We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a quick family stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Del Caribe Inn
Ranked #19 of 30 San Juan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Took the family there for a few days and had a wonderful stay. We traveled with our 20 month old son and Ed arranged for a playpen in our room. The place is fairly quiet considering the location right in the heart of El Condado, so we slept well. Beach is right there. Rooms are not the most up-to-date, but very much comfortable and clean. Parking wasn't even too much of a hassle - we scored street parking 3 out of the 4 days there. I would recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay in the city and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Josué C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in June. Overall, I'm not sure I would recommend- it feels like a hostel, but priced for a mid-range hotel.

Pluses:
-Good location right off Ashford (Condado's main strip)
-Quiet and secure
-Bathrooms have been recently renovated and are nicer than previous reviews have mentioned
-Surprisingly luxurious and fluffy towels and duvets
-Free wi-fi
-Free breakfast

Cons:
-There is a pond in the front garden. This makes it mosquito central. Nowhere else in Puerto Rico did I get bitten as badly as that garden.
-The free wi-fi is horridly slow, and only accessible outside your room.
-No one staffs the front desk. The poor maid, who seems to be the only one working, had to check us out. For 3 solid days, we saw 1 person at that desk, and then only to check us in. Don't expect any help from the staff.
-The free breakfast is a joke. Mini storebought pastries, toast, and kids' cereals, plus Tang-like OJ, milk, and coffee. In the Caribbean, yet no fruit. Even yogurt or hard-boiled eggs would have been nice- a bit of protein instead of sugary carbs.
-The rooms have metal shutters (it's a 1-storey building, so everyone is on ground level, and I'm assuming the metal shutters provide security as well). However, many of them are broken so they can't be opened- the rooms are dark cells.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cool_jonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This place is great if you're on a budget and looking for a place to rest in between beach visits and enjoying PR food. Can't beat being 2 blocks from the beach and 1 block from Walgreens. There are plenty of restaurants along Ashford within walking distance. The staff was very friendly and gave us helpful advice about the city. A hidden gem I'd say. Thanks Casa Caribe!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SBeechy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We booked a room at Casa Caribe last minute for three nights and were very happy with the experience. The rooms are quaint, clean, humble and originally decorated, which gives a great feeling that you are staying in a typical home (vs. hotel), but not crowded and hostel-like. Room 11 was particularly spacious, like a mini apartment complete with kitchen sink, table, couch, refrigerator, eating utensils, etc. Ed and his adorable and docile little dog Belle were very accommodating and helpful. As soon as we arrived, we bombarded him with questions to make last-minute tour and restaurant plans and he hooked us up quickly with great recommendations. The open air common areas are fun and relaxing. Coffee, pastries, cereal and OJ in open air in the morning were great. Overall Casa Caribe was very friendly, comfortable, and gives a great local feel, all for a screaming deal. Congrats to Ed on his B&B.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Are you traveling on a budget, but you still want to enjoy the beach, and the city without overpaying. This hotel is the best choice for you. The hotel is two blocks away from the beach, which is great, the rooms are clean, and well maintained. is in the middle point between Old San Juan, and the airport which will give you a perfect location to enjoy the city and catch your fly. The management team is very cordials and helpful. Next time I travel back there I will definitely be staying there again. and I recommend you to do the same and expend the extra dollars in food, and tours.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andresga2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

You are in the middle of El Condado and inside the B&B is quiet and clean. Rooms clean and a fair price. Take a taxi to Old San Juan enjoy the night out and return to a clean, cool and quiet room. Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank mikeW417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week. The outdoor lounging area is nice with a lot of plants and trees. Ed at front desk went above and beyond to help us find everything from places to eat to the best parts of the beach to visit. All the staff was very friendly here. Everything was within walking distance which was nice including the beach only one block away. Would stay here again if I return to Puerto Rico in future. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kferry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
3.8 mi away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#32 of 48 in San Juan
267 reviews
2.8 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 48 in San Juan
991 reviews
0.8 mi away
Acacia Boutique Hotel
Acacia Boutique Hotel
#33 of 48 in San Juan
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.8 mi away
At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sandy Beach Hotel
Sandy Beach Hotel
#43 of 48 in San Juan
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Caribe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Caribe Inn

Address: 57 Caribe Street | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range: £74 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Del Caribe Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa del Caribe is an affordable Caribbean inn found on a shady side street just off Ashford Avenue, the main strip of the Condado area. Just beyond the garden wall & pond you'll discover the wraparound veranda and front porch where guests socialize in this cozy tropical inn. Every morning, fresh brewed complimentary coffee and a continental breakfast is available. The biggest casino in the area is in just 1/2 block away as are all the bistros, sidewalk cafes, and boutique shops and the famous Condado Beach at your doorstep! On a lively street, this modest B&B is 4 minute walk from the beach, 4.3 km from Isla Grande Airport and 6 km from the San Juan National Historic Site. There are 8 rustic rooms with wooden floors and warm decor. All come with free Wi-Fi and cable TV, plus ceiling fans. Some also have kitchenettes. Amenities include continental breakfast and a walled garden with trees, fountains and sunloungers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Del Caribe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Caribe Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing