We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Acacia Boutique Hotel
Ranked #32 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice, small hotel”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed here for one night following a cruise and it was very nice. The hotel is definitely a small boutique operation so you will not get the amenities of a larger hotel. We arrived before check-in so the room was not ready - the only place to keep your luggage is sitting in the lobby. The hotel is very safe and the front door locks so this wasn't a major concern but it felt somewhat inconvenient. There is a small restaurant and hot tub but again, not the amenities of a large hotel. That said, our room was lovely and spacious and the shower and bathroom were great.

As far as the location, Condado is beautiful and this hotel is very close to the beach and within walking distance to restaurants and shops. To get to Old San Juan (for more traditional sightseeing) from here, it costs about $16-$18. The front desk staff were always helpful and happy to call taxis as needed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mafels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    177
    76
    43
    48
See reviews for
62
370
51
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Average at best. I was not favorably impressed with this hotel. The room and bathroom were small. Our room was not cleaned one day, and when we pointed this out, we were only brought clean towels. The bed was squishy and bounced whenever I or my wife moved, so we were frequently waking each other up. While the staff at the desk was friendly and helpful, the other amenities of the hotel were few and far between. No breakfast or coffee unless you purchased it in the rather small, dark restaurant/bar of the hotel (which had ESPN blasting on the television the morning I went in there). And while I didn't have dinner there, it looked, from the menu, to be overpriced. Most of the time during the three days I spent there, no beach towels were available at the desk (they said they were being washed).

On the plus side, it's less than a minute walk to a very nice beach, and the area in general was very pleasant, with some good restaurant and coffee shops near by. I wouldn't stay in this hotel again, but I would look for one in this general location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PRJ202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchantville, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Acacia one night before our cruise. The hotel is charming. At night the lobby area had candles lit, it was very cozy. The staff was extremely friendly. The bedding and bathroom was clean, but they should spend a little more time dusting, wipe the bathroom wall and light switches. They were dirty. The view of the ocean was nice, but there was a building right in front if us. You could see the ocean on either side of the building. I think this hotel is nice for a short stay, would prefer another place for a longer stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JDanek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Joseph
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel with my sister in April 2013. It is a smaller hotel and a bit hard to find the entrance. The hotel has a nice Puerto Rican flavor and is beautiful inside. Good size room with a nice size bathroom. If you are looking for a beach stay, this is not the best location as the beach here is not that impressive. Better beach locations can be found near Isla Verde. There also is limited parking. We found that they had run out of parking and their sister hotel down the street also was out. This was a bit of a pain because we had to search for parking nearly every day and often parked at least 5 blocks away.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jblake10129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
512 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We have many highlights of the hotel: Comfortable room, friendly staff, great hot tub, next to the beach, clean beach towels, great tours they helped us on. A few things that could have improved our stay: The room was so small, there wasn't a closet or anything so we were having a tough time not tripping over our luggage. Also, there wasn't much space in the bathroom for toiletries and the hairdryer didn't work. The one gross thing we found was someone else's bandaid stuck to the bottom of the shower when we got there...other than that, the place was pretty clean. I read the reviews that people weren't at the front desk often. In the week that we were there, there were only 2 times someone wasn't there and that was when the hair dryer broke and when we were trying to check out. I'd say at least 90% of the time, they were present and very helpful!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaime w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The hotel was pretty good, but the service was not. During our stay, our room was not cleaned one day even though we requested it to be several times. When we asked to speak with the manager, he/she was not available, but we were told to come back and we would be able to receive compensation for one of the nights. However, each time we returned, the manager wasn't there. When we checked-out, no one was even at the front desk. I followed up several times after we left- via phone and email- hoping to talk to the manager, but no one responded. This is a small hotel, so the lack of responsiveness is not acceptable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 433maddier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnontheBlueHorizon, General Manager at Acacia Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Hola Maddie R

We extend our apologies for the experience that you have mentioned, as it does not represent the efforts and consistency that our staff strives for with our guests. We already have approach our housekeeping staff on this matter.

I ask that you please do, consider us for your next visit to San Juan to mend this with you, our front desk staff will be more than welcome to accommodate you for a pleasant time with us.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midvale, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Highlights of my stay are as follows:
• nice comfortable bed - nice shower
• beautiful hotel - totally safe
• good local restaurants close by
• the beach was just so-so. It's not like the Virgin Island:)
• the hot tube was just warm (not hot)
• nice people working front desk
• overall - great value
• I rented a car from Target - Economy Rental (5 minutes away)
• there is a sister hotel across the street that has a pool and free coffee

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank BagbyHotspringsTrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel
3.6 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 47 in San Juan
947 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coral Princess Hotel
Coral Princess Hotel
#11 of 47 in San Juan
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#14 of 47 in San Juan
766 reviews
1.1 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
801 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#18 of 47 in San Juan
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acacia Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia Boutique Hotel

Property: Acacia Boutique Hotel
Address: 8 Calle Taft | Condado, San Juan 00911, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Acacia Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acacia Boutique Hotel is a restored villa located in Condado, San Juan, literally steps away from the nicest beach on the North Shore. Our tropical rooms have 10' ceilings, terracotta floors & private bathrooms, A/C, and basic cable TV. Free WIFI is available in the Rooms. If you're a food lover you NEED to come to our restaurant NICHE BRISTO that serves breakfast and dinner. It is one of the finest dining experiences in the San Juan area. After dinner, enjoy a relaxing soak in Puerto Rico's largest Jacuzzi/Spa while sipping on a mojito. Sound nice, right? Come and visit us! We're waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Acacia Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acacia Seaside Hotel
Acacia Seaside San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing