We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, cozy, friendly, has character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Acacia Boutique Hotel
Ranked #29 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, cozy, friendly, has character”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

My partner and I stayed here from June 23-27, and we enjoyed our stay very much (it is a gay-friendly hotel, and we felt very welcome). It is a very unique hotel with a great location that is steps from the beach, a short walk to the Condado shops/restaurants, has a very friendly staff, and has a very tasty restaurant (Niche Restaurant) right on the premises. The room had air-conditioning, a small fridge, a microwave, and a small TV. If you stay here or are just in the area, you MUST try this restaurant: it seats maybe 20 people, has a lot of character to it, and the food is sooooo good. You have to try the mussels as an appetizer! If I had to pick one thing that I'd change about the hotel, I'd say that our room was small-sized, but it didn't really make a difference to us, since we spent most of our time on our private ocean-view balcony, out on the beach, or sight-seeing! I highly recommend staying here!

Liked Best: Location, hotel character, hot tub
Liked Least: Room size

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travisbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    174
    74
    42
    44
See reviews for
60
365
47
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2010

very cute place. NO internet. NO staff on duty. If you are going to relax and need no staff nor any internet, it is not a bad deal. If you need more than a rented bed, don't bother. The wind chimes is where the staff and the wireless exists (one block away). They tell business visitors or anyone needing the internet to sit in the lobby of the other hotel........ not good if you need to get work done. Too bad really because with a little effort, they could really have a good thing.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colfaxmpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2010

I'm a budget travler.
The hotel was a little dated but has lots of atmosphere... Spanish Motif.. with large whirlpool, and restaurant. Its sister property ...Wind Chimes.. down the street has a pool and bar. The hotel is located just a few steps from the beach. Got great rates through Cheaptickets for $99 x 3 days plus a free night. I overheard someone calling the hotel and got room rates cheaper than that. Rooms are small.. room for two and you will be bumping into each other. The in rooom safe cost $2 per day which was not indicated on Cheaptickets web site. Desk employees are english speaking. Right down the street from fast food places like Fudruckers, BK, and Subway if you are on a budget. There is a big grocery store " Pueblo de Diego" on De Diego and Wilson about 4 blocks down off of Ashford ...( McLeary turns into Ashford 3 blocks toward town..The first street you will pass is Kings Ct) ... if you want to buy something to take to the beach and they also have prepared food that you can eat in the store. Spanish is spoken in most places, workers understand some english if you ask for something without a lot of filler words.. "one Criolla salad to go, balsamic dressing " If you say Hi first, usually they know you speak english. Read the reviews on traveladvisor before booking the trip and the only consistent complaint about the hotel was that the rooms were small and it was out of the way. No view from the first floor and those must be the cheaper rooms, but if you only need it to sleep and clean up, it worth it. Driving is New York style in the evenings. The hotel is perfect if you want to relax on a quiet beach and dine out. It is pretty safe if you stay on the streets near Ashford and McLeary. There are Casinos and bars in the area that i'm sure can offer a lot to do.

Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidColumbusOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2010

Husband/wife in our 40's.

We stayed 5/27 to 5/31 and got a great deal (with airfare) on Travelocity. Upon check in, they upgraded our room to ocean front (we had to downsize from a King Bed to Queen Bed) but that was fine by me as I wanted the view/balcony more than the bed size.
We showed up at Acacia to check in and Paul advised us that all check ins are done at Wind Chimes Inn. This is their ‘sister’ hotel and its only steps from Acacia. I was also able to chat with Paul a few minutes about some dining selections that I had done some research on and got some great feedback from him.

Checkin / Checkout: No issues. She even called us a taxi at checkout & the arrived within 3 minutes.

Common Areas: Beautiful lobby and eclectic common areas. Wonderful large hot tub. Can only get into hotel main doors with your room key so very safe.

Room: Small but clean/nice. Some minor cracks in the ceiling & around the French doors, but that didn’t bother us. Comfortable bed, GREAT AC unit which kept the room very cool (and it was very humid during our stay). No room clock, large dresser and two end tables to store you items from home. The mirror on the large dresser had some type of filminess to it which made it unusable, but I was able to use the bathroom mirror so not a huge issue for us.

Bathroom: Small but updated/modern. Bar soap, shampoo, plastic cups and hairdryer all were provided. Clean towels supplied daily.

Balcony: Wonderful and large. We were on the corner so we had a front and side balcony with one plastic chair. Nice to relax and read a book for awhile when your partner is getting ready inside the room.

Location: Perfect for us. We had no rental car so we either walked or used taxis.
The taxi ride far (with tip) was about $20 to and from the hotel. We also took a taxi into San Juan one day and then took the public bus (C53) back from San Juan to our hotel. BIG mistake, by the time we waited in San Juan at the bus depot and took the actual bus, we had an hour and half in that. Didn’t use the bus system anymore. Much too time consuming. It was cheap ($.75 PP) but not worth that much time while we are on vacation. The taxi ride was 10 minutes to/from San Juan (as we had no traffic).
For the most part, we walked everywhere (refer to Dining Reviews on: Jam Rum Bar, Waikiki, Starbucks, Kasalta Bakery) as I’ll put walking times and miles from the hotel in those reviews.

Niche Restaurant: Very small, yet romantic. Niche Martini is wonderful. Hubby had lobster & loved it. I had received feedback from a local at the beach to order the shrimp risotto (on the appetizer side of menu) but ask for the portion size to be an entrée. So I asked for that and guess what? They served and charged me for the $12 appetizer. I was disappointed and left hungry. Had to stop somewhere else later in the evening & order something else to eat. We made a great friend in Kayla. She is the bartender/mixologist and was WONDERFUL. She flip’s between Niche and the Boat Bar (located at the Wind Chimes inn). She is friendly, informative and really does love her job. She made the best drinks for us at both places. We hope to stay in touch with her via Facebook.

Overall, we were very pleased with Acacia and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn123444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2010

This hotel is very clean, quaint, and chic in a tropical way. I highly recommend this hotel. There's not much of a staff which is okay because I felt like I own the place. it was very secure and quiet. My only issue is the lack of parking for guests. Only street parking is available.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank proman2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2010

Found the hotel through a guidebook and it was the only one in our price range with a vacancy. Everyone else missed out. Acacia is booked and managed by At Wind Chimes, and is half a block away. Half a block closer to the beach. A large number of the rooms have partial beach views, and it's a literal half a block to the sand. Rooms are small, but comfy, with walk-in showers (nice when you're covered in sand.) No elevator, so you earn your view. The most amazing hot tub I've ever seen- it's enormous, beautiful, and well-kept. The pool is at the other property, but we never made the walk to see it. The Condado district is a 5 minute walk. Beware the beach! The section of beach immediately in front of the hotel is prone to a stout rip current, so walk a little ways in either direction if you plan to do some swimming.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melvis_and_Laugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SISTER BAY
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2010

we recently stayed at the acacia inn during our vacation in san juan. only three floors, 1/2 short block to beach. room 301 had balcony that you could see the ocean. clean tile floor rooms, excellent air conditioning, but we enjoyued the open windows at night to hear the waves. safe location as we walked the beach every night. streets just as safe as we could walk a short distance to numerous outdoor resturants at night. short public bus$.75 to old san juan. friendly office. paul had great advice on day trips to rain forest, etc. best treat was great resturant right on sight. have the tuna. we will return again for a great stay in wonderful historic city.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wege1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel
3.6 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#9 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
1.1 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ciqala Luxury Suites
Ciqala Luxury Suites
#13 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#8 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#10 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acacia Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia Boutique Hotel

Property: Acacia Boutique Hotel
Address: 8 Edif Taft Ctr | Condado, San Juan 00911-1270, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Acacia Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acacia Boutique Hotel is a restored villa located in Condado, San Juan, literally steps away from the nicest beach on the North Shore. Our tropical rooms have 10' ceilings, terracotta floors & private bathrooms, A/C, and basic cable TV. Free WIFI is available in the Rooms. If you're a food lover you NEED to come to our restaurant NICHE BRISTO that serves breakfast and dinner. It is one of the finest dining experiences in the San Juan area. After dinner, enjoy a relaxing soak in Puerto Rico's largest Jacuzzi/Spa while sipping on a mojito. Sound nice, right? Come and visit us! We're waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acacia Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acacia Seaside Hotel
Acacia Seaside San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing