We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location, but needs more friendly staff”
Review of Latin Star

Latin Star
Ranked #776 of 1,034 Restaurants in San Juan
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Description: http://www.igougo.com/dining-reviews-b144586-San_Juan-Latin_Star.html
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice Location, but needs more friendly staff”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Wonderful location on Ashford avenue but........ We stopped in for breakfast one morning in March 2014, found the food less than desirable and it was almost like we were bothering the waitress. She did not speak English so we managed to point out from the menu what we wanted, when asked for a coffee refill she brought me another cup of oily coffee and charged me for another cup. We just had porridge and fruit but it cost me almost $20. Was not impressed with the food or staff.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TimWinnipeg_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    87
    111
    93
    173
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good Mofongo”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent menu-I ate here twice. The shrimp mofongo was so good I brought my friends here for lunch. There's something for everyone but dont try to order something thats not on the menu. Authentic PR food.

Helpful?
1 Thank winelover11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Get the Mofongo”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This restaurant is a diner- I think open 24 hrs. They had a good selection of food and the mofongo was delicious!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Catbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“My Favorite Restaurant!!!”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This has to be my favorite restaurant, With and indoor and outdoor seating area. Great Staff that is very attentive, Breakfast is great with a cup of Cafe con Leche!. Lunch is delicious !! My favorite is Black beans , rice , with Baked chicken!!!! I dare you to try a Long Island Ice Tea , its very potent!!! If you have have dinner here you wont be dissapointed. Good Food for the money!!! Love it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gorges36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lehigh Acres, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good “local” food, but “tourist trap” feelings”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I had diner a few years ago here and had a wonderful Paella. We decided to go back again this trip but ordered different meals. The service and attitude are very oriented toward the feelings of a tourist trap, in the way that they are already trying to lure you inside while you are still walking on the sidewalk.. Fakes dishes are exposed on tables right on the street, a lady with traditional costumes is distributing flyers and trying to push you inside the restaurant generally with the assistance of one waiter who run to her “rescue”…. Otherwise the food is good but pricey, for what it is… When ordering wine the waiter tells you to wait because they don’t have the ones on the wine list. So he goes in the back to a fridge and bring back 3 different bottle on the table to show us what is available. Then a 4th bottle shows up as a guy (maybe the owner..) sat at another table with friend observe the action and go to the fridge also pick up another bottle and send the waiter to our table with it. Then you need to ask to the price, even if the guy is telling you that you need to order “this one because this one is very very good”. You realize afterward that it is a $75 bottle… all the others except one are $50 and the last one, which is a basic table wine available in Walgreen next door is $24. That’s what I mean by “tourist trap feelings…
If I would go back? I don’t know.. I am not sure. Certainly much better around and next door.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pmsxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Latin Star also viewed

 

Been to Latin Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing