We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atlantic Beach Hotel
Ranked #45 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Honeymoon Hotel!”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

What a great little out of the way place! The rooms were all newly remodeled and quaint. This is the place to stay if you want a quiet, private retreat with a few luxuries. BEACH access from the patio/bar/restaurant with private lounge chairs and drinks. Staff was more than helpful and friendly. We got married just down the beach from this hotel and walked back in our wedding attire and were treated so well by everyone there! What a great group. Spent 10 days in the hotel, and they helped us find awesome tours and sight seeing items that the normal tourist would never see. Close to some of the best restaurants in San Juan and a short taxi ride to the best shopping in Old San Juan. I WILL be staying there again this year, and the next.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMillerSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripoutCali, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantic Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear AMillerSD:

The entire staff of the Atlantic Beach Hotel sincerely wish’s to again thank you for allowing us to have the honor of playing a small part of your and your husband’s wedding day celebration. We know this is one of the most special times of your lives and we wanted to make sure that we could assist you in any way possible during your 10 day stay with us.

We look forward to your return visit to the Atlantic Beach Hotel this year and know you and your Husband will be very pleased with all of the newly completed improvements to the property. One of the most popular recent improvements has been the December 2012, opening of our beautiful new oceanfront restaurant and lounge bar which has been a very big success for all of our hotel guest and customers. Also, we now have a beautiful second floor oceanfront terrace which is available, and the perfect location for weddings and special private events.

Please keep us posted as to when your next visit too Puerto Rico and the Atlantic Beach Hotel will be, so that we can prepare to make sure your next stay will be even more “PERFECT” than your last.

Regards
Juan Rivera
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    134
    109
    100
    244
See reviews for
61
244
106
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We booked this hotel a week before and we booked a ocean view front for me the baby a ten year old and my hubby we had got to San Juan like around 5am just walking around until it was time to check in which was at 3 but we decided to go earlier to the hotel cause of the baby when we got there to Atlantic beach hotel they didn't even welcome us they said the room we picked was not avalaible but they had this real nice apartment so we said ok paid for it and when another attendant take us is not even inside Atlantic beach is on the side on a separate building it look nasty it smell like mold and it look like people had died In There I went back to front desk and said I would like to get my money back that I don't feel comftable there it not what I booked he said with an attitude well we don't give money back there no cancelation it took us almost a whole hour trying to contact our bank and the place where we booked it which was booking.com untill we finally got our money back and threw all that my little one crying she was hungry tiers and these people had no such feeling got us it was my worst experience for a first time flying and in puerto Rico...and we finally found a hotel..which was a block more down not all that but the service made you feel at home sandy beach hotel...I don't recomend anyone to stay Atlantic beach after telling my story to taxi driver he told me that that was not a family hotel it more for gay people...no problem with that but it was no rite how we got treated...

Room Tip: Sandy beach hotel...not the best but sweetest service ever..it was like as you where at home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yesenia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripoutCali, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantic Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear Yesenia M

Please accept our sincere apologizes for our not being able to make your recent one night stay in Puerto Rico more enjoyable. Our ultimate goal at the Atlantic Beach Hotel is to always try our very best to make sure all of our guest have nothing less than the best possible experience while visiting the beautiful Island of Puerto Rico. Even though our staff did try and assist you with the travel related problems that you had encountered prior to your arrival at the Atlantic Beach Hotel, we are very sorry that we were unable to accomplish our goal.

In closing we would like to clarify two statements which may give other persons a less than pleasing picture of Puerto Rico and the Atlantic Beach Hotel. Our hotel credit card policy is as follows. Any person who request a booking through the Atlantic Beach Hotel website online reservation system or any other online travel service provider must provide a credit card in the name of the person who will be occupying the room in order to guarantee the room reservation. Within 72 hours prior to the date of arrival a credit card approval is requested and the bank approval will remain in place up until the time the credit card issuer releases the pending amount due. As we explained to you, no charges are made to our guest credit card until such time as the checkout has taken place. In such cases where we are unable to receive a credit card approval or the credit card is declined we will make every possible effort to contact our guest, as we did in your case, and advise them that another credit card must be immediately provided in order to reinstate the reservation.

Puerto Rico has always been the most appealing and welcoming Island in the Caribbean for persons from all walks of life and personal preferences. The Atlantic Beach Hotel continues to embrace this very special openness and while our Hotel is not strictly a gay venue, we celebrate and welcome diversity and welcome a very mixed open minded crowd which we believe makes our hotel a very, very special place to visit.

Thank you.
Juan Rivera
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

What makes this hotel so special is the beach front location with a fabulous new bar & restaurant in a constant cooling breeze. The rooms all have AC and are very clean. The lounge areas are open and spacious, and the friendliness and helpfulness of the owners Terry and Jack and all the staff really sets this hotel apart from other hotels - that charge more than double. The food is of a very high standard, reflecting the many years of experience of the owners in the restaurant trade. We really did not want to leave and will definitely book this hotel again next year.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room to sleep with the noise of breaking waves and a cool breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian W W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripoutCali, General Manager at Atlantic Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear Ian W W W

Thank you so very much for you and your wife’s recent stays with us at The Atlantic Beach Hotel, as well as your very kind and thoughtful words. All of our staff were so very pleased to see you return three separate times to stay with us during your three week tour throughout the Caribbean. We were also pleased that we were able to complete all of the construction and open our new oceanfront Restaurant and Lounge Bar a few months prior to your arrival.

Along with all of the renewed improvements and amenities that our hotel can now offer our guest, first and foremost it is our management and staffs ongoing commitment to provide the best possible service and value to our guest and customers. We also did not want to see you and your wife leave and wish you could have stayed a bit longer with us. However, we will truly look forward to your return in the very near future.

Sincerely;
Terry and the Entire Staff
@Atlantic Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

I visited this hotel about a year ago, despite the not so good reviews, and liked it plus was a good value. Now I came back with my wife for 4 nights on January 24th. What a surprise!! A year ago they were doing a lot of work on the building and facilities, now that is all finished I have to say, great job! Excellent service, great beach (it can be a little rough at times but OK), great bar and atmosphere, and a great brand new restaurant. About the restaurant, when I made the reservation they had a Sushi Bar, when I arrived it was closed, but they do not need it! The regular breakfast menu is very complete and the "tapas" menu is good for light dinner or simply some snacks while you drink at the bar. Next year we are turning with our kids.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph_Oil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripoutCali, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantic Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear Joseph_Oil

Thank you so very much for your kind words, and it was truly an honor to have you and your wife return again to stay with us at The Atlantic Beach Hotel. We are also pleased that you enjoyed the new atmosphere and vibe of our new Oceanfront Restaurant and Lounge Bar. Our Staff did work very hard during 2012 to complete the necessary work that was needed to bring The Atlantic Beach Hotel closer to the standards our guest and customers deserve. In order to bring additional value to our guest stays, several more amenities and improvements to our facilities are scheduled to take place prior to year’s end. Upon your return next year, we are certain that you and your wife will again be surprised and pleased with The Atlantic Beach Hotel.

Also, when you return next year with the kids, you might want to consider one of our two or three bedroom Vacation Apartment which are attached to the Hotel. They tend to be ideal for families. Again, thank you and on behalf of all of our staff, it was a sincere pleasure to be of service to you.

Best regards;
Juan Rivera
Guest Services Manager
@Atlantic Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I have been going to the Atlantic Beach Hotel for quiet few years now & it's always a great pleasure to come back.I always get the warm greetings from Terry,Jack & a very attentive staff.
The transformation of the bar is gorgeous & the adding of a great restaurant made my life so easy;I didn't go out once to eat anywhere else;from breakfast to lunch & dinner.the menus are perfect; you must test the tapas,the hamburgers with blue cheese inside (to dye for).
you cannot find a better location,right on the beach with free beach chairs and towels;dreaming of going back.

Room Tip: my room was on the 4th floor with ocean vue;a real dream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryse718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripoutCali, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantic Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Dear maryse718

Thank you so very much for your newest review of The Atlantic Beach Hotel. When your reservation arrived through our hotel’s online reservation system back in November 2012, our front desk staff was beyond ecstatic to hear that you would be returning again this year, and extending your stay for a full two weeks. It has always been a great pleasure to be of service to you and your family for so many years now.

Our staff was also excited to see your reaction to the transformation to our Hotel that has unfolded over the past year. We also knew you would be pleased with the great trendy look and vibe of our new Oceanfront Restaurant and Lounge Bar. And yes, the Tapas Menu and especially the Stuffed Blue Cheese Burger has been a big hit with both our guest and locals alike.

We very much look forward to your next winter vacation in Puerto Rico, and we promise you will be even more pleased with the upgrades and amenities we plan to implement this year. Again, thank you.

Juan Rivera and Staff
@Atlantic Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I stayed at Atlantic Beach Hotel for the second time because my first visit one year ago was very good.
The hotel has been undergoing some renovations and now it has a restaurant (also serving breakfast), and a new and beautiful bar.

It is within walking distance to stores (including a 24 hours Walgreens), restaurants (of all sorts), snack bars, ice cream parlors, cassino and bus stop.
The staff at the Front Desk is very friendly (Thanks, Carlos and Jacques !)
The room is small but you are there only to take a shower and to sleep.
The air conditioning is a bit cold, but I was aware of that. Not a big deal for me.
The elevator is still the old one but it worked fine all the time. I knew it will be replaced.
Should I go back to San Juan, I will stay there again.

Room Tip: try to get a room far from the Lounge next block as it might be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alohanuiloa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripoutCali, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantic Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Dear Alohanuiloa

It was such a pleasure to have you return again this year to The Atlantic Beach Hotel. When we received your reservation thru our websites reservation system, our staff was excited and pleased to hear of your upcoming return. We also knew you would be very surprised at all of the new changes that have taken place at The Atlantic since your previous visit last year.

We also appreciate your taking the time to mention our beach front location and how convenient our Condado beach location is to so many great stores and restaurants which are within a short walking distance from The Atlantic. On behalf of our entire staff, especially Carlos and Jacques at the front desk we thank you very much for allowing us the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely;
Juan Rivera and Staff
@The Atlantic Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

First like to say great location and clean hotel but there are some down sides especially for women (1) The batroom has no lid on toilet and no where to hang your clothes and no where to put you bathroom stuff such as makeup, hairspray etc. (2) the rooms have no where to put your clothes except a little closet there is no dresser. (3)The elevator is very small and old but it works a little scarey but you can always use the stairs.(4) If you rent a car the parking is AWFUL they maybe have 12 spots you have to give them your key so they can constantly move your car and sometimes they have to move other cars to get yours out and they charge $10.00 a day.(5) Also if you are bothered by the gay life this is NOT the hotel for you wasn't so bothered by that but its not just the people staying there they come from all over to have drinks there so it was packed with about 90% gay men, they don't do anything in public but they pretty much take over the bar didn't like that just anyone can come there it should be for the people paying to stay at the hotel only. The view is gorgeous and the staff is really nice though I did notice you don't get as good of service as the alternative people.(6) Also the rooms have a huge gap under the door and above the door so at night a BRIGHT hall light shines in your room so I blocked it and then the room was soooo hot so bring a eye mask because the room isn't dark.(7) Also there is no A/C control in your room they control the whole hotel not you. The bus stop is just 4 blocks down to go to old san juan and there are tons of places to eat within walking distance, and cheaper places to eat other then at the hotel. The bar area does look great especially with all the lights they added. Over all decent hotel but won't stay again will look for something a little nicer. Oh yea beds are very comfortable though that was a plus

Room Tip: Pay the extra money if you want a decent size room and ocean view with windows that open
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingfools0618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripoutCali, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantic Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
DearTravelingfool

Thank you so very much for your recent review of The Atlantic Beach Hotel. We really appreciate the numerous positive comments mentioned by you, especially about our “GREAT LOCATION”. As you already know our Hotel is one of only three Hotels located directly on the Condado Beach in San Juan, the other two being 5 star properties. We also appreciate your mention of some not so positive issues with the room you occupied. As with any hotel, either large or small there are always ongoing maintenance and upgrades that must be addressed on a regular basis. Fortunately, we have an excellent crew of maintenance engineers on staff who can quickly address, and correct most any issue that may arise, including most of the ones you may have encountered.

In relation to hotel parking, as with most island cities, especially populated ones like San Juan parking spaces can be at premium. Our Hotel is fortunate to have a number of secured parking spaces that we can offer our guest at a rate of $10.00 per day. We do have staff members who are responsible for making sure that guest cars can be moved in and out of the garage as quickly as possible.

Like most successful hotels, The Atlantic has opened its doors to change, and although our Hotel is no longer a strictly gay venue, we celebrate and welcome diversity with a very mixed open minded cliental base which we believe in ture makes our Hotel a very, very special place to visit.

We sincerely appreciate you and your wife giving us the opportunity to meet and serve you, and do hope the positives elements of your stay will allow you to return to The Atlantic Beach Hotel in the near future.

Sincerely;
Juan Rivera and Staff
@Atlantic Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
Sandy Beach Hotel
Sandy Beach Hotel
#37 of 46 in San Juan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#22 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Condado Hotel
Casa Condado Hotel
#33 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#31 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Beach Hotel

Property: Atlantic Beach Hotel
Address: 1 Vendig St. | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience one of San Juan's most popular beach front locations at the Atlantic Beach Hotel on Condado Beach. The Atlantic has become a favorite place for the travel savvy and open minded traveler who enjoys its unpretentious atmosphere and its lively appeal to a wide variety of lifestyles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atlantic Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Beach San Juan
Hotel Atlantic Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing