We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is Awesome!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2009

We had a fabulous room, were treated WONDERFULLY by the staff, and loved the pool / hot tub area. The food at the restaurant was FANTASTIC, and the bartenders were super helpful suggesting fun places to go in the evenings. Can't wait to visit San Juan again, and will DEFINITELY stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Swingin09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,869)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,535 - 2,541 of 2,869 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2009

I'd recommend anyone traveling to San Juan to stay here. From the warm chocolate chip cookies, to the tropical pool and hot tub, and the modern rooms , everything about the establishment was excellent. The management, in particular, went out of their way to welcome us, accommodate all of our needs, and make sure we were having a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lovestotravel1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2009

As soon as we arrived at the hotel the staff was extremely accommodating. Not only we had an extremely accommodating staff we had an extremely accommodating General Manager! We don't always have the opportunity to have a General Manager welcome us to the hotel but it was quite a pleasure. In fact from day one we felt that we had a VIP treatments. As soon as we got to our room we notice how clean and neat they are. The are very boutique looking and modern. Location is very convenient to shops and beach since the beach is walking distance. Overall our experience has been the best out of any hotels that we have stayed in Puerto Rico and we travel quite a lot to San Juan. Again thanks to the hotel staff for making our experience the best experience in San Juan.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Californian12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2009

What a surprise! This hotel is located in the CENTER of convenience; the beach, shopping, nightlife (gay & straight), super market across the street, bus line, freeway, airport and city culture (old and new San Juan). Our room was a garden suite. Being able to open the door, sit, and enjoy the quite pool was a plus. The entire staff - valet/front desk/pool/guest services made this HOTEL a 5 STAR. The Business Manner's of the staff is a "10"- Jose, Roberto, Gilberto, Margarita, Peter, Esther and Onyx. I cannot remember visiting a RESORT and remembering any of the STAFF'S names? Doubletree Hotel - this is a DIAMOND hotel and you should be proud of the service - great job everyone. TOM DALLAS TEXAS

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eastdallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2009

Wow. This worked out so well for our 5-night trip to P.R.

It has clean modern rooms and nice newly-renovated bathrooms. I have never seen so many different types of lighting (all controlled by separate switches around the room that you have to find). The Murphy bed was much more comfortable than I thought it would be. My wife liked the bathroom so much she wanted to take it home with her. :)

The location isn't bad at all! It's 3-4 blocks to the Ocean Park balneario (public beach) and I'd say 6-7 blocks to the strip of Condado hotels/restaurants. You can catch the A-5 bus for 75 cents, right next to the hotel, follow it to the last stop and you'll be right in Old San Juan. Don't waste your money on a taxi for that. The 24-hour supermarket across the street is a fully-fledged grocery store... they have just about everything. Recommended restaurants nearby: Bebo's Cafe, La Patisserie (for their weekday breakfast specials).

As previous reviewers have stated, head to Luquillo for a nice beach that's not far out of San Juan. Beaches to the west of town (e.g. Dorado) were nice too, but a little too silty (muddy) for my liking.

My only gripes: Expensive parking, expensive but so-so hotel breakfast... BE AWARE of all service charges/taxes that will be added to your bill. Hilton discloses these (~25%) when you book, but some of the other sites may not, and you should take this into consideration. If you book somewhere else, they might hit you up for more $$ when you check out.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank midatlantictraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2009

This hotel was fanastic! We were greeted warmly by the front desk, received our room promptly, and a warm cookie! The hotel rooms were fantastic, very clean and mdern. It's such a beautiful hotel for the price! I am not suprised that is now ranked number one on tripadvisor. There is a supermarket next door that has everything you need. There is a fantastic authentic puerto rican restaurant right down the street, even though the name escapes me... just ask the front desk and they will tell you. It's just a short walk to the beaches on the main strip and all the chain restaurants your heart desires. On the strip, you can hop on the bus to Old San Juan! We rented a car and drove the rainforest, which is a must do! The beaches in San Juan are average... I suggest Luquillo... gorgeous!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank razim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2009

Jose Cepero, the hotel's manager, is the best there is in the industry! He and the staff made sure we were always happy and had everything we needed. Here's some info you may find useful in planning your trip:

The GOODS:
- hotel service (as everyone raves about in most other reviews!)
- very clean, modern yet comfortable bed and room
- 24 hr. supermarket is right across the street (has everything you might need including an endless supply of the traditional and local hard liquors!)
- swimming pool and hot tub areas were very clean
- public bus access is right outside of the hotel. (Be prepared: EACH person MUST have HIS/HER OWN EXACT bus fare - we didn't know this and my husband and I added our fares together. We held the bus up and were thankful that a small child had some extra change for us!) Bus ride is approx. 20 mins. to Old San Juan. It's a great way to see the everyday streets and meet the locals!
- variety of restaurants on-site. We found them very-reasonably priced and very good!
- a short 5 min. walk to Bebo's Cafe - where the locals eat! Try some authentic Puerto Rican dishes for great prices! (approx. $5-8/dish). AWESOME food!!! Be ready to speak your best spanish as many of the waitresses/waiters don't speak english :) Totally worth it!!!
- 10-15 min. walk to Ocean Park beach. Beautiful, wide open beach, light sands... it was just so relaxing wading and floating around to the rhythym of the ocean waves. Bring bottled water with us and if you forget, don't fret - local men wearing bags that keep drinks (local beer!!) icy cold sell their beer for $3 each. Nothing beat the sun sizzling our skin and the icy, cold beer running through our bodies! Also, other local people walk along the vast Ocean Park beach selling hot, fried local foods for cheap and also their yummy, refreshing ice cream!!
- we were lucky enough to have a room on the bottom floor, with a sliding door that led out to our own patio which then led to the hot tub/ swimming pool area! It was an absolute treat!!! It was so clean, beautiful, relaxing and how can we complain about our access to the pool!!! Our last night there, while my husband and I enjoyed our wine, compliments of the hotel as our anniversary gift, we spent our time hot tubbing and meeting people from all over the world! It was our own little party just 30 steps away from our hotel room's patio! It was great!

The NOT-SO-GOODS:
- taxi ride was approx. $15-$18 to OSJ (Old San Juan) so my husband and I had to plan our trips to OSJ carefully. For example, we thought twice about having dinner in OSJ because going there and back in the evening would cost us $30 for a taxi ride. BUT if we spent our day in OSJ and took the bux there, then we'd only spend $15 for the night taxi ride back to the hotel as we preferred not to take the bus at night.
- you may have to wait close to 30 min. for a bus ride from OSJ back to the hotel in the middle of the day (like we had to). We weren't in a rush but waiting that long was a little annoying. Maybe try to find a bus schedule?? I consider myself organized, but I wasn't THAT prepared...
- no nightlife at the hotel - this could be a good thing or a bad thing, depending on what you're looking for. If you want to dance, gamble at a casino, etc, you'll have to taxi or bus to other nearby hotels.

Overall, the staff and the service made up for the distance to other places around the city. Since the taxi rides weren't that expensive and public transportation was a stone's throw away, we couldn't complain. The hotel's manager, Jose C., helped made our wedding anniversary one to remember! He gave us everything we asked for and we're so glad we made the decision to stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KristineCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.9 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.6 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 47 in San Juan
7,204 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,763 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 47 in San Juan
4,921 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00911-3529, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: £121 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing