We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Condado Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
73
120
59
31
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
120
59
31
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstay there againold san juanclean bathrooma small boutique hotelpuerto ricomin drivebreakfast was includedwithin walking distanceashford avenuefew blockslocation was perfectbooked this hoteldirectly across the streetpublic beachlate checkcruise shipnice beach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I had been waiting to try Casa Candado and was very happy when I finally wound up staying there. It is a super cute, very minimalistic boutique hotel in the Condado area. Walking distance to lots of bars/restaurants and the beach. The room was very clean, the bathroom/shower was new with towels and nice amenities. Your room stay comes with a continental breakfast which is served out on the terrace. They provide parking but you have to pay (I believe $15/night) but you can find free parking in the neighborhood if you are patient. They do not have a pool but the public beach is two blocks away (a short walk). They provide free Wifi in the rooms and have nice flat screen TVs. Overall, I would recommend for a short stay as long as you aren't looking for a full service resort.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Cheap hotel and close to the beach, but I would suggest spending just a little bit more. Rooms were not available for check in when we arrived and they gave us a time to return. We called to make sure the rooms were ready but when we returned a new person was working behind the desk and they said there were no rooms available yet. They immediately made up two rooms for us as it was now hours after check-in time. Make sure you do not have a lot of luggage as there are no elevators and of course we were on the top floor and just returning from a cruise so we had plenty of luggage. The rooms were a decent size but smelled awful. They do have a nice sitting area on each floor and a nice outdoor balcony area and do provide a breakfast. All in all, it is cheap so you do get what you pay for. If you are on a budget this is the place to go, but if you are looking for somewhere with amenities this is not your place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TKup-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We were at Casa Condado from Jan. 23 to 25th, and we were received with smile and our room was ready.
We were on a cruise ship so the day we checked out we ask to the girl at the front desk (very nice girl with a smile and good service) if we can keep one of the room because we were 2 couples, up to 13:00, and she did.

Thanks for your kindness.

Room Tip: 5 minutes walk from beach and 10 minutes with taxi from old San Juan.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My husband and I came here for my 30th birthday, and upon checking in, we immediately had some reservation. It took about 5 extra minutes to check us in, as there was a shift change, and neither the outgoing desk employee nor the incoming desk employee seemed all that interested in checking us into the hotel. We were so excited to get started on our trip that this didn't really bother us all that much, but it didn't go unnoticed.

We were eventually sent on our way up to the 4th floor, which was fine, as we'd done enough TA research to know that the hotel didn't have an elevator. We arrived at our room and each of us kind of looked at one another and shrugged. No closet, no drawer, really no furniture at all outside of a footstool lodged underneath a shelf that ran across the wall opposite the bed. There was a rod with a few hangers to hang clothing on the side of the room, which served its purpose, and a programmable safe, which is always a nice feature. On our bed sat a basket with a few rolled up towels (two of the six were stained).

We then opened the bathroom, which ended up being a bit too much for us to bear. It was dingy, musty, sweaty, smelly, without any sort of storage space, no haridryer, nowhere to set the provided toiletries, a toilet seat with no lid, no counter space, no toilet roll holder. The toilet paper was actually set on a poorly placed shelf situated directly over the toilet. We ended up having to balance the provided bar of soap on our razors so the soap wouldn't sit directly on the dirty sill of the windows above the shower. It really just wasn't befitting of the star designation it is given on TA. It is more of a 2 star hotel, and it even feels like a stretch typing that.

We dealt with it for half of our vacation before checking out early after finding a new hotel to stay at for the remainder of our trip. When we told the desk attendant we were checking out early, the desk attendant looked almost gleeful, not really showing concern for why we were leaving halfway through our anticipated stay. We didn't ask for a refund, and weren't offered one, we were just happy to leave. The timbre of our trip greatly improved from the moment we stepped foot out of the hotel.

We did book at an excellent rate, and the location is good in that it is near the beach, but I can't in good conscience recommend this hotel to anyone other than twentysomethings who are looking for a place to lay their heads between heavy drinking sessions on the beach, at the clubs, or in the casino.

San Juan is a wonderful place, and we had a great time out in the city, but I just want to make sure that people know what they're getting into. This accommodation seems to fall in the no man's land between hotel and hostel, and some very slight improvements could dramatically improve the experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CSL2010_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed at the Casa Condado for 2 days before a cruise from San Juan. The rooms are clean and comfortable, but basic. It was a good deal for the price, and I'd definitely return. The beach is about a 5-7 minute walk from the hotel. Walgreens is a block away and an easy walk too.

The breakfast at Casa Condado was just ok. However directly across the street is the Condado Corner market which has much better breakfasts at very reasonable costs.

The Wi-Fi at Casa Condado worked fine. It was plenty fast for web browsing.

One downside - since there are no elevators, it was a real pain to carry our luggage up to the fourth floor.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews