We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a quick stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good for a quick stay”
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We stayed here for a night upon returning from a Caribbean cruise. The Trip Advisor reviews made it sound wonderful. Actually, I would only recommend it for the convenience. It is not a place to stay for an extended vacation. While modern and well decorated, the public areas and pool area are not spacious. We arrived well before check-in time and the lobby was mobbed with guests trying to check out for cruise departures and guests checking in after cruise arrivals. Registration did its best to get us into our room as early as possible, but under the circumstances, there was a 2-hour wait. We had a double with one queen-size bed and a double murphy bed for 2 adults and 2 children. With the murphy bed down and 5 pieces of luggage in the room, there was little maneuvering room.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilliput441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,637
    849
    229
    68
    30
See reviews for
594
1,103
183
543
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Every person working at the San Juan Doubletree had a smile on their face and asked if there was anything I needed to make my stay more comfortable. As always, the warm chocolate chip cookies in the evening were great. A collegue and I arrived late but the person in the restaurant/lounge stayed a bit longer to make sure we could see the end of a game. The location was very convenient, the service was great. I would definately recommend the San Juan Doubletree to other road warriors.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeeMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
616 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We arrived at the Doubletree San Juan on Christmas night prior to sailing the next day on a PRINCESS cruise.
Very nice contemporary style hotel. Our queen bed room was very spacious with two comfortable leisure chairs along with a working desk. Very nice bathroom with a vessel sink and a oversized shower (no bathtub).
We had Christmas night dinner at MICHAEL BISTRO off of the hotel lobby. We felt it was a bit pricy for two sandwiches and four mojitos ($76 without gratuity). We agreed the mojitos were the best we’ve ever drank! We did notice other restaurants within walking distance, but none were open due to being Christmas night.
Upon our noon check-out, we found quite the crowd in the lobby and entrance drive. At that particular time, probably close to 100 cruise passengers coming and going, but we were assisted with a taxi very promptly.
This hotel is across the street from SUPERMAX DE DIEGO supermarket where you can find a nice selection of wines and liquors. It is open 24/7 and was open on Christmas!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Napunani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We had a wonderful stay at The Doubletree last month and would certainly stay there again during our next trip to Puerto Rico. The rooms are clean and spacious, ours overlooked the pool. The pool & outdoor hot tub are clean & relaxing - the area around the hotel is "true" Puerto Rico. All of the staff are knowledgeable and friendly & will accomodate any realistic needs that you might have.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiggytili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Doubletree hotel twice--once before going on a cruise and again when we returned. Our balcony opened up onto the pool area. It was absolutely beautiful. The service was excellent. The hotel is only a short taxi drive to all of the major attractions. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariekey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2010

Modern decor. Flatscreen and cable. Nice fitness room (smelled a little rubbery new). Lived the balconies in the second floor that open to the pool area. Groceries across the street. Great front desk staff. Romantic. Near old San Juan (but no place to park in old San Juan so get a cab). Neutrogena products. Paid $179 a night total. Parking is $15 self and $20 valet. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle_from_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

The facilities were wonderful and the people were wonderful, however, the charges for eight nights have changed many times during our stay and they continue to change a full week after check out. Our stay was divided between two credit cards and the charges have bounced back and forth between our two accounts (sometimes all on one and sometimes split not at all the way it should have been). This has caused money to be transferred numerous times between our two accounts and the bank has levied nsf charges to my fiance's account. If you choose to stay at this hotel, it would advised to book on the internet through a third party and settle all payments prior to your stay with that third party.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sidecut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeSanJuan, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 1 January 2011
Hola sidecut,
It was a pleasure speaking with you yesterday. I am glad to hear that you found the attention of our staff to be fabulous and the accommodations terrific.
Again, I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you had with dividing your bill between to debit cards, I only wish we would have learned of this earlier so we could have rectified our mistake. However, I am happy that your bank was able to help you and that they voided the charges associated with this.
Please do not hesitate to contact me again at bo.bramsen@hilton.com if I can be of any assistance in the future.
Always at your service,

Bo Bramsen
Operations Manager
bo.bramsen@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.9 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.6 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,047 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,711 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
3.4 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 47 in San Juan
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Property: Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Address: 105 Ave De Diego | Ocean Park Beach, San Juan 00911-3529, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Juan is located in the popular Condado area of Puerto Rico's capital city. This modern, full-service hotel offers a wonderful balance of relaxed comfort and warm hospitality conveyed by a signature warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Stay within walking distance of sandy Puerto Rico beaches, museums and casinos. Our location is ideal, just three miles from the historic district of Old San Juan and only five miles from San Juan's Luis Munoz Martin International Airport. Contemporary guest rooms and executive accommodations include in-room conveniences like a 32-inch flat-screen TV, MP3 clock radio, WiFi access, microwave, mini-fridge, and plush beds for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy a choice of dining options showcasing Asian, Caribbean and international cuisines. Relax in tropical surrounds in the private courtyard with a sparkling outdoor pool with whirlpool. Unwind with a spa treatment or work out in the 24-hour fitness center, featuring cardio equipment and free weights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Doubletree San Juan
San Juan Doubletree
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western
Hotel Pierre Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing