We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; average everything else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Acacia Boutique Hotel
Ranked #29 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location; average everything else”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Simple rooms, very friendly staff, great location near both the airport and beach (be mindful in the neighborhood at night though!). It took a while to cool the room sufficiently for sleep, but the internet was decent.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wertuio22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    174
    74
    42
    44
See reviews for
60
365
47
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 737 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a beachfront hotel for a Friday night, as our cruise sailed out of San Juan Saturday afternoon. The Accacia Boutique is right off the beach, and the price point was perfect - about $140 USD including taxes added at the hotel ($125+tx). Most other hotels for our purposes were much more.

While the hotel is not ideal for an extended stay, it is a good choice for a one night on the beach pre-cruise stay.

I read with interest the other review about the room with the curtains with the holes in it and otherwise being worn out a bit - and sure enough, having landed in San Juan at midnight, this was the room we got (up one flight, turn right, at the end on the left). For the 7 hours sleep we wanted it was more than adequate. The room needed an update but for our one night we slept well.

The hotel has an aggressive you-must-be-out-by-11am-or-we-charge-you-another-full-day, but we were told that when we checked in. At that time we were also told that they offered complimentary: baggage check. (at the front desk), beach towels and access to a changing / shower room after you check out. So that's what we did: we hit the gorgeous beach that morning after "checking out", leaving our bags with the hotel desk and grabbed a beach towel. We showered when we got back. Is that ideal vs extended check out to noon or so? Not really, and it was a bit if a nuisance but the price point and beach location made it tolerable.

Do not eat at the restaurant at the hotel, the food is lousy. One block up from the hotel on the right side corner across the sitter is an excellent breakfast place with fresh, delicious and fairly priced food. It has a booster juice sign outside but it is a lovely, eclecticly decorated comfy resto.

I would recommend this hotel for one night if you want a beach day before your cruise, at a reasonable price but with quirks. If you want an extended stay, I would not recommend it. If you are looking for a night's sleep in a clean hotel, no beach or view but near the cruise port then we were told by another cruiser that the Quality Inn near the port was under $100 a night but was no frills, no beach, no view.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravellingTFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

10 of us flew into Puerto Rico Saturday February 15th to cruise the next day. We all met up at the Acacia hotel and had beautiful rooms each with a balcony. Checking in with Fernando was so easy...each couple coming in at different times. He also gave us ideas where to eat and how to get there and we were able to walk to dinner as well as breakfast the next morning. Of course the hotel has food too! We just wanted to go out and about. The hotel doesn't have a pool but it has the largest hot tub we had seen and after dinner Fernando got us all towels and then we all enjoyed great conversation and laughs. This hotel was just the start of a fabulous vacation with a group of friends. We all agreed we could come back and stay longer.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the ocean! We stayed 3rd floor....but there is no elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fernj2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

My wife(29) and I(30) stayed here from Feb 12th to Feb 15th. We're not very picky with our accomodations, but thought the room & accomodations were more than adequate given the reasonable price. The location of the hotel was great too: 1 block from the beach, 1.5 blocks to a small grocery store/mini mart, 1 block to gas stations, 1-1.5 blocks to several very good restaurants serving local food. Parking is not available on the hotel grounds, but we never had too much of an issue finding a spot at 6pm within a block or 2 on Taft Street. Hotel staff was very helpful in giving suggestions for restaurants within walking distance. The jacuzzi pool was a added bonus too! We usually relaxed with a glass of wine in the pool after dinner everynight. The pool temperature was nice and hot too!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe_VH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

know the hospitality business is one of the hardest industries out there; you will never be able to satisfy everybody. The fact of the matter is control the controllable. We recently stayed at the Acacia hotel, the location is great the staff is kind and informative. The room was spacious but dirty. The head board of the bed was covered in dust. The bathroom smelled of urine all of the fixtures were covered in moldy crust. Enough with the cleanliness of the room lets talk amenities. Generally speaking coffee is offered in one way or another in all hotels with some sort of convenience , this hotel does not. No coffee in the room nor lobby or could you have it delivered.(thank god for Starbucks a few blocks away) In order to get a cup of joe you have to walk downstairs to the restaurant, wait for the only server on duty then pay $7.50 for two cups of black coffee smaller than a Dixie cup. The towels in the room are worn out to be kind. The beach towels were in the same horrible condition if they even had any available to check out. Now the hot tub more or less was a nice size but water was often lukewarm. Normally when I get into a public hot tub the first thing I smell is chlorine, not in this case. As a result they created a perfect Bactria breeding ground. I contracted cellulitis a Bacteria under the skin. My doctor told me that the hot tub was most likely the place where I contracted this. By our last day I couldn't barley walk and still can't without crutches. I had a tiny bug bite that I scratched and never did I think this could happen to me. How hard is it to drop chlorine in a public hot tub? Also we had to ask for maid service by day three and they looked at us like we had three heads. im shocked we didnt get charged extra. i must say after that the room did smell a little cleaner then the day we checked in which worried me even more. Although the location is great there is no fix for a afternoon snack unless you venture out. The hotel has a sister hotel adjacent to them where they advertise (a menu in the room) an outdoor grill and bar. Turns out it doesn't open till 5:00 but when I went over at 5:15 for a quick bite they turned me away and said the bar and grill would be open at 6:00. So I returned at 6:15 and the bartender had just gotten in and he said the grill wouldn't be open for another 45min. Needles to say I wasn't going back. Pretty much everything I have mentioned they have control over and have chosen to overlook them. The hotel itself offers breakfast and a wayyyy over priced dinner menu but considering how filthy everything else was we weren't taking our chances. Not to mention there are a ton of amazing places to eat and drink within walking distance at affordable prices. We will be back to Condado but never again to this hotel. We now know its truly worth spending a couple extra hundred bucks to stay at the Hilton or Marriott.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melmel7733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

My husband and I agree that this lovely hotel exceeded our expectations. The decor and detail was absolutely beautiful. The room was clean, decorated with artistic taste, the beds (two king beds in our room) were very comfortable and every detail was covered.

The lobby was also very uniquely decorated with an incredible artistic touch. We truly loved the spa too. It is definitely the largest and most beautiful jacuzzis we have been in and to top it off, there is the view of the ocean.

We loved our stay at Acacia. It was a short distance from Old San Juan which we enjoyed very much too.
The staff was friendly and helpful, eager to assist.

Room Tip: We loved our room, 207 right outside of the jacuzzi with an ocean view and two king beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

We booked two rooms for 1 pre-cruise stay. The Deluxe room (our room) had yellow stained sheets, torn curtains, and cracked/stained windows. The room needed a through cleaning.
The second room (regular) actually consisted of two rooms but the 2nd room had no visible window, but visible cockroach. Closet, perhaps.
Front desk Service was spotty. I asked for a fork, and I was told the the restaurant was closed, and they didn't have the key. Really?
The worst was breakfast. The food came out cold, at different times for all people sitting at the table. It was mostly really badly heated frozen food. What got to me was the egg breakfast sandwich which came on a untoasted stale hamburger bun.

My review? Stay away

Room Tip: stay at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jessica b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel
3.6 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#9 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
1.1 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ciqala Luxury Suites
Ciqala Luxury Suites
#13 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#8 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#10 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acacia Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia Boutique Hotel

Property: Acacia Boutique Hotel
Address: 8 Edif Taft Ctr | Condado, San Juan 00911-1270, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Acacia Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acacia Boutique Hotel is a restored villa located in Condado, San Juan, literally steps away from the nicest beach on the North Shore. Our tropical rooms have 10' ceilings, terracotta floors & private bathrooms, A/C, and basic cable TV. Free WIFI is available in the Rooms. If you're a food lover you NEED to come to our restaurant NICHE BRISTO that serves breakfast and dinner. It is one of the finest dining experiences in the San Juan area. After dinner, enjoy a relaxing soak in Puerto Rico's largest Jacuzzi/Spa while sipping on a mojito. Sound nice, right? Come and visit us! We're waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acacia Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acacia Seaside Hotel
Acacia Seaside San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing