We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Property, Location could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Property, Location could be better”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had a great stay at the Doubletree, price was great, rooms were clean, hotel staff was helpful. However, the location is not ideal if you want to get to old town or the beach daily. If you get a bargain price (like we did), it can make up for the location, but you'll be taking the bus everyday or taxis. There is a grocery store across the street that was really nice, and they have a deal with the La Concha to let Doubletree guests use their beach access, which was awesome. Just be aware you're not going to be within walking distance of old town.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripcorAlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Saludos TripcorAlly,

It was really nice to read that you had a great stay with us and that you found our team to be helpful. In regards to our location, we really want our guest to fully enjoy all of the great urban resort amenities we have to offer, our brand new SPA, Yelo Spa, Ocean Park Beach Club, over 16 restaurants and bars to choose from., the Puerto Rico Art Museum, Boutique Shops and the many Cafés. Now with our new Ocean Park Beach Club our guest can lounge the day away at Ocean Park Beach with complimentary beach loungers, towels, umbrellas and cool water. Should any of our guests have any questions regarding our location please contact us directly at 1-877-926-3030 or by e-mail at reservations@sjdoubletree.com.

Always at your service,

Yodil Cabán
General Manager
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan At Gallery Plaza
yodil.caban@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,633
    848
    230
    68
    29
See reviews for
591
1,101
183
543
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plant city
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Me and my husband had the luxury of staying here for a short vacation. The staff was nice, especially Antonio at valet. He defiantly knew where the best pizza was. The grounds of the hotel are nice and easy to access guest rooms and the air conditioner defiantly works in the halls and rooms. The rooms are very nice and clean, big beds, TVs with cable, the shower is large, just make sure you have a towel because the water will drip all over floor. The pool was nice, and even has a little splash area for the kids, shower area and a whirlpool, warning the water is extremely hot so keep that in mind.
There is a supermarket across the street that open 24 hours and the beach is about a ten-15 minute walk. Just down the street turn right, and there an access opening to the left. On the way to the beach, you will hit Ashford Ave plenty of good places to good and grab a beer. The hotel also offers taxi service with a Flat rate anywhere on the island can become costly after a couple of days. I suggest letting the hotel get you a rental car about 50 a day 20 extra for the insurance, which I recommend. That way you can explore as much as you want. Oh one more thing, they have a sister hotel on the beach you can relax at with a casino. Just ask for a letter and you can have a chair and umbrella set up for you. Overall my experience was magnificent and hope to visit again.

Room Tip: Rooms away from pool are quiet, rent a car from counter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brick, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This Hotel charge you for services you might not use. They won't tell you and if you do not check your bill as you leave... you will pay for unnecessary services. The food is average and the room smelled really bad. There are several employees that will care for you but there are few with attitude as they do not care for you. The place is well located but I guess i had the worse because they were too busy to care. I am looking forward to see if corporate is willing to extend some customer service to our difficult time here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
5 Thank Francisco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Saludos Francisco C,

We are truly sorry for your inconveniences and must apologize for any miscommunication regarding your final bill. Please do contact me directly at yodil.caban@hilton.com or at my cell 787-649-3530 to see how I can amend this situation.

Always at your service,

Yodil Cabán
General Manager
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan At Gallery Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Awesome place to stay! Right in the heart of San Juan in Condado. Near lots of restaurants and there's a 24 hour grocery store across the street! Room was AWESOME! Beautifully furnished and clean! Loved staying here! Great amenities too including 24 pool and hot tub!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Business trip to Puerto Rico, stayed at the Double Tree; what a great hotel! Great staff and great service! The location is convenient. The food was excellent! The room was clean and well maintained! The pool and spa were a pleasure! I was made to feel very welcome by the entire staff! Would stay at this hotel again anytime!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humacao, Puerto Rico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I have to visit San Juan for medical reasons, business and leisure at different times of the year. Regardless of the day or date, the stay at the DoubleTree Hilton in San Juan is always the best quality time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank alortsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Saludos Alortsos,

Thank you for making us your home away from home. We truly enjoy having you as our guest and hope to welcome you back many more times. If we can be of service to you in any way please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 1-877-926-3030 or by e-mail at reservations@sjdoubletree.com.

Always at your service,

Yodil Cabán
General Manager
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan At Gallery Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We were driving back from Ponce for our last night in Puerto Rico and were looking for a hotel fairly close to the airport. We used the Hotel Tonight app and the Doubletree came up as one of the least expensive options. Not caring too much about the amenities we booked it. What a find! Just driving up to it we knew we made a great decision. (We love the Hotel Tonight app too). The staff was courteous, very helpful, bilingual Spanish/English. On-site parking (not cheap, $25 valet) was nice for peace of mind with the rental car. Nice restaurant, decent workout room, and the pool was very nice. We spent a lot of time at the pool and if you can handle the heat, I recommend a dip in the hot tub, which was a great relaxer. We got in all the way (for about 10 minutes). The room was small, but nice and clean. Free wifi, nice shower, one double bed...pretty comfortable. We didn't go out on the town exploring but it felt like we were close enough to anything we might have needed and it was a 10 minute hop to return the rental and head to the airport. Oh, and we love the Doubletree cookies!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank biztraveler1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Saludos biztraveler1972,

Thank you for your review. Hopefully for your next visit to San Juan, Puerto Rico you will be able to stay with us for a longer length of stay and get to enjoy our new Ocean Park Beach Club and our new full service Spa, Yelo Spa. With our new beach club, our guest can lounge the day away at Ocean Park Beach with complementary beach loungers, towels, umbrellas and cool water. We are looking forward to your next stay with us and if we can be of service to you in any way please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 1-877-926-3030 or by e-mail at reservations@sjdoubletree.com.

Always at your service,

Yodil Cabán
yodil.caban@hilton.com
General Manager
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan At Gallery Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.9 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.6 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,035 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,711 reviews
3.4 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 47 in San Juan
947 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Property: Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00911-3529, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing