We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel in Old San Juan--Hands Down!”
Review of Hotel Milano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Milano
Ranked #34 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed 3 September 2013

For seven years, I have been staying in Old San Juan. After testing out almost every hotel, I have stayed exclusively at the Hotel Milano the past 6 years or so. It is EXCELLENT, especially for such a great price. In fact, due to my work, I have brought dozens of guests to join me in Puerto Rico, and all of them have stayed at the Hotel Milano. In every case, they too, have had an excellent experience.

The rooms are clean, and include a refrigerator, microwave, TV with cable channels, and cold air conditioning. There is free wi-fi on every floor, and a rooftop breakfast each morning. Additionally, the staff is professional, friendly, and always willing to accommodate. In fact, Juan, the owner, and his crew have always gone out of their way to ensure special needs are met for me and my groups. It is clear that they have one goal in mind--doing everything possible to make you happy, no matter how unusual your requests may be!

The central location of Milano is absolutely perfect to quickly reach any part of Old San Juan on foot. And, if you're a late-nighter like me, you'll love having numerous bars next door, and Pizza Rustica serving delicious food till midnight or 2am (depending on the day of the week).

Milano is the best value in Old San Juan. Even all the locals know--when you visit Old San Juan, Milano is THE place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shadowboxent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (936)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 936 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013

I understand that I checked into a 2 star hotel but I was still surprised by the room we were given. The hotel had a low occupancy at the time and there was only one other couple on our floor but we were still given what I would assume is the worst room in the house. The room was roughly 10'x8' and most of the space was taken up by the full sized bed. To top it off, the room didn't have any windows so it felt like sleeping in a closet. The bathroom was small as well with a single corner shower stall. The room also doesn't have room to put your luggage so we put them in the small bistro table only to find all of our clothes soaking wet the next morning due to the dripping AC unit. Look at all the other user pictures because you could end up in this closet as well!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juansan, Owner at Hotel Milano, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear guest, we appreciate your words and we just like to let you know that the room you choosed to reserve is small but also very economic and those are the fastest to go, and nobody ever complained about its size ( it is small but no as a closet for sure) because the price, again we appreciate you took your time to review us, thank you, Juan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The lobby had no air conditioning and was very humid my glasses would steam when leaving the room the room air was too cold and not adjustable we would have to wake periodically to turn off and on.
Only 4 channels worth watching
Tbs, weather, world news, and something like discovery played gold rush constantly which I liked but too much.
Elevator clunked and seemed scary
The drain stop didn't function so was unable to fill tub for a bath

Now the good:
They room was clean the staff are friendly and accommodating the lobby had museum like furniture and decor and best part was the location 4 blocks to anywhere downtown
I gambled with Hotwire and won the mystery hotel rate of 70 $ a night but would never pay the full price if 134 $ to 174 $ with all those mechanical defects
In spite of the maladies I liked this hotel very much
Just wanted to let you in on what to expect... : )

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbalouey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My family only stayed 1 night here as we were leaving out on a cruise. The staff was tremendous, offering advice on what to do and the best way to get there. Extremely friendly and helpful. Special kudos to the gentleman setting up the breakfast buffet. Only negatives we can find are low water pressure (on the top floor) and our taxi driver drove past it. We will definitely come back to San Juan and will DEFINITELY make this hotel our first choice.

Room Tip: 4th floor is the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BAN89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

First time to Old San Juan. The location is very good however the noise level is not. We stayed for one night prior to our cruise and there was a wedding party that pretty much took over the floor we were on. Say no more, (very noisy) which is to be expected. Also the street music on saturday night might as well of been playing in our room. If you want a good sleep this is not the place to stay. Did not find the front desk people very friendly. The rooms are very average. But like most people we aren't there for the room other than a good sleep. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gardengirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This was the third time I've been to Puerto Rico but only the second time I stayed at the Hotel Milano. The first time I visited, I stayed at one of the fancier (and more expensive) hotels in Old San Juan but have since abandoned them. With all the things to see there's no need to spend the extra money for amenities you wont enjoy in a hotel room you wont be in. Hotel Milano is great value.

Room Tip: Don't get a room without a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Awesome location...can walk to everything in Old San Juan. Our room was okay. The shower was kind of dirty. When I opened the door I got black stuff all over my hands. The bed was uncomfortable. We were only in the room to sleep, so we didn't mind it as much. No bugs and the common areas were clean.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank liz h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
2.6 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#21 of 47 in San Juan
345 reviews
0.0 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#29 of 47 in San Juan
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#20 of 47 in San Juan
823 reviews
2.8 mi away
Coral Princess Hotel
Coral Princess Hotel
#14 of 47 in San Juan
940 reviews
5.8 mi away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#30 of 47 in San Juan
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milano

Address: Calle Fortaleza 307 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Juan
#10 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: £53 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Milano 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, nice hotel centrally located within walking distance of Old San Juan's many tourist attractions and the cruise harbor. Visit El Morro, San Cristobal, Museums, Art Galleries or shop at Calle Cristo and Calle Fortaleza where you will find many designer outlet centers and fine jewelry stores. Breakfast is offered in the hotel's penthouse terrace with a view of San Juan roof tops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Hotel San Juan
Hotel Milano San Juan Puerto Rico
Milano San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing