We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The beach is nice, but forget the rest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I had a long-standing reservation, showed up at 2. Had to wait 5 hours for my room--the front desk staff was confused and hopeless. Very defensive--no apologies. Hotel is tired looking--grounds in disrepair, rooms not clean. Bathroom plumbing loose--funny thing is my Dad tried to arrange a meeting here in 1965 and said the same thing.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for your candid feedback of your stay with us. I apologize that we did not meet expectations.

We are always looking for reviews to provide insight into our guest experience and I will keep your review in mind as we look towards refresh options.

Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you back to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (776)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

454 - 460 of 776 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

The Hotel Staff are very nice. The Hotel is nice as well. The problem is, we stayed next door in the Lagoon Villas, which were touted as Suites. I have stayed in hundreds of Hilton properties around the world, and although the Lagoon Villas are "acceptable", I would not rate them with high marks. The Lagoon Villas are not worth the money!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OCTraveler1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback and comments on your recent stay at our property. Sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations for we work hard to deliver a memorable stay. Your comments help us improve and I will share with the staff in order to improve for future visitors.
Thanks again for your time and we hope you gives us another opportunity in thenear future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Oh Caribe Hilton, you keep breaking my heart. You could be such an amazing hotel and you just. . . aren’t. It makes me want to help you! Literally while I was there I thought about buying bleach to see if I could get the stains out of the tub in the room.

The Lagoon Villas are attached to the Caribe Hilton. This is my 2nd trip there. I have stayed in both. (For conferences, not for vacation.) Below is for the Lagoon Villas II building. They do book this as part of the Caribe Hilton when you call the Caribe, so beware.

WHY I AM NOT A FAN:
1. When I got there, I couldn’t check in until 4 pm. Long time to wait around. They said they would call and let me know when my room was ready, of course they never did. Same experience as last time.
2. Room was promised with ‘ocean view,’ which was instead a bay view, with another part of the hotel obscuring half the view. I even called in advance to make sure that my room would be nice and have a good view, hoping that would help. Nope.
3. Room also was advertised with "balcony," which, while technically there, was only about 12 inches wide and had no patio furniture. You could get a chair out there (a desk chair) but only if you turned it sideways.
4. Room had ants. (thank goodness I brought enough ziplocs to store my snacks in. Never hurts to pack a few extra!)
5. Room lost power one morning—I got up, went into the bathroom, turned on the lights (really, that was all!) and BOOM the circuit breaker tripped. Took 3 phone calls and 90 minutes to get someone to come up and just fix the breaker for me.
6. No ice machine in the whole Lagoon Villas II building, had to go to Lagoon Villas I building next door, where I found 2, one of which was nonfunctional. The functioning one, of course, ran out of ice quite a lot, due to supplying two buildings! I then had to go into a third building to get ice.
7. Noisy. I didn't really sleep well the whole time I was there, despite running a white noise phone app--it wasn't enough to overcome hallway noise, airplane noise from nearby airport, and random weird mechanical and plumbing noises. The plumbing for both me and, sadly, my neighbor, generated a high-pitched whining sound when the water was on that was truly annoying. Not a problem if it was me running the tap, but when my neighbor flushed his toilet in the middle of the night, there would be a sudden high pitched serenade that was a sure waker-upper.
8. Bed has a heavy down duvet and no sheets. Just crazy and impractical--I was sweaty at night even with the A/C on its lowest setting. TIP: I found you could get more comfortable if you removed the comforter from the duvet cover and slept with the empty duvet cover alone.
9. Did not try to order room service, but they warned me that it would take a VERY long time due to Lagoon Villas' distance from main hotel kitchens. So technically they have room service, but. . . .sounds like they get a lot of complaints.

This is what I wrote when I stayed at the Caribe the last time: “So glad to leave. Long wait to check in. Noisy/hard to sleep; dead cockroach in bathroom; stained table and cushions in room; nonfunctioning light; toilet hard to flush” So at least they are consistent. This isn't really a Hilton. I've never stayed at another Hilton that was this consistently problematic. Definitely don't come expecting to have a "Hilton" type stay.

By the way, if you look at the "nonrecommended" reviews for this property, you find a LOT of people who joined TripAdvisor just to put in one review saying how annoyed by this hotel they were. The TripAdvisor software filters that out, but I think it's actually representative of the experience -- it's no wonder people are annoyed enough by this hotel to join a new review service just to share how bothered they were.

The beach and pools are nice. Maybe just don't go in your room at all while you stay here?

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Onestepforwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback on your room recent stay at Condado lagoon Villas. I am sorry we could not meet your expectations. I would have like to know about your challenges while in property and had the opportunity to resolve them.

We aim to deliver great service and a memorable experience. Your comments help us understand where we need to improve. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope you give us the opportunity to serve you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

nice area but there are no options for other food besides the overpricing food area. The housekeeper keeps knocking at your door before checkout even you have a no disturb sign at the door. not much amenities available unless you have to go to the main hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Denny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for choosing the Condado Lagoon Villas, as your “home away from home” during your visit to beautiful Puerto Rico.

We appreciate you your feedback with respect to your recent stay in our property, it helps us improve for future visitors.

We thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Arrival was friendly and efficient. We arrived at 10pm and they only had one person checking in so it took awhile but still not too bad.

The room was small for a studio villa. It was also dated and the bathroom had a musty odor. The internet was spotty. The price for parking was not too bad considering you are near San Juan.

The resort was nice and big. They have a couple of pools and a beach area that is protected from big waves so it is child friendly. They provide beach shovels and pails as well as noodles to float. They have peacocks and other animals which the kids loved. Food was good too with many options although pricey but you are at a resort.

Would go back just for pools and beach. Room itself not good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eldelil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for staying at the Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton while visiting beautiful Puerto Rico

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience while at our property. Your comments help us improve our product and service and better understand the needs of our guests.

Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Like the Caribe Hilton Tower the Villas are about the same. Both places are old and in need of a remodeling. The sofa in my room 7612 was old and dirty. The bathroom was nice and clean. If you have a large family don’t stay there, the room is little. Hilton Honor Gold member are not recognized in that property. The parking is the worst parking system, you have to validate every time you go out. The staff at the parking don’t know English and they are rude to the guess. They need to change the system and get rid of the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MSConde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for your candid feedback of your stay with us. I apologize that we did not meet expectations.

We are always looking for reviews to provide insight into our guest experience and I will keep your review in mind as we look towards refresh options.

Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you back to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at the Caribe Hilton for one night prior to our cruise. They gave us the room in an alcove along with the ice machine! We didn't realize how noisy the room was until we returned from dinner and was already in bed. All night long we would hear the door to the ice machine room slam, plus hear the ice being dispensed! Plus they were filming a movie in our room area and up until midnight we kept hearing "cut"! They never told us about the filming. As a Hilton Honors member I was shocked that they gave us that room. I am sure the hotel was aware of the noise and I felt they gave it to us because we were only staying one night. My other complaint was the Concierge desk. There were 2 people and one guy was busy talking to 2 young ladies, so we asked the lady behind the desk regarding tours and she just handed us a brochure!! Never asked what we were interested in & made no suggestions. We were shocked so we just walked away, because it didn't appear the guy was going to finish up any time soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for your candid feedback of your stay with us. I apologize that we did not meet expectations.

We are always looking for reviews to provide insight into our guest experience and I will keep your review in mind as we look towards refresh options.

Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you back to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 47 in San Juan
7,203 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 47 in San Juan
4,920 reviews
0.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ciqala Luxury Suites
Ciqala Luxury Suites
#12 of 47 in San Juan
888 reviews
1.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.7 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: £139 - £419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful and set aside, the Condado Lagoon Villas are close to all the Caribe Hilton resort amenities and can enjoy the flexibility of our villa accommodations, each divisible into three separate units or combined into spacious suites, perfect for families or groups. Guests at the Condado Lagoon Villas can also enjoy the convenience of a separate check-in exclusively for Villas guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condado Lagoon Villas At Caribe Hilton Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing