We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
San Juan Beach Hotel
Ranked #45 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was my first time and last one in this hotel. The hotel lobby looks nice, but after that, the hotel smells bad. The bed was horrible and cheap. The room had a horrible smell and the rug was dirty. The only positive of the hotel is the easy location and walking distance to nice places.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank arnaldo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 67 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

This was the second time I stayed in this hotel. The first time I didn't mind. Everything was just ok. I went there in April. The bed is horrible and cheap. The room had a horrible smell. The AC was leaking, and the rug was always wet. The staff were nice and pleasant. The area was always lively.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carmenltirado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel for four nights and everything was great. Room was clean every day. New sheets and towels. The only thing I didn't like is that they charge for parking your car in their parking lot, they should offer a free service to clients only. the view was breath taking and everything was walking distance from the hotel

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Victor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here before after Christmas and came back for several more days in the spring. Easy location and walking distance to almost everywhere near Old San Juan. The greatest bar service at the beach along with umbrellas & towels! Clean rooms and fair value for location. Great restaurants and boutiques nearby which you can walk to. Don't miss the best to stay in place at Candado Beach.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gualter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Travelled to Puerto Rico using my frequent flyer points and booked this hotel.
Wanted something not too expensive and in Condado area.
I emailed the hotel to request for an early check in and was told to talk to front desk if they had any room available.
I was told only room available was an ocean view one which needed an upgrade and if I wanted to check in early, I would have to pay an extra $90.00 .i agreed as was too early in the morning but upon entering the room, you could already smell a musty mold odor.
The towels are almost gray in color and it was just too disgusting.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank lovetotravel423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The only 2 things that were good here was that it was right on the beach and it was within walking distance of many restaurants and shops. Although the room was large, it left alot to be desired. Not enough towels, stained carpets, old worn out furniture, toilet had to be flushed at least 3 times before it all went down. The daytime staff was very unfriendly and not helpful at all. I do have to say that the night staff was much better.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank carolmarlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben V, Manager at San Juan Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

We would like to thank you for taking time in writing this review. we are working very hard in changing several things in our rooms do to reviews like yours. I'm very sad to here that our staff in the morning shift did not attend your needs or were friendly at all. We work very hard to give our guest a great customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Please do not stay here. Rooms are fugly and have no decoration at all! It almost looks like a prison! The breakfast service sucks! We arrived at 10:20 (they close at 10:30) and they didn't let us in! -.- Valet Parking service is WAY too slow. Wi-Fi is slow. Room curtains have holes in them. Overall: this hotel is the worse.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Eduardo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
The Wave Hotel Condado
The Wave Hotel Condado
#16 of 47 in San Juan
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Princess Hotel
Coral Princess Hotel
#14 of 47 in San Juan
940 reviews
0.2 mi away
Serafina Beach Hotel
Serafina Beach Hotel
#36 of 47 in San Juan
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton
0.9 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#11 of 47 in San Juan
930 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 47 in San Juan
4,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Beach Hotel

Address: 1045 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range: £75 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — San Juan Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten-story Beachfront Hotel located in The Condado Area and all rooms have a view of the majestic Atlantic Ocean or the romantic Condado Lagoon. The hotel has an intimate setting with friendly staff ready to serve our guests. Here, each guest is an additional member of the family. We are located only minutes from the island’s "Golden Mile" in Hato Rey; the Caribbean’s largest shopping mall, Plaza Las Americas; and the Historic District of Old San Juan. In our area, you can walk to the finest restaurants, casinos, and high end boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your San Juan Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing