We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so nice hotel, but Great location!”
Review of Hotel Milano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Milano
Ranked #35 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Temecula, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not so nice hotel, but Great location!”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Before booking a hotel in Old San Juan, I did a lot of research. We were leaving San Juan on a cruise on Sunday and needed a cheap place to stay Saturday night. Many people gave great reviews of this hotel. The only reason I am giving it 3 stars is because of the location, otherwise it would only be 2 stars. I knew while booking it, it wasn't going to be the best hotel...but the price and the fact that it was within walking distance caught my husband and I's eye. It wasn't the worst hotel I have stayed in, but pretty bad. The rooms were not nice at all and our room had windows on the top of the room, so I had to stand on a chair to even get a look out of our window! But, it was an okay stay for ONLY one night. The location was great, in the middle of Old San Juan. We could walk everywhere from this location. There were also many restaurants around this hotel. And it was great because we walked to the cruise port with all of our luggage very easily! Many people say it is impossible, but we had 2 rolling suitcases and it saved us money on another taxi ride (since that is all we did in all the other cruiseports)! We walked to the cruise port on Saturday to find the easiest way to get down there with our suitcases and worked out just fine.

If I were vacationing in Old San Juan (which I don't think I ever would, wasn't the biggest fan!), I would definitely not stay here. I would pay a little extra money to stay at the Sheraton, or somewhere in Condado on the beach. But, for a place to stay a night before and/or after the cruise, it is okay if you are a little more easy-going.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sumsuuum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    347
    160
    74
    68
See reviews for
138
424
40
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We just stayed at this little quaint hotel. Although this is in an area considered "unsafe at night" by some, we found it just right if you're looking for something other than your usual commercial hotels. It was clean, offered the necessities, and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. It's conveniently located in the Old Town area - a very interesting area by day. Although I'd be cautious at night, the same is true for most large metro American cities. Even though the breakfast is somewhat sparse in variety, it's inexpensive and conveniently located in the hotel.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a deluxe room facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cybergrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brattleboro, Vermont, USA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We were the only guests in the hotel. It was definitely low season. We had a great time wandering around the old city. Nice restaurants too.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ckierstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long island
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

based on trip advisor reviews, i booked two nights at the hotel milano.
the first room did not have a window.....very much like a cell. i stood in one spot, unable to
move because of the heat (AC barely functioned), the staleness, the general feeling of
"get me out of this room asap". they showed us a second room....the only improvement was the window. the young man at the desk was rude to the point of referring to my husband as a gringo to his boss on the phone....and not in an affectionate way.
i don't care what the other reviewers say....there is no reason to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foxeym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

This place is more like what you'd expext at a road side motel. The first room they put us in smelled of heavy mold, so we asked to move to another room. no problem but we had to pay for an upgrade. The A/C didn't work very well and the carpet was dirty but we were to tired to move again. I also had fire safety concerns, there is only one stair from the top dowm and it is open to each floor. that means if any floor has a fire then ever floor and the stairs above that would likely be smoke filled. That aragment wouldnt fly in the USA. of the four staf members we dealt with only one was pleasent to deal with the rest seemed like we were a bother.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tugdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juansan, Owner at Hotel Milano, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Dear lady, we dont understand why you sound so angry, when you expressed your dislike over your room, we gave you an upgrade at no extra cost, once there you started to complain right away about the a/c ( it takes about 10 minutes to start to cool specially in our hot weather) finally when you decided to go we refounded your money without delay, overall we felt you had planned to go somewhere else beforehand. Your words about our stairs and fire hazard concerns are tribial and without any ground, we are anually inspected and cartified by the Fire Department and the Tourism State Company, those concerns have no merit whatsoever and your tone is somehow inflamatory and distasteful, we dont understand why, anyway we wish you the best, the Milano staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Virginia, USA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Hotel Milano is perfectly located in Old San Juan, walk to the forts, right in the middle of the shopping, lots of restaurants near by and we didn't even need ataxi to go to our cruise ship, we just wheeled our bags to the pier.
The staff is extreamly friendly, if you don't get along with them there is something wrong with you. Very helpful too.
Price is great , we stayed there 5 nights no problems.
We highly recommend it, if you are into luxury then pay up and stay at one of the expensive big name hotels. But if you just need a clean, air conditioned bed and bath then this place is perfect.

Room Tip: Beds are smallish for two people but doable, great shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank colkett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Hotel Milano is situated in an ideal spot for tourists wanting to explore Old San Juan. It is really right in the middle of all the action. Otherwise it is an average hotel. Staff wasn't particularly friendly, rooms were just OK. But I would stay there again just for the great location.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebekah_Carter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
0.1 mi away
S.J. Suites
S.J. Suites
#42 of 47 in San Juan
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cervantes
Cervantes
#24 of 47 in San Juan
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#27 of 47 in San Juan
600 reviews
0.2 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
222 reviews
2.6 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#22 of 47 in San Juan
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milano

Property: Hotel Milano
Address: Calle Fortaleza 307 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Milano 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, nice hotel centrally located within walking distance of Old San Juan's many tourist attractions and the cruise harbor. Visit El Morro, San Cristobal, Museums, Art Galleries or shop at Calle Cristo and Calle Fortaleza where you will find many designer outlet centers and fine jewelry stores. Breakfast is offered in the hotel's penthouse terrace with a view of San Juan roof tops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Hotel San Juan
Hotel Milano San Juan Puerto Rico
Milano San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing