We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks!”
Review of Casa Los Cummins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Los Cummins
Ranked #9 of 30 San Juan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thanks!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Great place. Great location. Great hospitality.

You're right by the action on the main strip. Restaurants are great. Natalia will help you with all the local choices and arrangements. Make sure to spend some time on Sat. evening by the Plazita. A little bar on the corner, next to the gazebo with the live band, serves the best mojito in town.

Mariusz & Franya

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marucho21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    15
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
46
113
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We really enjoyed staying at the Casa Castellana for a couple of days in San Juan with family. We stayed in the Cordoba Master Suite, which was huge and had a marble bathroom fit for a Roman palace--it was definitely a special experience! The hosts are very friendly and responsive. Hostess Natalia gave us great recommendations for activities and restaurants, and they have a very cute and friendly dog as well. The breakfasts are tasty and filling, and you get to eat on the rooftop terrace surrounded by trees. The Inn is about 5-10 minutes from Condado beach, and about a 10-15 minute drive from Old San Juan, and there is street parking in front of the Inn. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We really liked the Cordoba Master Suite--it was very luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca_FH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Casa Castellana is a nice alternative accommodation in Condado area. We came for a friend's wedding and they were staying at the Marriott which is only 3 blocks away. We definitely saved $$$. The hosts are welcoming and accommodating and it feels just like staying with an Aunt and Uncle. We stayed at the Granada Room with a bathroom across the hall. It wasn't a hassle for us because the house is not full capacity so we didn't run into other guests that often and for the past 30 years of my life, that's how the set up is at home growing up. Though I had high expectation with the breakfast because of the reviews here (and past experiences of gourmet breakfast from a typical bed and breakfast) but hey I am thankful for it and not complaining for something "free" and made with love. I'll definitely recommend this place to family and friends who wants to stay in Condado area. =) Ahh the ease of street parking was awesome too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UrbanGypsy0220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

this place is perfectly located in a quiet street two blocks from the popular ashford ave meaning it has everything you need in very close walking distance. The neighborhood is lovely and very safe to walk to and from the nearby restaurants, shops, beach or La Placita. Breakfast is included and consists of a fruit, cheese and breads buffet followed by a hot breakfast that changes daily. I was super impressed to find this wasnt the average stay, Natalia and her family were so helpful and accommodating and helped to find tours and great prices on all 'touristy' things I wanted to do. the rooms are a home away from home... very clean and very comfortable.
I will definitely be going back and taking my parents with me!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fulfillyourdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenbush, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Okay, so you want to be near the beaches, Old Town, Condado, and Santurce for La Placita? We loved this little B&B within walking distance of good restaurants and many attractions. Breakfast was gourmet, served on an open-air 3rd floor veranda. The neighborhood was very safe, we walked everywhere including La Placita. I typically don't do B&Bs, but would return here.

Room Tip: We had a little room off the back. It was cheaper and had a private entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

If you would like to break away from the standard bland vacation experience of chain hotels, robotic hospitality, and microwaved continental breakfast experiences, plan to lodge at the beautiful Casa Castellana Bed and Breakfast during your next trip to Puerto Rico. Casa Castellana is a charming accommodation situated in the heart of one of Puerto Rico's most attractive and diverse areas--Condado.

As you turn onto Luchetti st, you will see many beautiful houses on either side of the road. After a few blocks, depending on your arrival direction, you will see a gorgeous three-story cream-colored house with maroon accents--Casa Castellana. After falling asleep to the unobtrusive music of the coqui (Puerto Rico's frog) you will awake to an amazing breakfast. Natalia and her team of professionals will not only pamper your palate with literally more-than-you-can eat local deliciousness, but they will do it with a warm Puerto Rican hospitality that will leave you convinced that you've known her and her friendly family for ages. You can dine on breakfast guilt-free, knowing that Natalia sources as much as practical through socially and naturally responsible channels, utilizing local options and organics, all while encouraging recycling.

During breakfast, which is served on a tropical third-story terrace, you will be tempted to cancel your trip to El Yunque due to the robust beauty of the masterfully crafted ambiance--lime green parrots and various other birds have seemingly been hired to serenade you for breakfast from the trees overhead, while colorful lizards with yellow beards perform a well-choreographed dance around the native potted plants that decorate the grounds. If you still have room, after trying the diverse selection of fruits ranging from papaya to tamarind, unique locally-made cheeses, Puerto Rican sausages, and an ever-changing main dish, I highly recommend trying the surprisingly-smooth coffee. I had mine with a half teaspoon of brown sugar and was extremely pleased. During our entire stay, we never had the same main dish twice; we were served omletts, scrambled eggs with ham, pancakes, the Spanish version of French toast, and Spanish pastries (as part of a continental breakfast available by request, if you have to leave before breakfast time). They even prepared separate meals for our daughter who has a dairy allergy.

On a final note, I have to tell you that Natalia is extremely helpful and friendly. After we reserved our room, she sent us much helpful information for planning our vacation. She goes on tours to quality check them for her guests before recommending them. When the coffee tours that she had recommended filled up before we made a reservation, she found and arranged a new tour for us. She gave us detailed advice for getting the most from our time in old San Juan. When we told her that our toddler is studying Spanish she patiently interacted with her every morning!

All this to say, we are so thankful that we stayed at Casa Castellana, and would gladly stay there again if (when) we get back to Puerto Rico!

Room Tip: The Toledo room is great for a couple. We shared the room with our 3-year old who slept on an air ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanPauEli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, New York
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The house is beautiful, the location is great and our host was wonderful. We arrived as a group of eight and Natalia made us feel all very welcome with great tips on local attractions, amenities and places to eat. We're already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 88Gee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.5 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Coral Princess Hotel
Coral Princess Hotel
#12 of 47 in San Juan
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Wave Hotel Condado
The Wave Hotel Condado
#15 of 47 in San Juan
162 reviews
2.9 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 47 in San Juan
947 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Los Cummins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Los Cummins

Property: Casa Los Cummins
Address: 1218 Luchetti Street, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly Casa Castellana Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Los Cummins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Spanish-style home meets contemporary chic nestled in seaside Condado neighborhood, blocks from the ocean and near a variety of captivating attractions. We're a short distance from Old San Juan, the Puerto Rico Convention Center and much more. We have six uniquely themed rooms for your choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Casa Los Cummins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Castellana Hotel San Juan
Casa Castellana Bed And Breakfast Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing