We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it, plan to relocate there.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atlantic Beach Hotel
Ranked #46 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Hotel was being remodeled, but that didn't cause any problems. Rooms were clean and quiet. TV had a good selection. Close to all transportation, including public for only 75 cents. Staff was GREAT. Very heplful, I felt like I was a regulat guest. Staff that included everyone from the owner to the housekeeper. Very safe. Great burger shop near hotel, Punk Burger Bistrol. Great, freindly staff there and great food at a good price. Reserve a lot of time for old San Juan, eat at Sr Frog, good food a lot of fun. The best thing about the PR is the people. I have traveled a lot, these folks make you feel like they want you there and it's your home.

Do try out the hotel, it's no a 5 star, but it's clean, great staff(the best) the price is right and a great location. Tell them Roger referred you, they will make you feel at home.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roger b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (703)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 703 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2011

Not luxurious at all, Lobby is currently being renovated so first impression was "O, sheet rock walls" Concierge was nice and helpful. Room didn't have a main light just a lamp. The bathroom light however lit up the whole room. Checked for bedbugs, there were none. Sheets were nice and clean, bed was very comfy. Again nice under $100 for one night stays, perfect for those going on a cruise the next day.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ykgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We originally booked this hotel 2 months in advance via telephone. Upon arriving they did not have our reservation and told us they only take reservations online. A little nervous about the hotel because it was under remodeling/construction but it was late so we stayed anyway. The room was lovely and clean - a little scary getting there because the elevator is ancient. Beach fantastic.But the bar was not very good at all. Decided to stay another day (had an infant with us and didn't want to move to another hotel) and the rate we were told by the manager suddenly had gone up plus they tried to get me to sign a blank credit card charge slip. Upon check-out they billed me double for parking. Got in an altercation with the manager regarding additional charges but they could have cared less. Did notice that everyone checking in had some kind of problem with the manager. If you do stay there be very careful of what you are being charged for. Also, construction did not start until late morning, but have a feeling it is a very slow and ongoing process.

Room Tip: I would suggest staying away from this hotel if you can help it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leelouzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Extremely poor quality, you could not see out of the one window in the room, bugs in the light fixtures
You cannot dress in the bathroom with the door closed, it is so small.
No security latch on the room doors

Room Tip: tip dont go there!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamma426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

First I will say we were a little sceptical reading previous reviews but said what the heck, let's go for it anyways because we felt the value (a beachfront hotel in the Condado area) was good...We stayed from the 2nd -6th and we honestly have NO complaints! our room looked like the room in the pics, we stayed in room 204 (looks like the ones psted here for April 2011) The room was clean and cool. Bed was comfy and sheets were clean. The bathroom was nice, small but nice. The water pressure was delightlful! never had an issue with no water or anything like that. Cable on a small flat screen mounted to the wall. It rained a little but it didn't stop our flow. Right on the beach which was a plus. Area was safe for walking around. Room service was on point. Beach lounges and umbrellas were set up with no problem. The staff was very helpful, not rude at all, well at least not to us. They gave us recommmendations, directions, called cabs with no problem at all. The bar was closed for the most part but it gave us a chance to go drink with the locals! We went to the one across from La Concha Resort and got wasted (shots were $2) then went across to La Concha and partied (their drinks started at $9) there is also a Walgreens, Haagen Daz, Subways, Dunkin Doughnuts for those that want a lil taste of home all within 2 blocks of the hotel. The cons: you have to pay a $100 deposit, which we were never informed about prior to, but we paid cash so were refunded when we checked out (which was such a fast easy process) and if you want a beach towel that is also a deposit. Also it seems to be a known gay beach, but it didn't bother us at all. Slushy island drinks were served to us on the beach for only $3 (liquor)and while we went to many referred restaurants the one we found to be the best was at a mom& pop spot called "Stop& Go" across the lil park from La Concha Resort (which is right next door & has a banging bar and casino) which we found strolling around, for a whole meal (rice, beans, meat, salad and drink) was $8! Orozco's was also a good on Ashford ave. Must go to Old San Juan for a taste of history, it won't dissapoint. We took a bus there for .75...All in all, you get what you pay for so if you don't set your expectations of a beachfront hotel room for under $100 too high then you won't be dissapointed! Yes they were remodeling the lobby and yes it wasn't dazzling but really, come on! this isn't a 5 star resort! We went with an open mind and because there were so many negative reviews we were prepared for the worst but definetely felt like we got the BEST! We plan on staying here again, but only as long as we can get the same room ;) Enjoy!!!! =)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sacha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Just returned from San Juan and loved it. Stayed all 6 nights at the Atlantic Beach Hotel on Vendig St. From the moment of check in to our final adios, we were treated with kindness and smiles. The entire staff was great. This hotel is under construction so some noise is to be expected. It wasnt outragous. They are building a pool on site and renovating the lobby. Parking is $10 per day and SO VERY WORTH IT. Your rental will be locked up in a gate. Anytime you need to retrieve your car a staff member will unlock the gate. Parking on the street and the lot across the hotel would be risky and costly. I recommend this hotel as it is STEPS AWAY FROM THE BEACH. The rooms are VERY SMALL but nice. Recommend for adults and not good for families. (Rooms too small) When I return to San Juan, I would definately stay here again. It was perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoneWolff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

(June 29 2011- July 6th 2011). DO not be confused by the pictures on the HOTEL'S website. My room looked nothing like that. Infact I looked in 3 different rooms and they looked nothing like that. That bar and deck area looked NOTHING like that, it wasnt even open when we arrived. When it finally opened it still looked nothing like the photo you see on the website. I added some pictures. Water shut off with NO NOTICE for hours. They only have 3-4 parking spots. The bathroom is tiny and the shower is a about 6 square feet. The pictures I posted was of our room #309 which was was the better of the 2 rooms in our crew. The bed was comfortable and hotel was kept cool. however the construction crew was not curtious to the guests. They started their work around 8am.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank MisterJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
3.9 mi away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#30 of 47 in San Juan
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandy Beach Hotel
Sandy Beach Hotel
#41 of 47 in San Juan
321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Iberia
Hotel Iberia
#40 of 47 in San Juan
128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
844 reviews
0.8 mi away
At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Beach Hotel

Address: 1 Vendig St. | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: £176 - £704 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience one of San Juan's most popular beach front locations at the Atlantic Beach Hotel on Condado Beach. The Atlantic has become a favorite place for the travel savvy and open minded traveler who enjoys its unpretentious atmosphere and its lively appeal to a wide variety of lifestyles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Atlantic Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Beach San Juan
Hotel Atlantic Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing