We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for solo traveller”
Review of Casa Condado Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Condado Hotel
Ranked #34 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect for solo traveller”
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and the location can't be beat. The beach is just down the street and there are tons of stores and restaurants in the vicinity. Never felt unsafe. Police presence is all around the neighbourhood. The room was tiny, but also very clean and comfortable. The a/c worked well and the tv showed plenty of channels. The room had an electronic safe which was great and included in the total cost. The staff were friendly and helpful; especially the young guy with glasses (I didn't catch his name). I paid $72/ night and found it to be a great value based on the location. Would I stay here again? Absolutely.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ms_karen1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    114
    55
    30
    16
See reviews for
21
149
48
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We checked into this hotel for the first 3 nights and the last 2 nights of our trip. Not much free parking around but there are a few 24 hr lots near by. Don't arrive before the 3:00 pm check in time cause you'll be turned away just as we were both times we tried to check in. Staff was very welcoming overall except for one young girl, who made me feel I was interrupting her studies.

We had room 14 on the second floor. Nothing of a view for any of the rooms but we liked this room due to it having windows on two sides and rebooked it for the last two nights of our visit to Puerto Rico.
The floor below us with rooms 2,4,6,& 8 is where the breakfast is served. You don't want to sleep there if you like to sleep in late.
Rooms 9 -16 is one floor up is much quieter in the morning.
If you feel energetic go for the 3rd floor with rooms 17 to 24 with some of the rooms with views of the city.

The free breakfast is basic. Cereal, bread, bagels, muffins, danish, and croissants. (all grains)
coffee, pineapple juice and orange juice. Basic but enough.

The walk to the beach takes about 2 min, so its perfectly located. Lots of restaurants in the vacinity and a Walgreens 1 min away.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 days and will never be there again neither recommend it to our friends. And the reason is: air conditioning system and windows. The windows are not opening (one and only small window in the bathroom can be opened). And A/C is located very close on the side of the bed - you can't turn it on, because it will blow you away and there is no way to move the bed. And A/C air intake is from INSIDE THE ROOM, which makes air quality even worth. Because of that we did not have a good sleep. The first night we could not slip at all. Yet - they use kind of air refreshing chemicals, which smells really bad. We had door and bathroom window opened for hours to get rid of this. The stuff was very friendly, breakfast was OK. WiFi works only in public area, and there is no elevator.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Juan hotels

Rinconada, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

This is a great hotel if you just need a comfortable place to sleep! We were a block from the bus to Old San Juan, a short walk to the public beach in Condado, and close to lots of good places to eat. The hotel staff are nice and accommodating. As has been stated, there isn't too much extra, but the rooms are comfy and clean. If you have trouble with stairs, this is not the place for you--no elevator. The breakfasts are not great, but if all you need is a bagel and cup of coffee, you'll be ok! We stayed three nights on our way in to PR and one on the way out; it's close to the airport. All in all, if we went back, we'd pick it again.

Room Tip: Room 24 on the fourth floor was roomy. We also stayed in room 18; it was cozy :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan Wilson A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel two nights on the way in and out of puerto Rico. It is very close to casinos and was perfect for the condado culinary festival last weekend which we walked to in 2 minutes.

I booked this hotel for $75 on bookings.com but that didn't include $15 a night in parking. Which is just a short walk from the hotel but there is no place to park while you check in/out or drop bags. Also you have to get a ticket from the hotel or they charge you way more.

The room was fairly clean, I didn't have a problem with the bedroom but the shower was pretty dirty. The "breakfast" is only 2 hours long and it's jut bagels and juice, nothing that will last all day.

Overall I got what I was expecting so it was ok for me, if you're looking for fancy...this isn't the place. We stayed in two different rooms, the one on the second floor, #15 was much bigger.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lwv2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

My husband and I arrived around noon and fortunately our room was ready for early check in. Upon entering the room, the smell of bleach from the bathroom was overwhelming. It deceives you into thinking housekeeping must have scrubbed the place, but when I looked closer there were still strands of hair left from the last person who stayed, and once I ran water over the grout in the shower, dirt and grime came off. The ceiling fan in the room was COVERED in dust. That thing must not have been cleaned in years. Customer service was good, the housekeeping man helped us with our luggage up the stairs, and when we needed something printed out, front desk did that for us. It served its purpose, just a place to lay our heads at night and shower. We were barely in the room, so the negatives didn't bother us much as we were too busy enjoying Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I took my daughter to Puerto Rico to celebrate her 45th birthday. We selected this hotel based on location and cost. The location was excellent. Only a block to the bus stop to take us to Old San Juan. The cost was reasonable for the value received. The room was bare bones: a bed, nightstand and TV. Although I was impressed they supplied a small bottle of shampoo and rinse. The first morning, at 8am, we left to sightsee for the day. We were asked if our room was ready for housekeeping. After saying yes we left. We returned after 6pm to a room that had not been touched. Back to the desk where after explaining the issue, Sarah shrugged her shoulders and did not offer an appology. I had to ask for clean towels. We were only there from Friday to Sunday, during that time our room was never touched by housekeeping. The rest of the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The gentleman on Sunday allowed us to stay one hour past "check out" at no cost as we were running late after spending the morning on the beach. We went to the beach because the hotel does not have a swiming pool. This is something to consider as a cool swim after a long day of sightseeing would have been nice. The value was good at the price paid through Trip Advisor; however, when checking out I noticed a sign on the desk that stated rooms were priced almost double what I paid. Would I have selected this hotel on that new price - absolutely not!

Room Tip: For the "fit" any room would be okey. For those not wanting to climb many stairs, request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbtweety47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#32 of 48 in San Juan
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#22 of 48 in San Juan
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Wave Hotel Condado
The Wave Hotel Condado
#12 of 48 in San Juan
146 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#20 of 48 in San Juan
806 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Princess Hotel
Coral Princess Hotel
#14 of 48 in San Juan
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Condado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Condado Hotel

Property: Casa Condado Hotel
Address: 60 Condado Avenue | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Condado Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Condado Hotel is a recently renovated hostelry in the heart of Condado, with an ambiance of stunning comfort and personal service in mind. Our 24 air conditioned rooms - elegantly decorated with a minimalist style - prove to be the perfect environment for an exciting vacation or a quiet stay on a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Condado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing