We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
Reviewed 7 June 2010

We usually stay in Hilton, Marriott, or Fairmont resort/hotels for vacations, and stay at Fairfield or Doubletree for shorter stays when visiting friends/family. We decided to try out this Doubletree because of the great reviews and great price, and we weren't disappointed. We stayed there for 6 nights and had a great room with king size bed and a balcony to the pool. Upon checking in, we were greeted with smiles and delicious chocolate chip cookies.

Staff/Service: All around awesome. Everyone was really helpful and friendly.

Location: Supermarket across the street, Bebo's Cafe nearby, Condado beach a few blocks away, Ashford avenue 3 blocks away. Walking distance to the action but far enough to have some peace.

Restaurants: Bebo's cafe which is popular with the locals, Silk sushi, Under the tree cafe, and Michael's Bistro.

Rooms: Clean, modern, and tastefully decorated. HBO, free WIFI, microwave, and refrigerator are big pluses. Our balcony was nice and the proximity to the pool was super convenient.

Price: Awesome value. We got the room with breakfast included. Unless you want to be on Ashford ave or you want an onsite casino, I can't imagine the point of paying more for another hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jasminscent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,631
    847
    230
    69
    29
See reviews for
591
1,100
183
543
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Easton, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

My adult daughter and I stayed here for four nights. We both are seasoned travelers, and we knew from TripAdvisor that we'd have a good experience, but the quality of the stay was off the charts. The friendliness and sophistication of the staff were top drawer. The breakfast/lunch restaurant was an ideal fit for the purpose. The rooms are done in a Mediterranean modern motif but not tacky. The designer was ingenious in his/her use of glass block light admission in the bathroom and the uniquely designed frameless shower. The size of the base room is quite adequate, and the deluxe room has loads of space and two closets. The rooms are exceptionally quiet, which is helped by being at the edge of an apartment neighborhood. The ample lobby has several bright, attractive sitting areas and a smart PC work area. All in all, this Doubletree deserves a lot more than 3 1/2 stars.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EasternShoreman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centreville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

We stayed at the Doubletree San Juan soley based on the price.. it met our expectations and we are very picky!

Couple of things:
-We stayed in the garden view rooms - stay there! It has a nice view of the pool, trees, etc.
- Try to stay on the 4th floor: We were on the 3rd and heard people on the 4th floor walking around at all hours of the day/night.
- The walls are a bit thin..we could hear our neighbors through the connecting door and on the other side, our neighbor was banging things around all day.

All the staff were very friendly and service was superb! Location was not the most convenient - but there was a 24 hour super market across the street and a few nice places to eat on Ashford Ave which is like a 15mn or so walk away.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2Travel1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, MI
Level 6 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2010

The staff was wonderful. Our room was excellent. Wifi, cable, comfy bed, nice restaurant and a great location. This hotel has it all. I would definitely recommend this hotel without hesitation and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diana2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carson, CA
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2010

Had a wonderful time in PR. This hotel has everything you need and the rooms were beautiful. They have a nice pool with a little waterfall as well as a Jacuzzi that's open 24 hrs a day. As well as a gym equipped with dumbells and cardio machines. The hotel was kept fairly well and everything seemed so new. Check in and check out was fairly easy and the staff were just the best. They were very informative and willing to answer any questions you had especially Monica and Rafael from the front desk. They always had a smile on their face and could recommend places to eat or visit in Puerto Rico. Overall, this hotel was more than I expected. For the price, it beats any hotel along the beach. Make sure to stay here when visiting San Juan.

Tip: The hotel charges $20 for valet parking or $15 for self parking a day. Find parking around the neighborhood instead. Plenty of parking if you look.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mefferson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2010

My wife and I went to San Juan from Chicago for a long awaited vacation. We chose to stay two nights at the Doubletree and two nights in Isla Verde. Needless to say...we should have stayed four nights at the Doubletree. We weren't expecting much since we always thought the Doubletrees were more of a discount hotel. We were pleasently surprised. The service was the best we had our entire stay and the staff was amazing. Raphael is one of the best in the business and we looked forward to seeing him everytime we came through the lobby and he had great recommendations for the city. Monica at the front desk was also fantastic. She was patient in answering all of our questions and just an all around friendly person. You should stay here!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HenLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

My boyfriend and I just returned from the Doubletree in San Juan. We stayed for two nights in San Juan after returning from a cruise. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. When we arrived they gave us warm cookies that were delicious! I spent some time by the pool which was very nice! We also walked to the beach which was about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The only down side to this hotel was the location from Old San Juan (where we did most of our touring.) It was a $15 cab ride to and from Old San Juan and this hotel. All in all, it was definitely worth it and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kejannic0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.9 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.6 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,033 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,709 reviews
3.4 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 47 in San Juan
947 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Property: Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00911-3529, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing