We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The real "Old San Juan"”
Review of Hotel Milano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Milano
Ranked #34 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Nantucket
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The real "Old San Juan"”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Hotel Milano was recommended by a friend. We were stranded in PR for a week as a result of the Hercules winter storm. The hotel and its owner and accommodating staff met our needs perfectly. Breakfast with Jose on the roofdeck was a great way to start the day. The location could not be more central or convenient. Luis at the front desk was most helpful. This hotel has character, feels European, thankfully has none of the sterility of chain hotels. We loved it and recommend it as a great base for seeing Old San Juan. Many thanks Juan!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingTribe09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    343
    157
    74
    68
See reviews for
138
421
39
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
171 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

think I'm just repeating what everyone else is saying but you're basically paying for the location and nothing else. The location is great. The hotel not so much.

Staff - the front desk guy was nice.

Bags - we left our stuff there for the day after we checked out and it was so ghetto- they left all the bags in the lobby because they have no back room and just tied it up with a chain.

Rooms - so weird they use an old school key to get onto the floor your room is on and into the room. The door to the floor squeaked loudly and was right outside our room. Very annoying. The room itself was like something from the 1960s (maybe the tv was from the 80s). The whole thing looked a little drabby and there was no window. They had a weird book everywhere that they were trying to get you to read. I didnt open it but it looked like a cult they wanted you to join. Very cheep soap and shampoo in the bathroom and the bathroom looked like a hostel bathroom.

I paid the same price for a four star hotel in Washington DC a few weeks ago so I definitely feel that this place is overpriced and really ghetto. Just know that you are only paying for the location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank rachelia18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juansan, Owner at Hotel Milano, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Just received a teller from you about fraudulent activity just like to let you know our guests occasionally use our officce computers when it is needed and we have no control of what or to whom they write, so don't know to what " activity " you are referring to so I reject your advise, thanks, Juan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camuy, Puerto Rico
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The hotel is very clean and has a GREAT location, you will always find it in the maze that is Old San Juan. I recommend a short stay, if you need space they have a great little roof terrace where you can enjoy a nice view.

Room Tip: All the rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nvgnvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Clean, great location but the price reflects the location and not the hotel. It's dated. Like most reviews, ask for a room at the back and NOT facing the street. I made that mistake and yes, it was VERY noisy.
Breakfast is very simple. Extra charge of 5 dollars.
In my room (209), the AC was stuck on "high" mode. The remotes are kept at the front desk. I asked for one and was assured that the room attendant would adjust it. She did not. I asked a different front desk attendant and he gave me the remote. Because the AC is wired to the main switch in the room, you can't adjust the speed, just the temperature therefore, the AC is VERY noisy.

Room Tip: Room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ytarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night before and after our cruise. Like the other reviews say, the rooms are very basic and small, but they are clean and the location makes up for it. The hotel is right in the heart of Old San Juan so we could walk to every attraction quite easily. We even walked as far as Condado Beach - just be careful where you walk as there are definitely some sketchy parts of town (outside of Old San Juan) where I was warned not to go.

Hotel Milano staff are very friendly and they have lots of info at the front desk on things to see and do.

Breakfast is OK - not too much selection but at $5.25/ person, the price is right.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaurenAsh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hotel was booked primarily on location. It is situated in the heart of Old San Juan which is perfect for walking around and exploring. However, that being said, there is not much else to rate as "good" about this hotel.

PRO'S

-good location
-reasonably clean
-price was reasonable for the location
-good for 1 night pre or post cruise

CON'S

-a/c only has 1 speed and is NOT adjustable, kept us up all night with the noise!
-rooms at the front of the hotel, very very noisy, get a back room
-staff at reception, not overly friendly or helpful, just basic politeness and nothing else
-breakfast was meagre, cereal, pastries, juice,fruit, very limited but if you want basic, then it's fine
-beds not that comfortable if you move around a lot, if you don't move, then they're fine

Over all I would say this hotel is "okay" for what you pay. Would I stay here again? Only if it was for one night, but no more than that.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, NOT the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank plavaseka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Very convenient for overnighting before a cruise. Few blocks from the port. Accommodations were a great value, comfortable and clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Walking distance to excellent restaurants and attractions.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JustinDouglas317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
0.1 mi away
Cervantes
Cervantes
#23 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.1 mi away
S.J. Suites
S.J. Suites
#43 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
0.0 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#26 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.0 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#9 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milano

Property: Hotel Milano
Address: Calle Fortaleza 307 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Milano 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, nice hotel centrally located within walking distance of Old San Juan's many tourist attractions and the cruise harbor. Visit El Morro, San Cristobal, Museums, Art Galleries or shop at Calle Cristo and Calle Fortaleza where you will find many designer outlet centers and fine jewelry stores. Breakfast is offered in the hotel's penthouse terrace with a view of San Juan roof tops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Hotel San Juan
Hotel Milano San Juan Puerto Rico
Milano San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing