We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Milano Staff is great!!!”
Review of Hotel Milano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Milano
Ranked #35 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
miami
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hotel Milano Staff is great!!!”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We travel to Old San Juan often. Hotel Milano has a great staff. Very consistent, accommodations are perfect (very clean) and very importan, the hotel owner is always present (very difficult to find).
We always we feel like our second home!
They are in the process of opening a very promising restaurant (local cuisine) on their top terrace. A magnificent view of Old San Juan.
We highly recommend this hotel for those who visit Old San Juan looking for quality, economical with a family atmosphere.
Stayed April 2014

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    347
    159
    74
    68
See reviews for
138
424
39
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Let's talk expectations. This is not a fancy hotel by any stretch of the word but it serves two purposes: Its in Old San Juan and its cheap. The Sheraton is much nicer but, if you're like us, you may find it much more expensive the night before a cruise. From the reviews and pictures we knew the rooms would be tiny with few to no windows. And that is exactly what we got. On the positive side it made our cruise cabin seem bigger.

The rooms are decently clean but not the 'very clean' that I have seen other people claim. There was some dirt on the ill fitting ceiling tiles and the bathroom could certainly use a good grout scrubbing. I've seen worse but I've certainly seen better

The breakfast is sparse but cheap so again its about expectations. Don't expect a lot of food options if you aren't paying a lot. We found it to be sufficient for the price.

The condition of the room was a bit shoddy. Other than the ill fitting ceiling I noticed the outlet covers were quite loose and it was easy to move the entire electrical box around by wiggling a plugged in cord. It seems the original AC, which was still wall mounted, no longer functioned so a wall unit was installed. A bit loud but it did a great job keeping the room cool. The main areas did seem better maintained.

The location was fantastic and we found everything in Old San Juan to be in easy walking distance. This was a great benefit to us. Its also all down hill to the cruise port which is nice when rolling your luggage along

We also found the staff to be very polite and helpful.

The location and price compared to the near by alternatives made this an acceptable choice and I would stay here again. However, if some of their competitors were available at similar price points I would likely stay there instead.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. I really enjoyed my stay in Old San Juan and at Hotel Milano. The staff and owner were available and helpful. The hotel was conveniently located near a public parking garage. I appreciated the open air terrace for a simple breakfast, fresh fruit, and coffee before setting out for a walk about in Old San Juan. When the heat of day built, it was great to head back to Hotel Milano for a quick siesta and shower, then out to enjoy the sunset. Ask the owner about his favorite restaurant for lunch. I felt that the Hotel Milano is a good value and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Pay attention to the rooms you select and what they offer. Note city regulations prohibit buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesSantiago2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The best part of this hotel is breakfast on the roof. Other than that, a room at the Sheraton would probably be better and they are about the same price.

We stayed here because the first hotel we booked was closed when we arrived. Maybe they have better rooms that the one we stayed in, but the overall appearance of the interior of the hotel was a bit shabby and unkempt.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

So far the best hotel I've even stayed while in Old San Juan. If you are looking for a family hotel this is the one. Staff very friendly and respectful. Rooms are clean, mattress is good, bathrooms are clean. Great full continental breakfast with a lot of options of fruits. Location is a plus if you are looking for a place to stay that has tons of entertainment options for you to chose from. The price is very affordable and the hotel owner is always around if you need something.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LillyPzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We love being in Viejo San Juan where we can walk to good restaurants and see a beautiful part of San Juan at our leisure. Hotel Milano again was our choice and we love the convenience, the good beds and quiet rooms. The reasonable breakfast is nice to have available too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caribbeanfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This was the second time my daughter and I have stayed at the Milano, and were very pleased. The staff was courteous, the rooms very clean, the temperature of the room was consistently cool, the beds were comfortable, the room was quiet, and the location can't be beat, being right in the middle of Old San Juan. We will definitely be back!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
0.1 mi away
S.J. Suites
S.J. Suites
#42 of 47 in San Juan
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cervantes
Cervantes
#24 of 47 in San Juan
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
210 reviews
0.0 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#26 of 47 in San Juan
597 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milano

Property: Hotel Milano
Address: Calle Fortaleza 307 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Milano 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, nice hotel centrally located within walking distance of Old San Juan's many tourist attractions and the cruise harbor. Visit El Morro, San Cristobal, Museums, Art Galleries or shop at Calle Cristo and Calle Fortaleza where you will find many designer outlet centers and fine jewelry stores. Breakfast is offered in the hotel's penthouse terrace with a view of San Juan roof tops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Hotel San Juan
Hotel Milano San Juan Puerto Rico
Milano San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing