We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stay away....i'm serious” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Milano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Milano
Ranked #34 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
long island
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“stay away....i'm serious”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

based on trip advisor reviews, i booked two nights at the hotel milano.
the first room did not have a window.....very much like a cell. i stood in one spot, unable to
move because of the heat (AC barely functioned), the staleness, the general feeling of
"get me out of this room asap". they showed us a second room....the only improvement was the window. the young man at the desk was rude to the point of referring to my husband as a gringo to his boss on the phone....and not in an affectionate way.
i don't care what the other reviewers say....there is no reason to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foxeym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    341
    153
    74
    64
See reviews for
134
411
37
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

This place is more like what you'd expext at a road side motel. The first room they put us in smelled of heavy mold, so we asked to move to another room. no problem but we had to pay for an upgrade. The A/C didn't work very well and the carpet was dirty but we were to tired to move again. I also had fire safety concerns, there is only one stair from the top dowm and it is open to each floor. that means if any floor has a fire then ever floor and the stairs above that would likely be smoke filled. That aragment wouldnt fly in the USA. of the four staf members we dealt with only one was pleasent to deal with the rest seemed like we were a bother.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tugdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juansan, Owner at Hotel Milano, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Dear lady, we dont understand why you sound so angry, when you expressed your dislike over your room, we gave you an upgrade at no extra cost, once there you started to complain right away about the a/c ( it takes about 10 minutes to start to cool specially in our hot weather) finally when you decided to go we refounded your money without delay, overall we felt you had planned to go somewhere else beforehand. Your words about our stairs and fire hazard concerns are tribial and without any ground, we are anually inspected and cartified by the Fire Department and the Tourism State Company, those concerns have no merit whatsoever and your tone is somehow inflamatory and distasteful, we dont understand why, anyway we wish you the best, the Milano staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Hotel Milano is perfectly located in Old San Juan, walk to the forts, right in the middle of the shopping, lots of restaurants near by and we didn't even need ataxi to go to our cruise ship, we just wheeled our bags to the pier.
The staff is extreamly friendly, if you don't get along with them there is something wrong with you. Very helpful too.
Price is great , we stayed there 5 nights no problems.
We highly recommend it, if you are into luxury then pay up and stay at one of the expensive big name hotels. But if you just need a clean, air conditioned bed and bath then this place is perfect.

Room Tip: Beds are smallish for two people but doable, great shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank colkett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

Hotel Milano is situated in an ideal spot for tourists wanting to explore Old San Juan. It is really right in the middle of all the action. Otherwise it is an average hotel. Staff wasn't particularly friendly, rooms were just OK. But I would stay there again just for the great location.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rebekah_Carter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

The hotel is in a good location for staying in and exploring the old town of San Juan without a car. We stayed for two nights before a cruise and were allocated a room on the side of the hotel. I was dismayed when I opened the door to the room - the immediate impression was of a prison cell. No view - just 4 very small windows near the ceiling to let light in - photo attached. However, the hotel and room was clean and quiet and staff friendly. Breakfast was an additional cost and was very basic.
Would I stay here again? Possibly - but I would be more careful on the room being booked.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuartFromKirkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
124 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Read quite a few reviews before booking for one night before our cruise. I would agree with most of the reviews. Rooms were very musty smelling, the other people we traveled with were not happy with the rooms. A/C units very loud and leaked condensation everywhere. Hotel location is excellent if you don't mind a little noise, a few loud clubs a few doors down. Hotel is very helpful about storing luggage.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhoenixPhoenician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Station, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Hotel Milano with a cruise between and it was WONDERFUL! The staff was great, the rooms very clean, location perfect, and atmosphere fantastic! It isn't your "high $" type of hotel - clean, comfortable, & CHARMING!!

Room Tip: The front rooms have the best views however the back rooms are really quiet although noise was not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berly58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
0.1 mi away
S.J. Suites
S.J. Suites
#42 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cervantes
Cervantes
#23 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#27 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.2 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#9 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.0 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#8 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milano

Property: Hotel Milano
Address: Calle Fortaleza 307 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Milano 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, nice hotel centrally located within walking distance of Old San Juan's many tourist attractions and the cruise harbor. Visit El Morro, San Cristobal, Museums, Art Galleries or shop at Calle Cristo and Calle Fortaleza where you will find many designer outlet centers and fine jewelry stores. Breakfast is offered in the hotel's penthouse terrace with a view of San Juan roof tops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Hotel San Juan
Hotel Milano San Juan Puerto Rico
Milano San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing