We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under construction, but did the job”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atlantic Beach Hotel
Ranked #45 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
MN
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Under construction, but did the job”
Reviewed 16 August 2011

The pool and patio areas were under construction so we did not get to enjoy those. The facade and hallways looked run down, but the inside of the room was nice. The bathroom was clean and looked newly remodeled. It was small, but we only stayed one night. The location is great. You're right on the beach. There are bars and a dunkin' donuts nearby (very important for coffee addicts like me). For a short stay on a budget, it was great.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gol19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    134
    110
    100
    247
See reviews for
61
246
107
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

This hotel our entire family trip to Puerto Rico. We got two rooms because were a family of five and we were charged an "extra person fee". The staff was rude and unpleasant and just shrug their shoulders everytime we had a complain. We had NO A/C for 2 days and the construction started at 7 in the morning. The walls are paper thin and the bar is so close to the rooms we could not go to sleep. The elevator looks like a death box we avoided it at all costs. When we asked where there were good places to eat they said they "didnt know" When we checked out we asked for our receipt and the man just ripped it in front of our faces. PLEASE DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madai b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Most certainly a real "diamond in the rough"! Just because the hotel is going through major renovations does not mean it is poor quality or a run down hotel. This place was worth staying in and it was a bargain compared to other places in the Condado District. I wanted a beach front hotel at an affordable rate, and I got that plus more than what I expected! I recommend this place to people that have an eye for style and are free-minded thinkers who enjoy staying at original and authentic places from the area that is being visited.

The room I was placed in looked exactly like the picture! The hotel is situated right in front of the beach and you have 24hr access to it. There is a small bar in the patio open for guests to enjoy a drink while listening to the waves. The check in area, patio and pool area are under renovations. If you observe carefully what work that has already been done, you can immediately see that this place will look amazing later!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muskogee ok
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Hotel was being remodeled, but that didn't cause any problems. Rooms were clean and quiet. TV had a good selection. Close to all transportation, including public for only 75 cents. Staff was GREAT. Very heplful, I felt like I was a regulat guest. Staff that included everyone from the owner to the housekeeper. Very safe. Great burger shop near hotel, Punk Burger Bistrol. Great, freindly staff there and great food at a good price. Reserve a lot of time for old San Juan, eat at Sr Frog, good food a lot of fun. The best thing about the PR is the people. I have traveled a lot, these folks make you feel like they want you there and it's your home.

Do try out the hotel, it's no a 5 star, but it's clean, great staff(the best) the price is right and a great location. Tell them Roger referred you, they will make you feel at home.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roger b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Not luxurious at all, Lobby is currently being renovated so first impression was "O, sheet rock walls" Concierge was nice and helpful. Room didn't have a main light just a lamp. The bathroom light however lit up the whole room. Checked for bedbugs, there were none. Sheets were nice and clean, bed was very comfy. Again nice under $100 for one night stays, perfect for those going on a cruise the next day.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ykgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We originally booked this hotel 2 months in advance via telephone. Upon arriving they did not have our reservation and told us they only take reservations online. A little nervous about the hotel because it was under remodeling/construction but it was late so we stayed anyway. The room was lovely and clean - a little scary getting there because the elevator is ancient. Beach fantastic.But the bar was not very good at all. Decided to stay another day (had an infant with us and didn't want to move to another hotel) and the rate we were told by the manager suddenly had gone up plus they tried to get me to sign a blank credit card charge slip. Upon check-out they billed me double for parking. Got in an altercation with the manager regarding additional charges but they could have cared less. Did notice that everyone checking in had some kind of problem with the manager. If you do stay there be very careful of what you are being charged for. Also, construction did not start until late morning, but have a feeling it is a very slow and ongoing process.

Room Tip: I would suggest staying away from this hotel if you can help it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leelouzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Extremely poor quality, you could not see out of the one window in the room, bugs in the light fixtures
You cannot dress in the bathroom with the door closed, it is so small.
No security latch on the room doors

Room Tip: tip dont go there!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamma426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
Sandy Beach Hotel
Sandy Beach Hotel
#38 of 47 in San Juan
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel
0.2 mi away
Casa Condado Hotel
Casa Condado Hotel
#34 of 47 in San Juan
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#22 of 47 in San Juan
340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#31 of 47 in San Juan
345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Princess Hotel
Coral Princess Hotel
#12 of 47 in San Juan
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Beach Hotel

Property: Atlantic Beach Hotel
Address: 1 Vendig St. | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience one of San Juan's most popular beach front locations at the Atlantic Beach Hotel on Condado Beach. The Atlantic has become a favorite place for the travel savvy and open minded traveler who enjoys its unpretentious atmosphere and its lively appeal to a wide variety of lifestyles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Atlantic Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Beach San Juan
Hotel Atlantic Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing