We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
119 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel. Pros - good location, 3 minute walk to a public beach, free and good breakfast, internet. Cons - concierge gave us bad information, doors slam all night and wake you up, pool is small and jacuzzi looks nasty.

The first night we stayed was a weekend night and the process for getting food and a seat at breakfast was hard because there were about 50-60 people in a room made for about 15 people. The second night we stayed we had no problem at all with a crowded breakfast room.

Tip if you want a car - We wanted to rent a car for most of the trip but didn't want to pay for parking. So we took a taxi from the airport to this hotel and then walked <2 minutes to the nearby Avis rental place. This worked out great!

Yes, I would stay here again, but not for a whole week. The chair and umbrella rentals at the beach cost $5/chair and $10/umbrella for the whole day. And taxis to Old Town cost $15. The bus doesn't run on Sundays (even if the lady at the concierge desk tells you they do).

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank scarter9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear scarter9,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is wonderful to know you appreciate our convenient location. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs and expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with the service you received and noise. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I sincerely hope you stay with us again in the future so we can show you just how exceptional we can be.

Thank you again for your review and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    203
    118
    20
    13
See reviews for
152
143
19
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My family and I stayed in this hotel for only one night and I was happy with our choice. The room was clean, AC worked well and breakfast was adequate. It fit our needs. Other hotels in this area were overpriced. We didn't use the pool but it looked inviting. The bed was comfortable. My only complaint is that there is no lock on the restroom door. Overall, this is a great choice especially if you need a clean room on a budget. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Remember that parking is extra and beside room price, you will have to pay "resort fees" f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weluvtrvln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alev T, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Weluvtrvln,

Thank you very much for sharing your review with us. I'm very happy to hear that you felt our hotel met your expectations especially for cleanliness and for your budget. Thank you again and we will look forward to having you with us again in the future.
Sincerely,

A. Tabak
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ny
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I Really didn't read all the reviews but had i read them i would not have choosen this location. I have stayed in many Holiday inn's & this by far was a thumbs down. Room smelled ,water leak, door off hinge, no ice at ice station. bell man was very persistant with taking our bags & still took them after we told him no. There were no towels for pool ,jacuzzi wasn't filled nor hot. Pool is quit small. It's Near a lagoon which is considered by the locals as contaminated & spills into the local bathing area where people swim in by the bridge.The actual "beach "is of walking distance but there are signs posted danger no swimming. On the plus side The food is as always the same, good. Male Front desk manager was as helpful and apologetic as he could be, i was very disappointed & definately would not make a revisit to this location.
The area around is nice to walk in & shop but if you're looking for a nice beach location, scenery for pics etc this isn't the location for u or you're just going to have to take a cab or a bus to do it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bellasli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alev T, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Bellasli,

We are so sorry to hear about the inconveniences that occurred during your stay with us. I can assure you that these are not the standards in our hotel. Your comments are well noted while we are looking into it. It is our main goal to go above and beyond to make sure that we reach to the best and improve in all areas. I hope that next time you visit Puerto Rico you consider staying with us and give us the opportunity to better serve you. Please contact me for any reservation arrangements directly at alevholidayinnexpsales@gmail.com.
Sincerely,

Alev Tabak
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Nice size room in beautiful part of town. Horrible service. No wifi in the room. When i told the fron desk it wasnt working, she said it might be "broken"on that floor. Closet door was off the slider, i asked front desk to have it put back,still did not happen. My bathroom also had a weird water leak that kept wetting the floor.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JWT007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alev T, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear JWT007,

We are so sorry to hear that you have experienced difficulties during your stay with us. We have informed our staff about the issues and we will try to improve the areas that we lack the best service. Again please accept our apologies and and hope you give us another chance and please do not hesitate to contact with us directly in the future.
Sincerely,

Ray Velazquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We kept our expectations low, and were delighted they were surpassed. Lovely staff, good spacious room with fridge, excellent free breakfast, 3 minutes walk from beach, very comfortable. Had heard mixed reviews but would stay there again.

Only downside is that the public bus into old San Juan is unreliable, but we knew this. Taxi is $15, and - whilst to stay in the old town might be lovely, rooms might be more cramped, and streets probably v noisy with music all night. Our hotel was in a side street so not noisy. Wifi did not work on top floor but not a big deal to walk down a floor; there are 2 public computers in the lobby, which can print.

Room Tip: Higher floor with sea view (sideways) was perfect, except wifi only came one floor less but they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alev T, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Jacqueline1954,
Thank you very much for your review. I'm glad to hear that you have had enjoyed your stay with us. Currently we are in the process of improving the Wi-Fi service and I would like to apologize for the inconvenience.
Hope to see you again with us in the future.
Sincerely,

Alev Tabak
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

As far as hotels go this Holiday Inn Express was great. The staff, room (although small), breakfast and ammenties were all that we expected. Right down the street was the waterfront which was a very relaxing place to walk in the cool of the evening. Our biggest frustration with this place was that there was no on-site parking! We had to pay $15.00 every day at the garage across the street. Parking in San Juan is at a premium but when you think you are getting a reasonable price for a room, think again and add an extra $15.00 a day to your expenses for parking!

Room Tip: We were on the 7th (top) floor. From there we had an ocean view, although it was down the street. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLH10120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alev T, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear DLH10120,

I would like to thank you for your review with us. We understand our prime location in Condado makes the parking at a premium fee like any other location in San Juan. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and will look forward to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards,

Alev Tabak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Location - one block from the beach and a park where there is live music on Sundays. Also, close to Avenida Ashford, which has tons of restaurants and also leads to Old San Juan. This is a safe walk and an excellent way to see the city and walk to the Castillo de San Cristobal (an incredible fort with great views) and the center of the old city. Staff - very helpful w/ directions (like anywhere some people are more helpful/friendly than others), questions and requests. We had two rooms - one was a little tight for 4 teenagers, but decent. Ours was a king size corner room w/ awesome views, very clean and very comfortable. No complaints at all. Definitely recommend

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alev T, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear StephenBee,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you found convenient location wise. I will share your positive comments with our staff and we hope to have you with us again.
Sincerely,

Alev Tabak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
0.0 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#22 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#31 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
#17 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coral Princess Hotel
Coral Princess Hotel
#13 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#11 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado
Address: 1 Calle Mariano Ramirez Bages | Bages Condado, San Juan 00907-1687, Puerto Rico (Formerly San Juan Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado features an excellent location in the exclusive Condado area. Enjoy our recently updated Wi-Fi Internet for fast and speedy connection. Its beauty and splendor overlook Condado Lagoon. Within walking distance, you will enjoy first class shopping, with all major jewelery stores, souvenirs and fashion designer boutiques at hand. Visit the beautiful Condado Beach within walking distance to the hotel. And when the night falls, casinos and exciting nightlife are the name of the game. Take advantage of our free deluxe continental breakfast, 24 hour complimentary coffee & tea in lobby, outdoor pool, fitness room or business centre. With highly trained and qualified personnel which guarantees all necessary arrangements for groups, conventions, social activities and business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Hotel San Juan
Holiday Inn San Juan
San Juan Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing