We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, nice staff, comfortable rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Tustin, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great hotel, nice staff, comfortable rooms”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Nice hotel with friendly staff and clean and comfortable rooms. Pool/Spa facility is a great point and is open 24 hr. on site restaurant and close by market is absolutely an advantage. Rooms are relatively small but clean and comfy. everything looks fresh and well taken care of. On site restaurant is expensive but worth trying in case you dont feel like going out. Self parking is $15/night

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmadreza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,631
    847
    230
    69
    29
See reviews for
591
1,100
183
543
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The staff was just so rude. We stayed 2 days prior to our cruise and I had no clue on what to do or see. The staff was just not Approachable. We had 2 more days after the cruise so we walked to explore and went into the Marriott to find the staff was so wonderful with helping someone who was not staying at their hotel. I was able to book The Marriott for only $30.00 more a night and on the beach! What a difference a staff makes when they go the extra mile.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Saludos CharlesG,

If possible please contact me directly at yodil.caban@hilton.com, as I am hopeful to be able to get some more details regarding your stay with us. We strongly believe that it is our responsibility to consistently delivery the high levels of service for which we have been recognized for. We are truly sorry for your inconveniences and do hope to be able to offset your feeling towards our hotel.
Always at your service,

Yodil Cabán
General Manager
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan At Gallery Plaza
yodil.caban@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Lets start off with the MOD Miguel amazing individual, super professional and pleasant. The rest of the staff who cared for my needs were well trained, humble and very professional. Everyone was understanding. The halls were quiet and clean. Pool was kind of dirty because of the trees but was nice and warm everyday, ironically the last night there the pool actually overflowed but staff took care of the immediately. It was close to Piñones, Loiza, Carolina and the Diego highway. Overall, my stay was like if I was home away from family. I loved it!! A hotel I would highly recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: Reserve online and add Breakfast the room comes out at a better rate. I receive upgrade when I purch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hortensia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I travel at least twice week out of the month and I have to say the Double Tree Hotel in San Juan is hands down one of the best places to stay. Clean room and great services! Everyone that I meet at the hotel was extremely nice and went out of their way to make you feel at home.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Saludos George R,

Thank you so much for your review and for your kind words. If we can be of service to you in any way or assist you with your travel plans, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 1-877-926-3030 or by e-mail at reservations@sjdoubletree.com.

Always at your service,

Yodil Cabán
General Manager
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan At Gallery Plaza
yodil.caban@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannheim, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were initially planning to stay in this place for two nigts only - I knew it from my last visit and I knew it was very good, but basically we wanted to be closer to the beach. However, everything was so luxurious and comfortable this time, and every single visit to the front desk meant a solved problem in one way or the other, so we kept extending our stay and we didn't regret it. This will be our first choice in San Juan the next time as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 444PeterDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafton, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just got back from traveling from this hotel with our 2 kids, 12 & 9.
We booked 2 rooms. they were on the 3rd floor facing the pool. I wished there was a patio or balcony. The ones right at the pool level have them so maybe next time. The beds were alright, kind of on the "harder" side. The kids room had a double bed and a murphy bed, the murphy bed only had a sheet, so I went down to the front desk about 7 pm to ask for a blanket, we went to bed around 9:30 and still no blanket. We woke up the next day and my daughter said she woke up in the middle of the night and she noticed they put the blanket on the end of the other bed. My husband thought that was kind of creepy that they just let themselves in while we were sleeping but whatever we got the blanket.

Our maid, Manna did a good job cleaning our room everyday : )

This hotel exceeded our expectations. The hotel was always clean, and we always felt safe. The kids loved the pool area, it fun coming back from a day in PR to swim and use the jacuzzi before bed. I would wake up each day and go sit by the pool, I was curious about some of the trees, bushes etc and the cleaning guys out there took the time out of sweeping to give me info on the Higuera tree. They were very friendly. The area was always being swept and picked up.The pool area had plenty of lounge chairs, regular chairs and always plenty of clean pool towels.

We booked the bed & breakfast package. The food buffet was great and the food fresh. The french toast was the family favorite. Each morning there was a little area with different kinds of danish, muffins, mini donuts, cinnamon buns, pound cake, red velvet muffins and more, we tried probably most of them and they were all yummy!
Big shout out to Yarimer at the omelette station-She always had a big smile on her face and happily went out back 2 different days to get my son a few slices of regular cheese. She did a fantastic job on the omelettes!

We ate dinner outside by the pool one night from Cafe Pierre-I had the Chicken Forestiere and it was just ok, the string vegetables weren't very tasty. My husbands steak was cooked well done when he asked for medium and the kids Mac & cheese was so spicy they couldn't eat it. But, the waitress Nathalie was attentive and kind.

The bartender at Cafe Pierre makes strong drinks, just the way they should be!! We did order 1 or 2 a night and it can get expensive at $9 a drink so we did go to the grocery store right across the street and get some wine & beers for our fridge.

We used Valet parking every day and Albert & Antonio were always cheerful!! We tipped them generous each time and they were very appreciative. Antonio took some time and gave us a few suggestions on what to do and what to do next time we come.

Lily's Chocolates were devine! I wish I was eating one of the truffles right now : )

The front desk staff always greeted us cheerfully and were always polite.
We did get the letter from the front desk to use the sister hotel, the Courtyard Marriott and which we spent a day and it was fabulous! The pool/beach staff over there are beyond awesome. The kids LOVED the pool, they had a bunch of tubes & floats to rent. We rented the chairs and umbrella and boogie boards for the kids at the beach and had so much fun in the ocean!! The bartenders at Papaya's outside bar gave my son a bunch of lettuce to feed the Iguanas which was a memory he'll never forget! They all went out of their way to make sure we were having a great time!

Thank you Doubletree for an enjoyable family vacation!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Saludos Michelle J,

Thank you your review. We are truly happy to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and grateful for your recognition or our team/family members by name. We look forward to welcoming you back, and do hope that you will contact us directly at 1-877-926-3030 or by e-mail at reservations@sjdoubletree.com, so we can note a pool access terrace room upgrade for you!

Always at your service,

Yodil Cabán
yodil.caban@hilton.com
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan At Gallery Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We had a pleasant stay at the Doubletree Hilton for 3 nights. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and tastefully decorated. The price of the room was reasonable but they added an additional $25 for resort fees to cover bottle water, beach towels and WIFI, which I thought was excessive.
The staff was friendly and helpful even offering options after our tour to Bacardi Rum Factory through Viator was an hour late.
The location of the hotel is a few blocks from Ashford Ave. which is the main street in Condado where the restaurants, bars and beaches are located. The cab ride to Old San Juan is about $20.
The restaurant in the hotel was nice but expensive for breakfast, $17 for buffet, however there is a 24 hr. supermarket across the street which has prepared food for take-out.
The pool area which includes a jacuzzi was beautiful but quiet, we were not informed by the staff about the agreement with LaConcha Hotel and only found out about the option on tripadvisor.
Overall, this is a nice, clean hotel with helpful staff on a beautiful island!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.9 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.6 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,033 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,708 reviews
3.4 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 47 in San Juan
947 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Property: Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00911-3529, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing