We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay in hotel Milano started even before we left our home.”
Review of Hotel Milano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Milano
Ranked #35 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Our stay in hotel Milano started even before we left our home.”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

On Trip Advisor somebody mentioned rooms with no windows, this worried me, I got a fast reply to my e-mail. Everybody was so pleasant, we really felt like family. The shower was the easiest to control temperature and water flow. There is a small library on the 4th floor.

Gotta say a few words about the elevator that scared us at the beginning. First time we walked in, the door closed, pressed 4, the button did not lit. We did not feel any movement, no indicators, no idea what’s going on. Are we locked in, should we knock on the door and cry for help? The door opened on the 4th floor. This is how the elevator works.

Went to the rooftop breakfast of course, taking the stairs from 4th floor. The main impression: very clean. No coffee spills, no crumbs on the floor, all get cleaned up immediately. The outside terrace was too windy; we ate inside, only stepped outside for photos. Not much of a view, mostly rooftops. Limited but filling breakfast well worth the price.

Room Tip: There is a free trolley, and if you are using the Internet map, it seems, even stop numbers are for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImaMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    347
    160
    74
    68
See reviews for
138
424
40
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We stayed here before and after cruise on January 5,2013. While the hotel is small, it is in the perfect location--walking distance to everywhere even El Morro. The rooms are very small with tiny windows (ceiling level), but it was clean and comfortable. The management was very courteous and helpful during our stay. The continental breakfast is just that. I would recommend going elsewhere if you have time. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtgar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Stayed with my wife and daughter, didn't know what to expect since it was my first time to Puerto Rico but everything was extraordinary. Old San Juan is so beautiful and rich in history, and in the middle of it all was the hotel, very centrally located. The staff was welcoming, very convenient breakfast served in the top floor, rooms were clean, air conditioning was good. I definately feel I got more bang for my buck. Daughter and wife, loved our stay as well!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

This was a decent hotel in the middle of old san juan which gives it the best attraction of this place. the beds were clean and made daily and a/c worked very well. There wasnt much of a view from the room, just some walls and an a/c unit and only a few channels on the tv but we didnt spend much time in our room, just relaxing in the late evenings before bed. its right in the middle of a great street and many resturants around.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Mount, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Hotel was adequate, but room was dated and small. The worst part was that we had a street-side room, and band music blared loudly until 2:00 a.m., after which people filled the street shouting and partying. Also, cars proceeded by with extremely loud thumping music until after 4:00 a.m.! If you want some sleep, choose another hotel. This happened on a Saturday night, and the following night (Sunday) was not as noisy. We did feel safe in this hotel and in Old San Juan, though there were some sketchy characters. Quite a police presence though. Also, beward of booking at "hotels.com" as the 7% service fee is not included in the total price and was in extremely fine print. Surprise!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juansan, Owner at Hotel Milano, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the SOFO Festival that is why there was so much music and happiness on the Old San Juan' streets, that festival happens three times a year and attract a lot of people, anyway thank you for reviewing us, have a great new year, Juan..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseau, Dominica
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

I am sure had our flight circumstances been different our stay would have been much nicer. However, it seemed everything was fighting against us.

1. We flew in New Year's Eve. Busy holiday but we booked early, so we figured we would be fine. NOT! Th street leading to the Hotel was closed so we had to walk two blocks with our heavy suitcases. Not too bad because we are young, but the hotel should post a warning somewhere that this happens every year! Had my disabled mother been with us I don't know how we would have gotten there.

2. Our flight was a late night one. So we arrived at the hotel around 10ish, but like I said we booked months in advanced for a romantic night in Old San Juan. We were given out key room and we took the lovely elevator up.

3. We were given an OCCUPIED room. Much to our surprise when we opened the door the room was taken. Thankfully no one was in there, but they stuff was. ALL OF IT! It was a major safety hazard. I could not believe that their room booking was so out of order they did not know the room was already occupied. I almost wanted to leave because the same thing could happen to us. Afterwards it took nearly an hour to get a new room.

First they gave us a room that had Leaky AC so they called us and said they had another room. We switched rooms, for the third time, and found ourselves in something that looked like it belonged off an American highway that would be worth about $50 a night, tops

We did not receive any discount, just free breakfast in the morning totaling about $11 US. For the price this was a terrible experience! We will go to San Juan again but we will never visit this hotel again. Nor will we recommend it!

As side note some of the service people were not helpful and communication between the staff was non existent we had to explain out situation to multiple people with little sympathy.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juansan, Owner at Hotel Milano, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Sorry to hear all that happened to you, we try hard to have the best service but under certain circumstances that is not always the case, we will keep trying hard and we are pretty sure our future guests as the vast majority that we already have had will enjoy our hospitality and the best guarantee is the more than 500 positive reviews we have in this site, wish you the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vauxhall nj
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I Reserved this room for my husnband & i at 1st. Than called back 3 moths later to request 2 beds in the room, therefore My cosuin coul dsty the night also before a cruise. When we arrived and went to the room I almost passed out, it was 1 bed and so old & outdated. We went back downstairs to discuss this and was told they were sold out of rooms with 2 beds.....(okay what happend to what i reserved and called about to change).....Not wanting to go crazy(we had just buried my husband mom day before arrving...cruise had been booked for 7 months so we really needed to get away at this time) I booked and paid for another room for My cousin & her husband(we had not planned on being in the room as it was all of our 1st time in PR. Okay 1st rpoblem solved. Than our ac would not get cold at all, was told there were no more rooms, than the tv kept getting louyd by itself and there were no remote for it. FINALLY, they move me toanother room LOL a room with 2 beds(THOUGHT YOU WERE SOLD OUT!!!!!!) So I paid $300 for 2 hotboxes, they just wanted my money. We were only here for 1 night prior to cruise, but it was within walking distance to cruise that was the best part of this hotel, they should only charge $60 a night

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank limolady714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
0.1 mi away
S.J. Suites
S.J. Suites
#42 of 47 in San Juan
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cervantes
Cervantes
#24 of 47 in San Juan
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#27 of 47 in San Juan
601 reviews
0.2 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
223 reviews
2.6 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#22 of 47 in San Juan
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milano

Property: Hotel Milano
Address: Calle Fortaleza 307 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Milano 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, nice hotel centrally located within walking distance of Old San Juan's many tourist attractions and the cruise harbor. Visit El Morro, San Cristobal, Museums, Art Galleries or shop at Calle Cristo and Calle Fortaleza where you will find many designer outlet centers and fine jewelry stores. Breakfast is offered in the hotel's penthouse terrace with a view of San Juan roof tops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Hotel San Juan
Hotel Milano San Juan Puerto Rico
Milano San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing