep late forget it as the cleaning staff knock on your door if you have not put sign on the door and even then the noise in the corridor is realy bad I know a lot of people rant about this hotel but definitely not to the standard that we are used to.

Room Tip: ask for a garden room then you don't have the noise of other guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patriciaw61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Saludos patriciaw61,

We greatly apologize for the for the inconveniences that you have described. I would like to further discuss your stay, please contact me at yodil.caban@hilton.com or you can call me on my cell 787-649-3530 at your earliest convenience. It is our obligation to constantly deliver the same outstanding service, for which we are known for and I am terribly sorry we failed you during your stay. I am with hope, that you would contact me and give us an opportunity to redeem our hotel.

Always at your service,

Yodil Cabán
General Manager
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan At Gallery Plaza
yodil.caban@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Wow! All the reviews I read about this hotel were correct! It is very modern, well decorated, clean, and has a helpful staff. We stayed 2 nights before our cruise and one night after it. You get wonderful chocolate chip cookies when checking in and any other time you want one. The food is very good in the restaurant on site. We ate a dinner and a lunch there. The beds are very comfortable also. We will definitely stay again! And there is a supermarket across the street which was fun to browse! A bus pick up is right beside the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank titansfan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Saludos titansfan27,

Thank you for staying with us and for this great review. We truly appreciate your positive comments and are delighted to read that you we will definitely stay with us again. We do look forward to welcoming you back and if we can assist you in any way please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 1-877-926-3030 or by e-mail at reservations@sjdoubletree.com.

Always at your service,

Yodil Cabán
General Manager
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan At Gallery Plaza
yodil.caban@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

My boyfriend and I just spent 10 days here, and I give the Doubletree my highest recommendation. Our stay started off right when Juan gave us fresh-baked cookies as we checked in after a long day flying in from California. (Juan was also a great help setting us up with tours around the island all during our stay. Thanks, Juan!) The room itself was neat and well-maintained (thanks, Carmen!) and roomy, and most importantly, the bed was very comfortable. The hotel has a nice pool and a huge, deep whirlpool hot tub which might have been more comfortable cooled down 10 degrees, if I'm being honest. There's a nice-looking gym next to the pool. I never saw anyone use it, though, and it was locked the only time I tried to go in. I'm sure the front desk would have let me in, but I didn't bother. The neighborhood is a mix of well-maintained and abandoned properties, but there is a wealth of nice restaurants in easy walking distance. The hotel isn't on the beach, but the beach is within easy walking distance. There's a Starbucks in the complex, a Chinese restaurant (Silk), an American-style restaurant (Pierre's) in the hotel, where we had breakfast every day (hi, Zoiana!) and one dinner. There's also a Godiva chocolate store right there in the lobby. There's a full-service grocery store across the street, and the fabulous Museum of Art of Puerto Rico is just a short walk north of the hotel. And there is a fine-dining restaurant (Laurel) in the museum. Pricy, but excellent! I picked this hotel because they promoted their pillowtop beds, and because they don't have a casino on site, so it's not noisy or smoky. The amenities and uniformly pleasant, friendly staff make this hotel a jewel that I would definitely recommend to anyone and would return to myself any time.

Room Tip: I was in a king room on the "third" floor facing the pool. Lovely, but what they call the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Frank94114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Saludos Frank94114,

It was so great to read your review and know that you would definitely recommend us to anyone! We appreciate you taking the time to submit a review and thank you for recognizing our staff. We will share your comments with all of them, as they will be very happy to know that they were able to positively impact your stay. If we can assist you in any way please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 1-877-926-3030 or by e-mail at reservations@sjdoubletree.com.

Always at your service,

Yodil Cabán
General Manager
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan At Gallery Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caguas, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Room service was inappropriate and left door open for the first night. Also, There was too much noise and front desk was not very friendly. Room smell very bad and humidity is too high. I will not recommend this hotel to anyone. It is not appropriate and need to improve a lot.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
4 Thank Raymond R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Saludos Raymond R,

We greatly apologize for the unnecessary frustrations you have described in your review. Our goal is not only to meet guests' expectations, but to exceed them. We are terribly sorry we failed to do so on your visit. I would love the chance to further discuss your stay, so I can ensure the proper corrections are made. Please reach out to me at yodil.caban@hilton.com or you can call me on my cell 787-649-3530 at your earliest convenience.

Always at your service,

Yodil Cabán
General Manager
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan At Gallery Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here either end of our cruise on Carnival Valor,checked in with ease and free cookies : )
The rooms are excellent and ensuite bathrooms are really nice,we had no flooding from the showers as others have complained.we didn't dine in the hotel so can't comment on the food,it was Mothers Day (second one this year as we're British lol)on our second day and the hotel had live music while guests dined in the foyer(lobby).
The hotel is in walking distance of the beach(exit hotel turn right and take the first turn to the right,cross the road and take the next left and walk straight down to the end of the road take the next right and then next left,go through the park and onto the beach).
The local area is rough to say the least,lots of derelict buildings,10-15 minute walk to Condado to restaurants,we ate in the Chinese,poor to say the least,would need to send someone from our local Chinese restaurants from Northern Ireland to improve the menu!
Witnessed a rat running along the overhead wires in the street which was amusing lol.
Can't get over all these porters about either at the hotel or the ship,we're quite capable of finding the taxi ranks and moving our own luggage,thanks.
Lovely looking pool and gym which we didn't use,it rained on our last day.
Overall great hotel,wish I could say the same about San Juan.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DerekM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.9 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.6 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,774 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,649 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#10 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Property: Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00911-3529, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing