We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again-This Hotel Is Horrible!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
San Juan Beach Hotel
Ranked #44 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
middletown, DE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never Again-This Hotel Is Horrible!!!”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Booked this hotel for a six night stay in Puerto rico. One of the worst hotels I haveever stayed in. Would have left this hotel the first day I arrived; but knew we would only be sleeping and showering in this hotel. The customer service was horrible. Had three adults staying in our room. Only gave us continental breakfast for two adults per day. Never found the breakfast. No washcloths the entire stay. Needed more towels the first day. It took us two days to get towels and we had to ask staff (for towels) four times before we finally got towels. Room not cleaned the entire trip. Did take out trash. Never vacuumed room or cleaned bathroom floor. Hotel is run down. carpets throughout the hotel are stained and dirty. Tiles in the lobby are broke off. One of the elevators is so scary you want to walk the stairs. No ice machine on every floor. Booked an ocean view room. Staff tried to give us a view of the lagoon. said you could see more; plus they had a wedding going on. Pay a little bit more money and go elsewhere. Oh yeah, they charge for parking.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shortfig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    59
    83
    80
    208
See reviews for
69
134
38
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penrose, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Currently staying at the Hotel, have been here 3 days. Yes, it is older than most on the beach, and yes there is a mild mold smell. Keep in mind it is right on the beach and the salt air adds to that issue.
The entire staff is very helpful and friendly. The Hotel is currently upgrading with new paint, upgrading rooms, and working on the issues this hotel has had in the past. There is new construction and upgrading going on everywhere.

It is not 5 star hotel by any means, but It is well worth the value as you located close to most major attractions. Ask for an ocean view room when booking, you won't be disappointed.

I'll be here for one more week and will write an overall evaluation before I leave.

For what you will pay for this Hotel will save you considerable $$$ if you book in one of it's neighbors.

Overall---Good value.

Feel free to contact me, while I am still here.
Gene
719-252-6980

Room Tip: ask for ocean view, high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben V, General Manager at San Juan Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
We do appreciate your time to let us know how your stay was. I can guarantee you that we are working very hard not only in the rooms and public areas but in the service that is given to each one of our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

I read the reviews and ignored them. Upon entrance you're excited at the modern beautiful vestibule. There were a NUMBER of issues but what set me off was the FIGHT we had to put up to get fresh WASHCLOTHS and small towels everyday! Unreal. My agency was ready to move me to another hotel, I just did NOT want to go through all of that. Eder, the first front desk person gave us a bogus voucher for dinner. Concierge NEVER answered the phone on the first or second ring. I could go on and on. But the location was great and the Perurican Lounge downstairs was pretty, had great drinks and the pool was very nice too, along with the view.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AricaRouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, New York USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We decided to try this hotel because one of our favorite restaurants is on the first floor. The room was adequate and had an incredible ocean view with the water lapping the beach below. I did like the fact that the hotel has an environmentally friendly policy regarding changing sheets, towels, etc. However, this is the first hotel I have stayed in for many years that didn't have cable but some poor satellite system with four channels and the breakfast room only had Fox new on its TV. Another surprise was if you wanted a refrigerator it would cost you $5 dollars a day to rent!! These guys are learning from the airlines! So if you don't mind not having cable or a fridge the place is ok.
The management leaves something to be desired as well. We would probably go back for the sea view. The air conditioning was good though

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

All hotels in the Condado area are over-priced. That said, the San Juan Beach Hotel is not such a bad deal. It’s not great, but it’s not bad. Compared with its neighbors, like the Condado Hilton, it is small, badly-maintained, and poorly managed. But it’s cheaper. Some of the staff are enthusiastic and courteous; others are bitter and nasty. If you want quiet, make sure you ask for higher floors; we were on the 4th floor (403) and could still hear the pulsing bass from the bar-restaurant-pool area well into the wee hours. On the positive side, you do not hear your neighbors or people passing in the hall or the noisy ice machine two doors down. It is a pet-friendly hotel, which for me (an animal lover) is not a bad thing. I did notice that some people were taken aback when having to ride down in the small elevator with two full-sized boxers. I loved it. The room is spartan but large. Would it be possible to put some cheap art work on the walls so it doesn’t look so scary at night? During the day, the light and amazing ocean view compensate. The humidity is a problem in all beach-front accomodations. This room severly stank of mold. The devious housekeeping service almost made sure the beds were not made during our 2-day stay. In terms of cleanliness, I noticed that after walking barefoot (in the tropics) around the room for an evening, the water around my feet ran black in the shower. The paint was peeling inside the room, and the cloudy windows hadn’t been cleaned on the outside for a long time…long enough to build up salt and to corrode the metalic frame around the window and a/c unit, which worked well despite. The $7 breakfast is just what you pay for: bagels, lots of sugary stuff, cereal, weak coffee, juice, and an ocean view. Nothing more, nothing less.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up if you want it quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We got to the hotel late, but I had called ahead to make sure they knew. I don't think the front desk agent noted it because they seemed to be surprised that someone was checking in so late. I look around the lobby and it seems nice. The agent who checked us in was helpful and gave us tips about the area as well as where to park (because their lot was full). We walk away from the desk and it already takes a turn for the worse: one of the elevators is very badly broken--you can see inside it, but one of the doors is closed. We took the stairs as much as we could, even though a sign says an alarm will sound (there was no alarm).

When we got to our floor I realized that all the reviews weren't exaggerating. It feels like a different hotel. There are paint stains on the floor. and everything is that weird popcorn ceiling texture. The carpet is extremely thin and doesn't look clean at all. We get to our room and it is worse. The room smells of mold. It's really bad. It has carpet instead of tiles like in the photos, but the carpet is extremely thin and you can tell it wasn't vacuumed after the last guest checked out. We weren't given a floor towel before we checked in. There was only one nightstand and no other tables and no chairs in the room.

We reserved an ocean-view room. The view of the ocean would have been great if you could see out of the windows. They were very dirty.

I could go on, but I would rather say save yourself the trouble. You won't want to deal with the mold and dangerous elevator.

Room Tip: Maybe call ahead and ask questions about the room that they're going to give you. Pray that you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northport, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I was nervous about staying here after reading terrible reviews but there are ways to avoid a "moldy" or unclean room--ASK TO SEE YOUR ROOM FIRST. For $99 a night with a beautiful ocean view & a spacious room, it was a bargain. The lobby & downstairs restaurant was really nice & was filled with people. Though our room was large, it still needed some work-it was freshly painted and had a small paint odor and the bathroom was clearly remodeled recently as there were not any shelves in the shower and the shower knobs were backwards. We found out from a staff member that the original owner of the hotel had passed on his business and the successor had fallen short on the job until the owner passed away recently. Since then improvements have been slow but at least imrovements are being made on this large beach front hotel.
I also read that guests experienced poor attitudes. I only ran into one staff member that was less than welcoming but our first contact was so helpful to us and continued telling us how to save money in San Juan.
The continental breakfast is $7 and it is not worth $7. There is a Denny's down the street.
Bottom line to future visitors, lower your expectations-this hotel is not a resort- and realize that this hotel has a lot of potential!

Room Tip: Ask to see the room you will be staying in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hillary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandy Beach Hotel
Sandy Beach Hotel
#37 of 47 in San Juan
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#31 of 47 in San Juan
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Condado Hotel
Casa Condado Hotel
#34 of 47 in San Juan
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#22 of 47 in San Juan
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Beach Hotel

Property: San Juan Beach Hotel
Address: 1045 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — San Juan Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten-story Beachfront Hotel located in The Condado Area and all rooms have a view of the majestic Atlantic Ocean or the romantic Condado Lagoon. The hotel has an intimate setting with friendly staff ready to serve our guests. Here, each guest is an additional member of the family. We are located only minutes from the island’s "Golden Mile" in Hato Rey; the Caribbean’s largest shopping mall, Plaza Las Americas; and the Historic District of Old San Juan. In our area, you can walk to the finest restaurants, casinos, and high end boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your San Juan Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing