We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Casa Condado Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Condado Hotel
Ranked #33 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

was not k.. our room was under service when we arrived so they changed it. The front desk people were great and helped us find the best place to eat at. But no parking at the location and the lot you are suppose to park at gets filled up around 1830 so try to park before that. The ac in the room sucks too but have ceiling fans so the kept us cool.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swatchsatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

As the tittle of this review states, this is a BASIC, comfortable, nice little hotel in the middle of the Condado area in Puerto Rico. Arrived on 4/25/13 at 13:00 hours and they allowed us to check in early since our room was already made. No elevators, true, however; the climb up the stair case is not bad, unless a physical impairment would not allow you to do it. The room is again, basic. A nice size bathroom with a decent size mirror, a comfortable, adequate size bed, a small TV, and a safe.. that's it, ah!! and a roof over your head. The room does not have a dresser, no night stand with drawers, no luxurious lamps...none of that, it is BASIC. A/C with nice cold air, which is a must, to dissipate the PR heat. Rooms are clean, fresh, plenty of natural light comes through the huge glass windows in the mornings. Breakfast is from 7 to 9, again, basic. Bagels, cream cheese, OJ, muffins, coffee, breads, and cereals with milk. Self-serve. Did not go there for the breakfast, so I did not care. There is a small sushi restaurant on the first floor which serves a good variety of rolls, and sushi, all fresh and great tasting. If you love good sushi I recommend it. There are plenty of other restaurants in the area, serving Puerto Rican cuisine and also Italian, American...etc.The hotel is close to the beach, however beaches in the Condado area, are not good. The drive to Isla Verde from the hotel is about five to ten minutes. The beach in Isla Verde is ample, and not rough, unlike Condado beaches.
I had a nice time at this hotel and for the price...in Condado area!! this is a bargain. Will stay there again, no problem. I enjoyed it a lot.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the west side of the hotel, do not have sunlight in the mornings unlike rooms facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexmoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Had a nice 1 night stay at the Casa Condado.

Easy to find, a couple of blocks from the beach, with plenty of shops and places to eat nearby.

Service was very helpful and friendly. We arrived a few hours before check-in, but one of our rooms was ready so the receptionist let us to store all our baggage in the one room while the other was cleaned. She also called a cab for us for our early flight home the following morning.

Place itself was clean, simple, and quiet. Nice patio on the second floor, and the rooms while small, had comfy beds, and adequate amenities. I guess they offer free breakfast with the room, but we had to leave really early, so we didn't get a chance to check it out. Also, be ready to climb stairs, because they don't have an elevator.

Price was reasonable, I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flexabull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The photos on Tripadvisor are well done. Looks inviting. But our stay was not pleasant. We stayed one night prior to a cruise the next morning. Hotel had no elevator. I am partially handicapped so my dear wife had to lug three heavy suitcases and carry-on bags up t/downhe narrow stair wells. The insensitive room clerk, holding down the counter with his elbows, watched her struggle with the bags, never offering to help. When I checked in, magically, the clerk could not "find" our reservation. Oh, he had a room all right, but a price considerably higher that what appeared on the internet. The rooms are air conditioned, but the floors are open to the atmosphere. Meaning no windows or screens. We hear cars, boomboxes, random conversations and motorcycles until the wee hours of the morning. There is a restaurant on the ground floor, but we were not happy with the hotel so didn't wish to give them any more money. There were not many other places to eat close to the hotel (we were on foot). Room was spartan but clean. Tiny sink area with precious little space for all the junk a typical woman festoons around a sink. Wal-Mart's thin, factory second towel. yes...towel. Had to ask for a second one. Of course, had to walk down to get it from the clerk holding down the checkin counter.

Room Tip: Unfortunately, the "i
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank w5lxg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This is not a high end hotel. It is not a high priced hotel either. This hotel is perfect for the budget minded traveller who needs a place to stay before heading out on a cruise or someone looking to save money for a couple of nights.

We travelled at the hight of tourist season and in San Juan the prices of rooms vary with the time of year and availability of rooms. It is not uncommon for hotels rooms by the beach or in Old San Juan to cost $100 one night and jump to $400-$500 a week or two later for the same room. This is where Casa Condado really gives good and consistent value for your money. Their rooms are always at high or low season rates and they do not change from one week to the next like most other hotels. There are no surprises and no false promises at this hotel, so you know what to expect. Prices are also one of the best around.

The hotel is clean and simple. There is a basic continental breakfast included which provides juice, coffee, milk, cereal, toast or bagels and yogurt. Nothing fancy but enough to hold you over until you get on your cruise ship and begin the common cruise feeding frenzy. The hotel is also steps away from some really good restaurants offering everything from authentic Peurto Rican dishes to Italian, Gourmet Burgers, Chinese and Pub food. There is also a Four Seasons restauraunt at the hotel which offered good Asian food at reasonable prices.

The staff was great and very friendly and helpful. Although checkout is in the morning, they will keep your luggage safe while you explore San Juan before heading to the cruise terminals later in the day. We have stayed at many hotels in San Juan and the staff was always willing to do whatever they could to accommodate guests.

The rooms were clean and the air conditioner was quiet and worked well in our room. The shampoo and conditioner provided was salon quality and if any thing could be improved it would be the inclusion of an exhaust fan in the bathroom. There is an outdoor patio, but no pool or fitness center. The room also included a newer flat screen LCD TV with cable and digital safe which is a must for securing your valuables in any hotel.

This hotel was very conveniently located a two minute walk to the beach and in a tourist friendly neighbourhood. If you want the best consider the Caribe Hilton, Doubletree, or Sheraton but be prepared to pay two or three times the price. If you want value for your money this will appeal to seasoned frequent travellers.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nsexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

It's not a luxury hotel, but it's quiet and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The shower in my room was just concrete, but the room was fine otherwise. It's definitely small, but considering price, location (near Condado center and a short walk to the beach), and cleanliness, it's very good. I would stay here again.
Don't forget to close the window in the bathroom, otherwise bugs will fly in at night.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hong U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

This place has a lot of potential. The rooms are little but very nice. It's the outside hallways that appear a bit sparse. They're very nice, just empty. The deck is nice, and it's just a short walk to the beach and a lot of nice restaurants. The bathroom was clean and the service was good. Breakfast was included and good as well. Air conditioning worked well. Plenty of towels, cups for water, little shampoos and soaps provided. I'd go back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leahmig4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel
0.0 mi away
Coral Princess Hotel
Coral Princess Hotel
#13 of 47 in San Juan
940 reviews
3.8 mi away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#30 of 47 in San Juan
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#23 of 47 in San Juan
345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#31 of 47 in San Juan
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wave Hotel Condado
The Wave Hotel Condado
#16 of 47 in San Juan
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Condado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Condado Hotel

Address: 60 Condado Ave. | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range: £94 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Condado Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Condado Hotel is a recently renovated hostelry in the heart of Condado, with an ambiance of stunning comfort and personal service in mind. Our 24 air conditioned rooms - elegantly decorated with a minimalist style - prove to be the perfect environment for an exciting vacation or a quiet stay on a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casa Condado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing