We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 stars not 5”
Review of Niche Bistro

Niche Bistro
Ranked #44 of 1,014 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$56 - US$95
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Come and enjoy our International, Caribbean cuisine in an intimate atmosphere. Give yourself and your loved ones, one the best culinary experiences in Puerto Rico in our romantic and unique atmosphere.
Bloomfield CT. USA
Level Contributor
270 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“4 stars not 5”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Reservations required ! Located in a boutique hotel the restaurant has 6-7 tables. Service and food are superior. They know how to cook risotto. Lamb and pork dishes were also prepared nicely. Mojitos are first class. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is that I'm not inclined to spend $150 + for dinner and a drink. I don't want to hear the "diver scallop" story either. I know better. That being said, if price is no object, enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goldrush28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    44
    23
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A must when in San Juan”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We would have missed this spot had it not have been house in the Acacia Hotel where we were staying. Having saved this for our farewell dinner we were not disappointed. Niche has a very intimate feel to it yet not crowded. The staff is both knowledgeable and friendly. Daily specials were creative as we watched the menu change on each night of our stay! I had the special of Fresh Calamari stuffed with Shrimp and Lobster in a perfect Buerre Blanc....amazing!! The steaks are equally as delicious. Do not miss out on a visit to Niche while in San Juan. You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savoy, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small but Great”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Small restaurant located inside Acacia Hotel. Entrees range from $40-$50 but were great. Service was great also.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east meadow
1 review
“Roberto @Niche is an amazingly good waiter and city guide”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed at a nearby hotel but stopped at the Niche for breakfast. Roberto was our waiter and he was friendly, knowledgeable about the city and as helpful and professional as anyone could be. . We found the store he directed us to and bought two pounds of local coffee based on his advice. The restaurant was nice and the food was good, but it is Roberto that put the Niche over the top for us. They are lucky to have him.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nancy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

Niche has deteriorated greatly since last time I went, they obviously have changed chefs and the new one is not good, the food also has worsened since all ingredients are frozen not fresh even the meat. Service is ok.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank pjbaez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Niche Bistro also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Niche Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing