We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you paid for”
Review of Casa Condado Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Condado Hotel
Ranked #35 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights  and it was an ok experience here's why...

Pros:
1.Affordable
2.Convenient (close to the beach, restuarants, Walgreens, and clubs)
3. Free breakfast (this can be a con for some people but they don't serve eggs, bacon, sausage etc. only bread, bagel, fruits, and fruit loops cereal.

Cons:
1. It's noisy you can hear your neighboring rooms closing or slamming doors also the you can also hear the street.
2. The front desk are not helpful and when I was here the guy in the front desk was chatting on an adult site while he was serving me and my friend I didn't mind but this might offend people.
3. You have to READ THE HOTEL'S POLICY ON THEIR! Before booking here make sure you read they policy because this isn't you're typical hotel. Here are some rules they provided on their website: there's a limited parking spot for and there's fees, breakfast starts at 7:00 to 9:00 am, WiFi is only available on public areas, you have to check in 3:00pm no early than that and you have to check out exactly at 12:00pm, there's no elevator,  you need a credit card to check in not a debit card,  no smoking ( when I arrived in this hotel it my room smells like cigarettes).
4.  This is a very simple hotel so it doesn't include drawers or a closet and for females they don't have a hair make sure you bring your own. So I suggest bringing your own towel they will only give you what you have in the room no extras,  bring your own bathroom utensils. They don't have iron and ironing board so iron your clothes before going to your vacation.
5. It's some what filthy the maneger has to come up to my room and clean the AC filter and the dust was black plus under the bed was dusty and the floor is sandy.
6. When you shower make sure not to make so much splash since the curtain is short.
7. The AC is close to the bed and it's noisy.
8. The black out curtains isn't really effective of blocking sun light.
9. Make sure you keep an eye on your hotel key and tv remote because if you lost it you will have to pay.
10. Some of the safe isn't working.


Over all its an ok hotel you just need to read the hotels policy and make sure that works for you.  

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rhodeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

Smaller scale hotel, relatively new, modern design. Asian-owned, with asian restaurant, and popular with asian clientele. Breakfast included was very minimal inadaquate, internet erratic, for the most part non-functional. Air conditioner noisy, and constantly cycling on and off. Difficult to sleep in this room. The place looks good, but doesn't quite work. Staff is responsive (except with internet), bathroom is good with amenities first-rate. Overall, would not repeat here. Located close to the main avenue, with the usual american corporate retail outlets, and local things (not including decent restaurants).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paubranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

On our first visit to Puerto Rico we were quite surprised to find more limited hotel choices than we had expected. There are very expensive, high end hotels and then roach motels that still cost more than we are used to in the States - with not much in between for the budget-minded traveler. We were fortunate, however, to find the Casa Condado Hotel for our first night in Puerto Rico. Our room was on the second floor (there is no elevator). It was not fancy by any stretch, but it was immaculately clean, air conditioned, and surprisingly quiet for a downtown location. The continental breakfast was basic (coffee, juice, a few pastries and some over-ripe fruit) but it was enough to get us started in the morning. The hotel is located about halfway between the airport and Old San Juan and is a short two-block walk to the beach. Relative to other hotels we considered, it was a good value for us.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so if you have mobility issues or a lot of luggage, ask for a room on the lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We greatly enjoyed our one week’s stay at the Casa Condado Hotel in San Juan. It is indeed a minimalist facility – Our room included one queen bed, a bench seat, television, safe deposit box. There is no sofa, closet, dresser or luggage rack. There is a closet rod with hangars, but no closet.

Parking is limited (approximately 6-7 spaces). It is shared with an adjoining restaurant that offers valet parking. We were able to secure a parking space for the week which we paid for.

Housekeeping was very good. The young man who cleaned our room most days did a superb job had a very positive attitude. We made sure to ask for service daily at the front desk.

Our only complaint is that the shower curtain was too short for the tub-length shower stall in the bathroom resulting in large puddles on the bathroom floor. They should provide much longer shower curtains or lower the shower rod. Location was excellent, two blocks from the beach and plenty of restaurants.

Overall, we felt safe and comfortable. The negihborhood was generally quiet, though there are occasional traffic jams. Continental breakfast most days was plentiful and fresh. We would stay here again. Good value for the price.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pleasuretraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Arrived Friday 2:30pm. Asked to check in before the scheduled 3:00pm check in - not gonna happen. They held luggage, but not in any kind of a locked area.

Asked for change for $1 to ride the bus - not gonna happen.

Room was very small. TV remote didn't work, AC unit was literally right next to the bed, bath was tight too. Sand was on the floor upon my arrival. Housekeeping left a tip envelope though...

They give you a key and TV remote and tell you if you break or lose them - you're charged. No elevator either.

The bad was so-so comfortable. Free continental breakfast and a couple blocks to the beach.

Wireless - free in the lobby. No access in my room.

Asked for late check out - not gonna happen.

Summary, One night was OK but beyond that - no way. We talked to others in town and they described nicer rooms at much better prices. The staff was ZERO help, so for that, I don't recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GLMS-NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

This is very much a get what you pay for hotel but in a good way. The room was bare bones but clean and who goes to San Juan to sit in a hotel room!?!? Really the biggest complaint my husband & I had was that the hotel only provided two very flat pillows for a queen size bed. We both prefer two a piece. We made it through just fine. The complementary breakfast was simple but got the job done. The front desk staff were nice and helpful when we needed to get a cab but don't expect them to go out of their way for you. Hotel is in a great location within walking distance to the beach, casinos, restaurants/bars and there is a Walgreen's less than 2 blocks away. Didn't feel unsafe walking at night. Cab ride into Old San Juan was about $16 and to airport about $20 so not a great location if you plan on spending a lot of time in Old San Juan. We spent close to $100 in cab rides in less than 48 hours. Next time we will either spend a little extra to stay closer because there isn't enough money in the world that to make me want to drive in San Juan.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We spent 6 nights here and had a positive experience at this little hotel. The location is great - less than 5 minute walk to the beach, one block away from Walgreens. Everything within walking distance and in a safe neighborhood with plenty of restaurants and tourists walking around. Taxis frequently drive down this street so all you have to do is walk outside and wait a couple minutes to catch one. There is a sushi restaurant attached to the hotel. The room was minimalistic with a bed, plenty of floating shelves, A/C, large ottoman with storage inside, bathroom, safe (free), and rack with some hangers. The room was CLEAN and there were no bugs to be seen. We got 2 large towels and 4 small. The view from the room was of the back of other buildings, but we don't travel to sit in the hotel and look out the window.

NOTE TO TRAVELERS: They don't routinely have housekeeping go in and clean the rooms everyday. When you leave the room for the day, the front desk will ask you if you need housekeeping and if you say yes, they will go in and clean the room, change the sheets, etc. We basically just asked for clean towels everyday and new sheets & housekeeping periodically. I think this is a fair housekeeping situation for the price we paid. If you want a cleaned room everyday, then just ask. The rest of the hotel is always cleaned everyday. Breakfast was from 7-9AM (Other people's reviews list the items) and it was nice to eat everyday on the terrace which has shaded areas as well as sunny. There is also an ice machine on the terrace. If you have rented a car, parking at the hotel is $15/night - we rented a car for 3 days and found free street parking in the area after driving around a bit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Wave Hotel Condado
The Wave Hotel Condado
#15 of 48 in San Juan
199 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Iberia
Hotel Iberia
#41 of 48 in San Juan
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#23 of 48 in San Juan
842 reviews
2.9 mi away
S.J. Suites
S.J. Suites
#45 of 48 in San Juan
271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandy Beach Hotel
Sandy Beach Hotel
#43 of 48 in San Juan
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Condado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Condado Hotel

Address: 60 Condado Ave. | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range: £86 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Condado Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Condado Hotel is a recently renovated hostelry in the heart of Condado, with an ambiance of stunning comfort and personal service in mind. Our 24 air conditioned rooms - elegantly decorated with a minimalist style - prove to be the perfect environment for an exciting vacation or a quiet stay on a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casa Condado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing