We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, neat, and friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Clean, neat, and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights. We were supposed to stay 3 nights but our flight was delayed a whole day, and since we prepaid they would not refund us the night we did not stay. So, don't prepay! Otherwise it was a nice stay. We went across the street to the super 99 store, but the security guard would not let us park there so we had to pay $15 a night for the parking garage. There was nowhere else to park. We walked a couple blocks to the park and beach. Not a bad walk. There were also a few good restaurants close by as well. The front desk helped us with where to go and were always friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beckyj316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,539
    817
    215
    65
    28
See reviews for
545
1,061
175
511
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

So we were in San Juan, PR for a wedding this past week at the Caribe Hilton. We first made reservations for the Caribe Hilton so we would be closer to the ceremony. However we decided to change our reservations at the last minute. This was the best decision ever. While all of the other wedding party were complaining about their stay at the Caribe Hilton and Condado Plaza Hilton, we were bragging about all the great experiences with the staff and the facility at the Doubletree by Hilton. When I arrived to check in after a long flight and a very INTERESTING trip from the rental car facility, I was greeted by the happy the valet guys. They explained the parking SITUATION to me for the whole island. Kevin was awesome. I entered a very appealing lobby area and as I approached the desk I was greeted by PETER. PETER was awesome and he is to be compared to Superman. Peter explained all fees included in the stay, offered great advice on restaurants, and made us feel privileged to be at the hotel. The room was up-to-date and very clean. The Cafe has great food and great staff with a bar. The staff at the desk were very nice. The cleaning crew was very nice. The valet was very nice. The courtyard/mini rain forest was equipped with a kiddie pool, Adult Pool and Hot tub.Also the Cafe delivered pool side. The Starbucks and YeloSpa are very close. The grocery store and good restaurants are in walking distance. You are less than a mile from 26 which takes you straight to the airport Walking distance to the beach and less than a mile to Avenida Ashford/Ashford AVE (which is considered the strip and also takes you to Old San Juan. I am experienced traveler and this was my best hotel stay yet. I highly recommend this hotel and it will be our first choice when we come to PR.God bless all of you.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank King D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

You're probably reading this review because you're trying to decide whether its worth staying at this hotel. I would say yes, based on the vast majority of reviews. From my experience though, I probably wouldn't stay here again. My experience with the front desk staff is what ruined it for me. The amenities weren't fully explained when I checked in, and with one exception, they were not very receptive to questions/did not seem happy to answer questions and gave dismissive/short answers. I told this to a manager at check out and he was very apologetic, which is a plus.

OK, now that that's out of the way. Everything else was alright. The room I stayed in was pretty small, I had a room with a single queen bed. The room otherwise was very nice, with a small sitting chair and a desk with a chair. The room was very modern, yet comfortable, and the bathroom was excellent, with a nice glass shower. The hotel has wifi, which is included with your room rate. You get two free bottles of water a day and coffee in your room. They also have free coffee in the lobby in the mornings. The walk to the beach is a real walk, a couple blocks at least and you have to cross a sometimes busy street. There is towel service at the beach during certain hours, but I just carried my own towels from the pool area. The pool itself was not very large, but the pool area was a good size and there was also a hot tub. There is a grocery store across the street which has fresh prepared food and a bakery. If you need a hotel with a restaurant, the hotel has Café Pierre. The wait staff there was one of the highlights of my trip. They were super nice! I was traveling by myself and so conversation at the bar was a must, thanks Vicente, Christian, Oscar, Juan and Jorge! The food itself was fairly priced and always more than I could finish, even from the kids menu. Everything tasted good, except the chocolate chip bread pudding-- don't order it because it didn't have any chocolate chips.... The porters/bellhops were nice too-- Antonio, I think was the one who helped me a couple times with recommendations-- thank you!

Getting to and from the hotel for sightseeing was an issue. A cab ride to Old San Juan cost me $17 not including tip. If you are interested in how to take the bus to Old San Juan from this hotel, just message me and I can give you details. All in all, I was not wowed, the hotel seemed much less grand than the pictures made it seem-- everything was on the small side-- but again, it does have some pluses, and I would recommend giving it a try.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank harvesttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Saludos Harvesttraveler,

It was really nice to read that the team at Café Pierre took good care of you during stay with us and that you would recommend us to future guests. I must apologize for the interaction that you have described with our front desk. With all of the great urban resort amenities that we have, such as Yelo Spa, Starbucks, Restaurants, Bar and our exclusive Beach Club at Ocean Park Beach it is important that we provide our guests with the needed information, for them to have a great time. I do hope that you consider staying with as again, if so please contact us directly at 1-877-926-3030 or by e-mail at reservations@sjdoubletree.com.

Always at your service,
Yodil Cabán
yodil.caban@hilton.com
General Manager
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan At Gallery Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

The Doubletree location was perfect. It's across the street from a grocery store. There's a gas station across from it if you rent a car. You are 2.5 blocks away from the beach. There are a few bars in the area. The hotel bar Cafe Pierre serves the best Strawberry Mojito's. I forgot the servers name but she served us well. I was there everyday for Happy Hour.

The hotel's rooms are spacious. The bathroom were clean. The view of the pool was nice as well. Very quiet place which is nice if you want to grab a nap or sleep during the night.
The front desk helped out immensely. I needed to book a last minute excursion and the lady hooked it up.

Room Tip: We got the King size bed room which was up a floor or two. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

The hotel is extremely modern, yet cozy, and the staff is very friendly and prepared. It's a unique combination of city living and tropical ambience. There is a great supermarket across the street from the hotel, and a Starbucks close by, which made my stay even more comfortable. My experience was relaxing. It's definitely a good place to unwind.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
3 Thank Alva C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Saludos Alva C,

Thank you for your review our hotel. We appreciate your high ratings and hope it won't be too long before your next stay. If we can be of service to you in any way please contact us directly at 1-877-926-3030 or by e-mail at reservations@sjdoubletree.com.

Always at your service,

Yodil Cabán
yodil.caban@hilton.com
General Manager
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan At Gallery Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irving, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

The staff is FANTASTIC, no matter who you meet from the front door to the check out! I have spent 4 weeks at the hotel and will be spending more time as I work on a project near the hotel. I have begun to feel at home! Thanks!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
3 Thank Brenda K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Saludos BrendaKT,

It is such a joy to read that you feel right at home with us. Thank you for sharing and if we can be of service to you in any way please do not hesitate to contact us at 1-877-926-3030 or by e-mail at reservations@sjdoubletree.com.

Always at your service,

Yodil Cabán
yodil.caban@hilton.com
General Manager
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan At Gallery Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holladay, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Sharply designed property, very convenient to downtown San Juan. Very good breakfast buffet. Very attentive staff. Very good gym. Staff seems very eager to help with any problems. Taxis are always available.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.9 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.6 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,677 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#8 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,616 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
1.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Property: Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00911-3529, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing