We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location 10 all the rest Sub Par”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atlantic Beach Hotel
Ranked #45 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
new york
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Location 10 all the rest Sub Par”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Location is ideal to take in the beach and ocean, super close to bars and restaurants and just easy to get around and walkable to Old San Juan if you are fit. Very close major bus route. Staff was unsteady. One guy was kind yet another chased us up the stairs on day 3 to check we were not sneaking in with another group. Bar area and view are just amazing. The staff did not give me a genuine feel. Even though we prepaid they tried to fob us off with a shoebox like a prison cell overlooking an alley at first. Finally they moved us to an adequate room with a fab view but it was awkward: felt like we had to ask for what we should have got in the first place. Elevator is scary. Public areas need good clean. Has tons of potential!! Need stronger management and facilities attention.

Room Tip: Request sea view essential!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissPrissyNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan R, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantic Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear MissPrissyN:

Thank you for taking the time to share some aspects of your recent visit to The Atlantic Beach Hotel. We do appreciate your mention of our incredable oceanfront location which you described as a "10".

Unfortunately, I did not have the opportunity to personally meet your during your stay, but I would like to take a moment of your time to inform you of a major hotel upgrade that will take place in the near future. Our elevator is presently set to be replaced and modernized this summer but in the meantime the present elevator continues to receive normal maintenance at regular intervals and recently passed its annual inspection and certification process. Also due to the great relationship that we have with your travel booking agent, we were able to rectify the error that was made during your reservation process and move you into the proper room that you had requested.

We again would like to Thank you for your past visit to The Atlantic Beach Hotel and do hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the very near future.

Saludos;
Juan Rivera
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    135
    110
    100
    250
See reviews for
62
246
109
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lombard, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2014

we stayed here our first night in san juan because we were trying to save some money, but it was the worst hotel i've ever stayed at. the bathroom smelled moldy and the pillows had dirty shoeprints on them. the elevator was broken and the walls are paper thin, you could hear everything from the hallway and the neighbors. we only stayed here to sleep and still had a bad experience.
otherwise, it's a great location since it's literally ON THE BEACH and is walking distance from some great restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan R, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantic Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Sana H:

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your previous one night stay in San Juan. We do apologize that we did not fulfill all of your needs. I forwared your Tripadvisor review to the persons who are responsible to take the necessary steps to correct any negative issues you have mentioned. Our dedicated staff members have asked that I forward you their deepest regrets and sincerest apologies for your unhappiness.

We do hope that you will give our staff another opportunity in the future to prove to that they are very much committed to making sure all our guest enjoy their stays at The Atlantic Beach Hotel.

Gracias
Juan Rivera
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Québec
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

i was disappointed with this hotel. They renovated it, it could be so nice, they have everything to be nice, such a nice art deco building but it was renovated without paying attention to details, quickly and cutting corners… Room was somewhat clean… dirty windows, stain on the wall… to end on a positive note: location is great in front of the gay beach and the restaurant is nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dommtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan R, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantic Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Mommtl:

We sincerely appreciate your recent stay and review of The Atlantic Beach Hotel. We were thrilled that you enjoyed our Seaview Restaurant and Lounge Bar and its spectacular oceanfront location and menu.

As with any popular hotel we are always looking to improve our existing product and services. So I did share the issues you raised regarding your room for which we are sincerely sorry it did not fully meet your expectations. Our maintenance personal do their very best to keep up with the salt misting on hotel windows which is a constant task especially during the winter months due to the sporadic rain showers and wind that confronts all oceanfront properties in the Caribbean. But they have assured me they will be more diligent with this task. As an informative side note, all of our wonderful beachs in Puerto Rico are public domain including the Condado Beach and are available for use by all persons who wish to sit back, relax and enjoy there unparalleled beauty.

Thank you again and we do hope your next return visit to Puerto Rico will bring you back our way.

Muchos Gracias
Juan Rivera
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

DON'T STAY HERE. It's obviously poorly managed, not secure, the receptionist lied to us AND may have been trying to steal our boards, the rooms were just okay, and NO HOT WATER all for $164 - so overpriced!

When we checked in, the receptionist named Francis, told us we could not bring our surf boards into our room and he said he would lock them up in the conference room of the hotel for us. He claimed that his boss, Nancy, the hotel manager, was the only person with the key. Francis also made us sign quite a few different documents - basically removing the hotel of any possible liability for stolen or lost items. Since the conference room, according to Francis was our only option, we carried our 7 foot boards inside. He insisted on helping us carry them through the corridor to the laundry room and would have smacked one against the wall if we didn't block him from doing so. He placed them precariously leaning against a wall in the hotel's "laundry room" - it wasn't a room at all - it was a hallway through which employees came and went from the outside. Any guest or stranger could wander in there from outside - there was no door to the laundry area and the doors to the hotel were kept wide open all night.

When we asked Francis when his boss, Nancy would arrive to put the boards in the "conference room" he said "he had no idea". This was a big red flag to us that the boards were going to stay there all night, but we waited around the hotel bar - which I admit was nice and right on the beach - but we found that Francis was actually at the front desk less than half the time. That left the hotel open to anyone who wandered in. Our boards were not secure and I had a strong sense that Francis was planning to steal or have a friend steal our boards. So we waited till he got off work and brought them up to the room. They fit perfectly fine through the stairwell, hallway and in the room, there was no real reason why we were not allowed to bring them up. In the morning we brought the boards down early so that Nancy, the manager did not notice, afraid they might try to charge us extra or something. When she checked us out, she had no idea we had boards. If Francis was trying to make sure the boards were safely locked up in the "conference room" or safe somewhere in the hotel, wouldn't you think he would have left a note???

Nancy did not seem too worried about anything we mentioned to her. It turns out there is no conference room in the Atlantic Beach Hotel. We are not picky travelers but the absence of hot water and soap in the hotel was just too much on top of worrying about the security of our $1,000 boards. The hotel's location is the nicest thing about it, but there are plenty of other options like it in the same price range.

Room Tip: The rooms with the ocean view are nice unless you are a light sleeper - they blasted electronic musi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marley Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan R, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantic Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Marley Z:

The management of our Hotel very much regrets that your short layover on you way to Rincon did not meet all of your expectations. During a recent management meeting the topic of your Tripadvisor review was discussed in detail including interviews with the employees who were accused of intentional misconduct.

With all due respect, I would like to assure you that all of our staff members take their positions very seriously and their only intentions are to make sure all guest are porvided the highest level of service, safety and security during their stays at The Atlantic Beach Hotel. In your particular case, our staff members on duty knew and shared the value you place on your kite surfing equipment as they were simply trying to find the best way to securely accommodate such large bulky equipment. My colleagues further stated they had informed you and your companion that even if your equipment had been able to fit through the stairways or into the elevator, the "Puerto Rico Fire Codes" would not allow the hotel to permit guest to store kite surfing equipment, surfboards, bicycles or any other large items in guest rooms or hallways due to the emergency hazards and risk they pose for all of our hotel guest and employees.

In the end, we believe our staff members made the appropiate decision to follow company procedure and fire codes by safely storing your kite surfing equipment in management's designated secure area so it would be available for your retrieval the next morning.

Sincerely;
Juan Rivera
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Rico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights and 4 days at this hotel and I say that it has excellent location if you're interested to visit old san juan and fine restaurants. Also, Atlantic bar/restaurant has a beautiful sea front scenery and happy hour all weekdays. In other hand, I consider that Atlantic needs to improve its service during the night. Because the night we arrived were 3 persons waiting to do check in, but just one employee. Unfortunately, that night the service wasn't the best, but the rest went fine.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fabianna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan R, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantic Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear fabiannapr

We very much appreciate your taking the time to review our Hotel on Tripadvisor. Our entire staff always tries their very best to make sure all of our guest have nothing less than the best possible experience. We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed our weekday Happy Hour which takes place weekdays from 5:00pm to 9:00pm in our Seaview Oceanfront Restaurant and Bar.

On one other note, I want to say that we are sorry that your checkin took a bit longer than normal and we regret any inconvenience this may have caused you. We do look forward to your next visit to The Atlantic Beach Hotel with great anticipation.

Gracias
Juan Rivera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

When in San Juan I highly recommend you visit Atlantic Beach Hotel. The bar has been newly renewed, and its beautiful. They have happy hours, drinks are inexpensive, bartenders are wonderful and the view is spectacular. The menu for tapas is great!! Try it you will enjoy it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan R, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantic Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Annette L

Thank you for taking the time to review on Tripadvisor your recent experience at The Atlantic Beach Hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you continue to enjoy on a regular basis all of the facalities The Atlantic has to offer. It is customeres such as you who appreciat and understand our concept and commitment to providing everyone with an intimate, friendly experience that uniquely embraces the Caribbeans relaxed laid back life style.

Again, Thank you and we look forward to your return.

Gracias
Juan Rivera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

4 night stay. Ocean View Room. Beach front hotel.

PRO's:
-Beach front hotel (& not just a view of the beach, you are literally right on Condado Beach)
-The PRICE (Less than $100 a night)
-The Bar (GREAT atmosphere, incredible happy hour. Only 3.50 for beer and most mixed drinks)
-Breakfast (the best omelette i have ever had & they packed it all up for us so we could eat it right on the beach. it was amazing :)
-The staff (it was a very couple friendly place. The guys at the bar are a lot of fun and insist on you having as much fun as they are ;-) The guys at the front desk were great. They gave great advice on places to eat & helped us book our tours. They made the stay seem truly seamless)
-The bed (Very comfortable with fresh white linens)
-The room (In general, it was pretty bare-bones. Simple. Not much to it but it was clean with nice tile throughout. The ocean view room is the way to go. You hear the ocean all day & night and the view is breathtaking.)
-The beach (it does not close at a certain time. I spend almost every night swimming under the stars. One of the highlights of the trip <3)
CON's:
-Parking (Valet only & slightly confusing. You pretty much park in front of the hotel and go to the front desk to hand over your keys and have them park it in a small garage. They make it work, but you may or may not be blocking traffic. and you may or may not have to wait for them to move a bunch of cars to get your's out. Not a huge deal.)
-Front desk (They are a bit understaffed so you may have to wait a while to get the guys attention if they get busy during check-in)
-Beach Towel charge (i will say this is a bit ridiculous. $10 deposit per towel. When you return the towel you get the money back. I would suggest bringing or buying your own.)
-Bar (No food on Wed. Kinda weird but i guess everybody needs a day off. Unfortunately for me, my birthday landed on a wed, so birthday breakfast went out the window :-/ The food is really over-price for what you are getting. I would say go somewhere else for everything except breakfast & drinks, of course ;)
-The elevator of doom (seriously, don't do it. Just carry your bags to your room. better safe then sorry)
-Noisy Mornings ( if you think you will sleep in on this trip, I'm sorry to tell you, its not gonna happen. The housekeepers talk like they are in a busy mall or something. Laughing & Yelling to each other from room to room. starting at like 8am. Its horrible.)
-Privacy (USE THE CHAIN LOCK ON THE DOOR! Even if you have the do not disturb sign on the door, they will still try to come in your room if they have something to do, Maintenance issues, cleaning, etc. :-/
-Wifi (only in lobby/bar area & it does go in and out. I know, i am such an Amercian. Get off the damn phone & computer and experience the scene. YOU ARE IN PUERTO RICO!! lol!)

All in all this place was great. Not a 5-star or even 4-star but it is an amazing location with alot of character. Privately own, so it has that romantic boutique hotel feel. I would DEFINITELY stay there again.

***Please keep in mind that this is a LGTB friendly hotel. So if that sort of thing makes you uncomfortable, you should stay somewhere else. Otherwise, its a fun atmosphere to be around :)*****

Room Tip: Ocean View is well worth the extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMV2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
Sandy Beach Hotel
Sandy Beach Hotel
#37 of 47 in San Juan
318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#31 of 47 in San Juan
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Condado Hotel
Casa Condado Hotel
#33 of 47 in San Juan
292 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#22 of 47 in San Juan
341 reviews
3.9 mi away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#30 of 47 in San Juan
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Beach Hotel

Property: Atlantic Beach Hotel
Address: 1 Vendig St. | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience one of San Juan's most popular beach front locations at the Atlantic Beach Hotel on Condado Beach. The Atlantic has become a favorite place for the travel savvy and open minded traveler who enjoys its unpretentious atmosphere and its lively appeal to a wide variety of lifestyles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atlantic Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Beach San Juan
Hotel Atlantic Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing