We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding service and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Outstanding service and great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Our extended family of 8 stayed here prior to a Southern Caribbean cruise. The hotel staff was welcoming and kind. Our rooms were clean and well maintained, and housekeeping services were exceptional. The restaurant on the property was excellent also, with great service. The business center was wonderful, and allowed me to print and fax to the mainland, for no charge. The pool at the sister property is a short walk away, and very nice. Overall, an excellent experience. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xanadu64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,571
    823
    218
    67
    29
See reviews for
565
1,072
175
517
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

My friends and I really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Every question we had was answered by either workers at the front desk or front entrance. They provided us with numerous places to go while on our stay. Hotel was just how I pictured it and well kept. I don't have anything bad to say. We stayed for a week June 30/July 7.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marhi16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Nice clean hotel,staff was attentive to guest and close to CONDADO area.You must go the Museum up the block towards your left.Supermarket across the street to buy all your essentials.
I will stay again at this Doubletree.For those of you who are visting PUERTO RICO for the first there is a place named BEBOS good spanish food,hot coffee,large selection of food.It is to the right of the hotel around corner.You can't miss it is on the corner.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank latinobx55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Saludos latinobx55,

Thank you for making us your home while in Puerto Rico and for sharing your experience with other travelers. We truly look forward to welcoming you back and If we can be of asstiance to you in any way please do contact us directly at 1-877-926-3030 or by e-mail at reservations@sjdoubletree.com.

Always at your service,

Yodil Cabán
General Manager
yodil.caban@hilton.com
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan At Gallery Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

These are small Doubletree rooms. However, it was still adequate for the 4 of us for one night b4 our cruise departed. This small space has a queen bed, a queen Murphy bed (bed pulls down from the wall), mini fridge, TV, microwave-(in closest), and the bathroom has a frosted glass sliding door (so not a lot of privacy from your roommates). Very cramped, not much room to walk around since everything is right there, we each banged our knees/ankles on the corners of the beds more than once. Everything is very modern and beds are comfortable though. The lobby area is very nice but quite a few steps to get anywhere-lobby, pool, elevators-might be harder for elderly or handicapped person to get around. My girls enjoyed the pool area.

There are no hotel shuttles in San Juan, only taxi's or buses (buses don't allow suitcases though). About $20 taxi ($1 extra per bag) from airport to hotel and a little less to cruise terminal. There is a nice grocery store across the street from hotel-great pizza in their deli area. We bought our alcohol and sodas there.

Cruise TIP: Pour our your alcohol into empty bottles of water or soda and bring these on the ship. We put coconut rum in the empty water bottles and dark alcohol in empty coke bottles. When you run out just repeat the process at any island/port. The cruise line will keep any alcohol you buy until the end of the cruise-so you are forced to buy their expensive drinks.

Cruise TIP: Grab extra boxes of cereal and fruit before you go ashore (to the beach) for when the kids get hungry and you aren't going to be near a restaurant. A couple of days we even made ham and cheese and PB&J sandwiches (from the breakfast buffet) when we knew we were going to be gone along time. I put snacks in small plastic containers for the kids on the flights and reused these to put the sandwiches in when we go ashore.

Cruise Tip: The cruise excursions are expensive -barter at the port for about half the price. Most ports have buses for $1-$2 per person instead of using the island's "TAXI MAFIA" system. Most islands have one taxi company at the port that charge the most ridiculous prices for each person- $20-$40 per person (even kids) ONE WAY. If you're a family of 4 or 5, this can cost you hundreds just to go to the beach. Either rent a car or walk further down from the port to find a bus or other taxi. It's really a shame how much the taxi's are now at most islands. St. Thomas, Barbados, Dominican Republic and St. Lucia are some of the most expensive -I've heard people paying $100 just to go 20min. down the road ONE WAY.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Coach96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We picked this hotel because I read the many great reviews. I stayed there with my husband and son for 4 nights and I will have to be an additional satisfied customer. The employees are all very friendly and professional, rooms clean and the food was just fine (the Cubano Sandwich was very good). We didn't want to stay on the beach this time and have closer access to the Old Town and Airport and it turned out perfect. The rooms are small fitting comfortable one child and two adults but I would go bigger if you have more than that. They have brunch every morning which is perfect for early risers so check out the deals on the rooms that offer this. It's well worth it. Also, there is a SuperMax 24 hour grocery store across the street. The rooms have refrigerators so we got our drinks, sandwiches and snacks for the day so we could enjoy dinner out. It was perfect and saved us a few bucks.

Room Tip: Ask for Antonio - Very helpful in arranging excursions. He was awesome. Try to get a room facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank igotidea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Saludos igotidea,

Thank you for choosing us for your quick getaway and for sharing your experience. It was great to read your comments regarding our staff, rooms and food options. I shared you tip about Antonio with the staff and we all agree! He is our human GPS, he truly knows the way around our island and the best tours. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel and If we can be of asstiance to you in any way please do contact us directly at 1-877-926-3030 or by e-mail at reservations@sjdoubletree.com.

Always at your service,

Yodil Cabán
General Manager
yodil.caban@hilton.com
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan At Gallery Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Orange, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed in room 313 here from June 23-28 in 2014 & had the best week I've ever had & this was the best hotel I've ever been to by far. Would love to return as soon as possible. Part of best week I've ever lived through, You will love being in San Juan & being at this hotel. If you want to enjoy getting to experience Puerto Rico this is the place to stay. Hotel workers were very friendly as well loved chatting with them at the front desk. Fell in love with Puerto Rico and this hotel. The 24hr pool and hot tub best thing about it

A. Taste from New Jersey

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

My mom & I stayed in PR 4 days, we were going on a cruise. The hotel and rooms were clean & beautiful. Lots of restaurants near by. The bathroom does not have a lot of counter space, but overall ur in walking distance 2 many things..Would stay here again!!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank English G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Saludos English G,

Thank you for your review. It was really nice to read that your were able to enjoy your stay and would plan to stay with us again. We do look forward to welcoming you back and if we can assist you with your travel plans please contact us directly at 1-877-926-3030 or by e-mail at reservations@sjdoubletree.com.

Always at your service,

Yodil Cabán
General Manager
yodil.caban@hilton.com
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan At Gallery Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.9 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.6 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,765 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,646 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#7 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Property: Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00911-3529, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing