We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This monument has been abandoned until recently” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fortin de San Geronimo del Boqueron

Fortin de San Geronimo del Boqueron
Ranked #56 of 194 things to do in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This small military museum was a fort that was built in 1786, and attacked by the British eleven years later.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“This monument has been abandoned until recently”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

I work across from the San Geronimo fort. It was abandoned since it was taken over by the Institute of Puerto Rican Culture some years ago. Now there is a restoration Project under way by the federal government.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank SteveMST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    24
    14
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
101 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very interesting piece of history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

I learned alot here about Puerto Rico that I did not know before we visited. Also, the scenery over looking Old San Juan is beautiful.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Daybreak42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Road Town, Tortola
Level Contributor
129 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Landmark less visited”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

Is located at the entrance of the Old City. It is much smaller than El Morro, but it had a lot of strategic defense importance as well. Because of it's size you do not need a lot of time to visit this monument of the past. My suggestion is to visit this one first and then El Morro.

Helpful?
2 Thank HTPWT24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
395 reviews
175 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“History was made”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

Its a very good walk were history was made. everyone should visit the park were not only you can learn history but can also fly a kite, which can be done after the visit.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Maritza G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Closed for Construction”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

I do not know how much longer it will be under construction. We walked from the hotel and it is located among the Hilton Hotel Properties in San Juan. I hope it is completed the next time I come.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Byine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fortin de San Geronimo del Boqueron also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Fortin de San Geronimo del Boqueron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing