We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (672)
Filter reviews
672 results
Traveller rating
297
195
81
43
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
297
195
81
43
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wind chimes niche restaurant hot tub puerto rico old san juan great boutique ocean park third floor small pool air conditioner rental car balcony condado pr cruise rainforest
Filter
Updating list...
498 - 503 of 672 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Stayed at Acacia while visiting friends in San Juan. Great location, friendly staff, excellent food & drinks. Affordable. Minutes from anything you'll need.

Room Tip: The best rooms are 206 & 207.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chokhandeez2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We just got back from a week-long trip to Puerto Rico with our three-year-old son, and Acacia was hands down one of the highlights. First off, the location is fantastic, just steps from the beach in a modern, walk-able part of town. The property has also been beautifully re-done, including a sleek, cool lobby and beautiful, winding staircases . The rooms, while not large, are comfortable, cool and clean. And, of course, there's the hot tub around which all the rooms are located: It's the biggest we've ever seen, and, as it turns out, it's perfect for the little ones -- warm enough to keep them happy, and shallow enough so they feel safe.

But, like other reviewers have noted, possibly the best features of all isn't the hot tub or the ritzy restaurant or the mojitos, as delicious as they may be, but instead Chad, the director of guest services. Other reviews have listed all the ways Chad makes a stay at Acacia a one-of-a-kind experience, so I'll just add a story to help illustrate what he's like.

One afternoon, our son was playing with a small bouncy ball in the hot tub when it went over the hotel wall, into the gated, private parking lot next door. He was heartbroken, and when we mentioned it to Chad, he said he would see what he could do. He spoke with the valet next door, and even got the name of the owner of the car near where the ball landed, but no one seemed to be able to find it. We'd given it up for lost, but the next day, as we were returning from an excursion, Chad excitedly strode up to us and produced the ball. Our son's smile was as big as could be -- although not as big as Chad's, since he was beaming over how happy he'd made him.

Before we checked out, our son insisted on dictating to us a letter to Chad, in which he told his new buddy that he "would be back soon enough." We couldn't agree more.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMW33Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

This was such a charming little hotel in Condado, and you really couldn't beat the price. It has one of the best locations (super close to the beach, walking distance to a great part of town, all nestled in a very safe, residential area) and is like stepping into a fantastically preserved little Spanish villa.

The rooms were simple: small, but just enough for a trip where you should be spending a majority of your day at the beach or in Old San Juan, anyway. They could use a little bit of sprucing up (we had a couple holes in the curtains and the bedspread; walls needed some touching up, etc), but most importantly, it was clean.

Hot tub was great, and the pool at the sister resort, At Wind Chimes, was nice, too. It was literally a block away, and again: small, but a good size for a few people. Niche, the hotel restaurant, seemed to be a bit overpriced (especially for Puerto Rico), so we only ate there for breakfast. The food was delicious, though, and all prepared fresh and right in front of you.

The only downside might be the fact that having someone at the front desk is somewhat unreliable. We were told someone would be there until midnight, and at 11PM, there was no one there. Then, when it came time to checkout at 8AM, there was still no one there. Any questions or issues can be answered by the sister hotel down the street, but it would be nice if they could have someone around full-time.

Room Tip: Room 303 has a great corner balcony and views!
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matticulousme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

The hotel staff was nothing but accomodating. Rooms were small but very quaint. Beautiful atmosphere, about 200 feet to the beach and 5-10 minute/$15 cab ride to Old San Juan. About 10-15 min to airport, $25 cab - GREAT location. Staff had great recommendations on where to go. We were always greeted and asked how everything was going. The balcony room we booked (through booking.com) was not available the first night but staff graciously accomodated us with the room the 2nd night. Brunch is a must. Will definitely stay here again if ever visiting San Juan! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Tucked away in a Condado, San Juan corridor and steps from the beach is Acacia, a quaint boutique hotel. Great service, great rate, and a great location. Chad the manager was super. The hot tub just made the late night dip even better, it was the biggest jacuzzi I've been in. It was Great!
Hospitable, attentive and knowledgeable Chad and all the staff helped in making this a great vacation for us. This was our first time in PR and I am glad we made the decision to stay at Acacia. Steps from the beach, minutes from Old San Juan, and about a half our from the rain forest. Can't wait to do it again!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkoNava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews