We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only I read the reviews....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atlantic Beach Hotel
Ranked #45 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Belleville, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If only I read the reviews....”
Reviewed 3 November 2011

DON'T CHECK-IN TO THIS HOTEL..I should have read the reviews before I booked,we're couple from NY w/ friends from Chicago and SF visiting PR after a week cruise,we arrived in the counter with a very stern unfriendly 1 staffed hotel priced equivalent to neighboring hotels along the shoreline,the place has no parking space and the staff were rude(we rented a car)my friends were checked in at double tree(i should have stayed there-nice) and they were asked rudely if they are sleeping overnight instead of ushering us in and welcoming us,they gave us this 2 rooms and my room I reserve is beachfront but it's weekend they gave me a room with a laundryview at the back and will not compromise,the construction is going on until midnight and starts early am at 6am waking us up,the towels are worn out and the elevator is old and we're stuck on the middle of the floor with our luggage and we have to jump/climb up to the floor not mentioning it's squeaky scary riding in a lift that's noisy and shaky,we rested on the beach using their folding bench and were told we can't use them because they have to keep it at 5pm though they gave us until 5:30 pm.room is small and dusty from the construction going on,some areas are blocked going to the bar and we have to get out to enter the lounge/bar area.staff are so unwelcoming.2 of our friends visited us and were not allowed to enter our room and accused them of being prostitutes.has bucket of ice in our room but no ice to get it from,no water,,,has shampoo and conditioner dispenser but empty and we're given soap bar instead.seems like nobody understands English,we asked for a towel but were given face cloth.the place is so noisy at night,no food available,we can't go out because of the heavy rains.we wanted to check out early but won't refund our money.I regret going to this hotel after a 6 day perfect caribbean cruise,our vacation culminated in a very unpleasant stay in this hotel,,this Hotel SUCKS,,don't patronize ATlantic Beach Hotel in Condado,San Juan,PR,never,never,never

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ross R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    135
    110
    100
    250
See reviews for
62
246
109
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

after reading negitive reviews i decided not to stay at atlantic beach hotel... after visiting the bar there and the great beach that it is located on i really wished i would have stayed there instead of a nearby hotel a few blocks away that was more expensive since i spent most my time at A B hotel

there is some construction still going on during the day but everything that has been done looks great and when finished will be a "hot spot" in condado for sure

i would go there in the afternoon and the noise was not so bad

i started my night there and then would go "out and about" then would finish my night there


the views looking over the beach is great, so many hot bodies on sat and sunday afternoons on the gay beach, just unreal, there is a upscale club next door called oceano that was a bit to snooty for my tastes and 2 blocks over another gay club "cant remember the name" that is pretty cool

every day i went to A B Hotel and the staff... from the owner, managers, bartenders were welcoming and friendly even tho i was not a hotel guest

when you go there you MUST make friends with the 2 main bartenders... carlos "the very very sexy hard working thin one" and ivan "the butch one that will give you a great haircut if you need one" and take you to late night clubs he promotes

both those guys are the absolute best and will give you all the local info you need

tell carlos you want to see pics of his huge dog... its bigger than he is

next time i visit san juan i will be staying there without a doubt

Room Tip: make friends with carlos and ivan
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank caribbeanlifestx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rincon, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

My friends and I booked 3 rooms online in what looked like a great ocean-front hotel in Condado. When we arrived, the entire building was undergoing renovations. The lobby, beach-front bar and patio, and common areas were a disaster. Each of our 3 rooms were poorly furnished, extremely small, and basically nothing like what was advertised online. When we told the manager we weren't going to stay, he declared he was going to charge our credit cards anyway. After a half hour battle, he told us, "this isn't the Marriott, we don't have those kinds of services here." We're from Rincon, on the west side of the island, and weren't looking for "the Marriott". But this place couldn't even provide working lights and toilets in every room. There are dozens of great, affordable places in the Condado area of San Juan. Skip the Atlantic Beach Hotel, it's awful.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

I have stayed at this property before and had good experiences. However this last time i stayed there was absolutely horrible! Having flown in from Los Angeles we reserved a ocean view room. The room we were given was a partial ocean view, and a view of a disgusting torn down abandoned building next door. Our room was filled with mold which the front desk said was normal this time of year. The staff was extremely rude when i asked to change rooms. (they did not change rooms for us). when i disputed the claim with my credit card company, they lied in writing saying they escorted us to the rm before checking in to make sure it was satisfactory. That was a LIE!!! we also had a late checkout and having told the front desk upon checking in, was assured that someone is there 24hrs a day to check us out. You deposit $10 per towel when you arrive and upon returning of the towels you get your cash deposit back. when we checked out (late) they said they have no access to money that late and could not refund my deposit. They also LIED! once again to my credit card company saying i recieved my deposit back! This place is disgusting and should not be santiary enough to be operating!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I'll start by saying the hotel has no parking and the street is very narrow and crowded by other cars, we were rudely told by a hotel employee to drive around until a parking space appeared! The front desk employee was really rude, no customer service etiquette what so ever, the place is not what is seems in the hotel website pics, the rooms are horrible and the lobby is a nightmare, it's a total scam! We didn't even last 30mins after our check in once we saw the room and asked for an upgrade or our money back the front desk employee literally insulted us, told us if we didn't like it there was the door, refused to give us his name (who by the way had no uniform or name tag) and refused to get a manager, we were told he was the manager! The next day i called to talk to hotel management and they were even ruder, didn't seem to care about my complaint almost seemed as I were talking to same hotel employee!! Its a shame such a horrible place exists in such a beautiful island and a great area (Condado PR)
I ADVISE ALL THESE UNSATISFIED CUSTOMERS TO DO A REPORT ABOUT THIS HOTEL WITH WHO EVER IS PROMOTING THEM (ONLINE, WEBSITE, TRAVEL AGENCY, ETC...)
I ALREADY DID MYSELF WITH EXPEDIA, ORBITZ, THE DEPARTMENT OF TURISM AND DACO
THEY CANNOT KEEP GETTING AWAY WITH THIS!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank loliz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

The worst hotel I ever stayed. Customer service was awful. The manager in charge was disrespectful.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claramartinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabela, Puerto Rico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

First off, the hotel looks NOTHING like what their site depicts. I'm originally from PR, and being gay, and on vacation, I thought I'd be nice to stay at this hotel during my visit to San Juan. Well, I checked out 20 minutes after I got there (I would have left immediately if the supervisor had been more cooperative). As I walked in and saw the catastrophe of a lobby, I immediately asked the “housekeeping supervisor” for a refund. The housekeeping supervisor was the only person working at this hotel and was completely and utterly unprofessional. He advised me that since I had already booked the room online I could not get my money back. I am currently filing a complaint with my credit card company in order to get my money back. But either way, I would have never stayed at such a dirty place. The lobby looks like a war zone. The supervisor looks like he had just crawled off a dumpster. The room was small, dirty, outdated, with dirt and blood on the sheets, and no amenities whatsoever. The room was not even air conditioned. The condition of the room and this hotel was completely unacceptable; I would not even imagine a motel being this dirty and unkempt. I would not advise anyone to stay here. As I said, I am still currently trying to get my money back and the only person to contact is the dirty supervisor working the nasty front desk; completely unbelievable. I ended up staying at La Concha, which was beautiful and I would highly recommend staying there. However, do not make the mistake of booking the “Atlantic Beach Hotel” online—it is not as depicted on their photos. If I had the time and energy, I would sue this place. They are building a place next door which looks more promising called “Oceana” and is set to open sometime Sept 2011. The location of this place is great ... You just need to blow it up to pieces and start over with a new owner.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank izzy1696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
Sandy Beach Hotel
Sandy Beach Hotel
#37 of 47 in San Juan
318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#31 of 47 in San Juan
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Condado Hotel
Casa Condado Hotel
#33 of 47 in San Juan
292 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#22 of 47 in San Juan
341 reviews
3.9 mi away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#30 of 47 in San Juan
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Beach Hotel

Property: Atlantic Beach Hotel
Address: 1 Vendig St. | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience one of San Juan's most popular beach front locations at the Atlantic Beach Hotel on Condado Beach. The Atlantic has become a favorite place for the travel savvy and open minded traveler who enjoys its unpretentious atmosphere and its lively appeal to a wide variety of lifestyles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atlantic Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Beach San Juan
Hotel Atlantic Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing