We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and value in the hub of San Juan's tourism hotspot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Del Caribe Inn
Ranked #20 of 30 San Juan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This is a comfortable and friendly b&b, located just a block from the Marriott in Condado, San Juan. It's right where the action is, with great beaches, shops, restaurants and casinos. The room was clean and had a comfortable bed. Everything, TV, AC, etc., worked. You can park on the streets or your car can stay at the Marriott ramp for $18/day, significantly lower than the going rate. The front gate was difficult-- it wouldn't let go of our key-- but we learned to used the inside lock instead. Staff was very friendly and helpful. They laundered some clothes for free, and offered to hold on to our belongings while we made a side trip to another island.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2013

We arrived around 1230am after a long flight and proceeded to the sister hotel around the corner to get into the room. After waiting for over 15 minutes, the woman at the door finally answered. I was getting a little nervous that we would be sleeping in the car.

She showed us our room (room #6) and it was clean and we were very pleased. The shower was great, with plenty of hot water for the two of us. Our room had an AC unit that we turned on overnight but during the day, we kept it off since we were not there.

One thing to note, is that the key is a real key and should you lose it, there is a $150 fee because they need to rekey all the rooms along with the gate key.

You actually need a key to get in and out of the property. A bit of a fire hazard that you need your key to leave, but I tried not to think about it.

Breakfast consisted of juice, coffee and some pastries from a local bakery. The woman who was setting up the breakfast was extremely friendly, however, the person who sat at the desk, really never bothered with us. Not even looking up to give us a friendly smile when we passed by. Seems like a silly thing but the reason why we love B&Bs is the warmth and hominess you receive. Even at checkout, the guy didnt seem to care less and just asked for our keys. Not the typical B&B experience.

We had a great rate and this place was a fabulous value. Cleanliness is my #1 concern and this place passed by test. This is a place I will return to and would even refer my friends and family to. I had family staying down the street for double the rate and were unhappy with their accommodations so we really scored with this place!

Only 4 stars due to the not so friendly staff at the desk.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salsamari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We had a great experience in this b/b ..this is close to everything you need for a great vacation. Parking, beach, casino was right across the street in a big cost hotel ...so we had everything the big hotel have at half ( if not more ) cost.. Management was always pleasant helpful and very knowledgeable of the area..We will back again ...

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nfd1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

If you are looking for a deluxe, posh hotel, this is not it, BUT you couldn't find a nicer, friendlier, helpful manager ANYWHERE, along with a clean, comfortable hotel. Although this is an older establishment, the bedding was comparable to any of the more deluxe hotels we've stayed in. The furnishings may be somewhat dated, but this did not take away from the comfort of our stay. (Dated did not mean dirty!)The management was more than happy to immediately address any concern that might occur, though all were minor. There is a delightful courtyard, where a continental breakfast is served and kept well supplied. The whole establishment is behind a locked gate, making for a very secure feeling. The location could not be better for the Condado area- right in the midst of restaurants, casinos, shopping. As I said, Ed, the manager, could not be more helpful if he tried and it all seems to come genuinely. He is definitely the BIG PLUS for this bed and breakfast, but, if you are looking for a small, charming hotel, this is it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nothingleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We stayed at Casa Caribe for a week and the hotel and it's staff were amazing, the knowledge they had of where to go, what to do was was truly helpful, we would especially like to thank Ed and Juanita for their generosity and concern.

Definitely worth every penny, would highly recommend the place

James

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Okay, lets make this clear. This place is only good if you just want a place to sleep at night while you are touring Puerto Rico. Which is really what you should be doing instead of being in your room. ;) This B&B is NOT a hotel and you should not have unrealistic expectations of it being comparable to the Marriott. I checked the price for the Marriott compared to this place. It is roughly $200 more after taxes per night for the Marriott, so you do get a good deal per se.

However, one major thing to consider is ..... wait for it....there is no parking available! If you rented a car, be advised you will not be able to park your car at the Inn. Your next best option is to park it at the Marriott for $18.00 a day.

Personally, had I known this prior, I would have tried to find something else.I actually tried to cancel my reservation but Expedia sucks and could only cancel if I paid $200+ . Honestly though, if you are in Puerto Rico, parking is hard to find anywhere you go. Expect that too. I liked parking at the Marriott, the workers over there are really nice.

PROS: -Has a pre-made bed
-Complimentary breakfast
-Has A/C
-Close to Coronado beach
-In San Juan
-Frogs make a chirping sound so it really feels like you are sleeping in the rain forest!
-No Windows so you can sleep in complete darkness

CONS: -NO Parking
-When you walk to the room, it initially smells like mold (the smell goes away fast)

Overall, I really liked my stay. Partially because it was better than what I expected- I also set my expectations really low.. I would probably come back to this B&B.......

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank lvan07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Me and a few of my friends stayed here for five days for spring break. The prices for this small bed and breakfast are amazing! The B&B is close to the beach, a 24 hour Walgreens, Food, Bars, and the Bus Stop. The rooms were clean and if all you plan on doing is sleeping in your room then this is the pace for you! A/C worked great, and Ed the owner went out of his way to make sure our stay went smoothly. Will be returning very soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank austinsviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
3.8 mi away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#30 of 47 in San Juan
262 reviews
2.8 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
970 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#9 of 47 in San Juan
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Acacia Boutique Hotel
Acacia Boutique Hotel
#32 of 47 in San Juan
642 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandy Beach Hotel
Sandy Beach Hotel
#41 of 47 in San Juan
321 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#20 of 47 in San Juan
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Caribe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Caribe Inn

Address: 57 Caribe Street | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range: £78 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Del Caribe Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa del Caribe is an affordable Caribbean inn found on a shady side street just off Ashford Avenue, the main strip of the Condado area. Just beyond the garden wall & pond you'll discover the wraparound veranda and front porch where guests socialize in this cozy tropical inn. Every morning, fresh brewed complimentary coffee and a continental breakfast is available. The biggest casino in the area is in just 1/2 block away as are all the bistros, sidewalk cafes, and boutique shops and the famous Condado Beach at your doorstep! On a lively street, this modest B&B is 4 minute walk from the beach, 4.3 km from Isla Grande Airport and 6 km from the San Juan National Historic Site. There are 8 rustic rooms with wooden floors and warm decor. All come with free Wi-Fi and cable TV, plus ceiling fans. Some also have kitchenettes. Amenities include continental breakfast and a walled garden with trees, fountains and sunloungers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casa Del Caribe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Caribe Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing