We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean, great value”
Review of Casa Condado Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Condado Hotel
Ranked #33 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good location, clean, great value”
Reviewed 16 November 2012

This was a clean and pleasant place to stay, and a great value for the budget-conscious traveler. It really is only a 2 minute walk to the beach, and parking is less than a block away. The breakfast served in the morning was decent. We stayed here our first night in San Juan, so we needed help finding the place and figuring out parking and the staff person was very patient and helpful in directing us where we needed to go. The room is not too much larger than the bed, but this is the Caribbean, so that is what you expect (and all you need) from a non-mega-resort hotel. We paid about $90 per night, a great value in the heart of Condado. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    119
    56
    30
    16
See reviews for
22
152
50
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

My wife and i made a one day stop over in San Juan after our cruise vacation. putting aside the friendliness and helpfulness of the front desk person, it goes down-hill from there.
No elevator, so if you have heavy luggage "fuhgeddaboudit" The a/c is RIGHT next to the bed in room #5 so u can freeze to death or sweat with the mosquito's because you will NEED ventilation. (The only opening window is in the bathroom)
The walls were dusty, the sheets and blanket left much to be desired, thankfully we brought our own blanket.
How in the hell did this place get a four star rating is beyond me, my only problem with that is the false advertising, if you're one notch above a flea bag motel SAY SO!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

I stayed in room 11 from Oct 29 through Nov 3. I expected from prior reviews for the room to be smaller than it was. It was very simply decorated but I found it to be comfortable and roomy since I traveled alone. It would be less comfortable with two, but still probably sufficient. The only view I had from my window was of the building next door, but it was worth it for the low price. I loved the bed and slept extremely well. The free breakfast was fine: coffee, croissants, toast, coffee. Beach, restaurants and shops two blocks away. The room was very clean and my air conditioner worked VERY well. I was impressed with housekeeping too. I was very impressed with Ricky, the young man who worked at the front desk. He was helpful and friendly, spoke perfect English, and gave me tips and ideas of things to see/do while in the area. I have no complaints and would certainly stay here again if I return to the Condado area.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robinmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I went to this place after desperately looking to get into San Juan. This is not a hotel, it's a small room with a bathroom with no ventilation. The bright side is that it's located in the heart of San Juan where all the 5 star hotels are and it's conveniant for you to travel. They offer a breakfast and customer service is great. If you like walking up flights of stairs this is for you, but I would not recommend this place to anyone. The reason why I gave it poor was because of the location. If you have no reservations about ambiance and simplicity and a dirty bathroom with poor put together hospitality this is the place for you . I left to La concha the next day.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SARA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My friends and I went for my 35th birthday and to our dismay had to find other accomadations! This is the worst hotel I have ever seen. No elevators, only two floors, no a/c, windows don't open, room so small that you bump into the bed upon entering,..... need I go on? All of the pictures that are posted onlie are of the lobby! STAY AWAY! There are so many other hotels in the vicinity within the same price range.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and the location can't be beat. The beach is just down the street and there are tons of stores and restaurants in the vicinity. Never felt unsafe. Police presence is all around the neighbourhood. The room was tiny, but also very clean and comfortable. The a/c worked well and the tv showed plenty of channels. The room had an electronic safe which was great and included in the total cost. The staff were friendly and helpful; especially the young guy with glasses (I didn't catch his name). I paid $72/ night and found it to be a great value based on the location. Would I stay here again? Absolutely.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ms_karen1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We checked into this hotel for the first 3 nights and the last 2 nights of our trip. Not much free parking around but there are a few 24 hr lots near by. Don't arrive before the 3:00 pm check in time cause you'll be turned away just as we were both times we tried to check in. Staff was very welcoming overall except for one young girl, who made me feel I was interrupting her studies.

We had room 14 on the second floor. Nothing of a view for any of the rooms but we liked this room due to it having windows on two sides and rebooked it for the last two nights of our visit to Puerto Rico.
The floor below us with rooms 2,4,6,& 8 is where the breakfast is served. You don't want to sleep there if you like to sleep in late.
Rooms 9 -16 is one floor up is much quieter in the morning.
If you feel energetic go for the 3rd floor with rooms 17 to 24 with some of the rooms with views of the city.

The free breakfast is basic. Cereal, bread, bagels, muffins, danish, and croissants. (all grains)
coffee, pineapple juice and orange juice. Basic but enough.

The walk to the beach takes about 2 min, so its perfectly located. Lots of restaurants in the vacinity and a Walgreens 1 min away.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#31 of 47 in San Juan
348 reviews
3.8 mi away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#30 of 47 in San Juan
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#22 of 47 in San Juan
340 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coral Princess Hotel
Coral Princess Hotel
#13 of 47 in San Juan
936 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wave Hotel Condado
The Wave Hotel Condado
#16 of 47 in San Juan
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Condado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Condado Hotel

Property: Casa Condado Hotel
Address: 60 Condado Ave. | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Condado Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Condado Hotel is a recently renovated hostelry in the heart of Condado, with an ambiance of stunning comfort and personal service in mind. Our 24 air conditioned rooms - elegantly decorated with a minimalist style - prove to be the perfect environment for an exciting vacation or a quiet stay on a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Condado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing