We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JUST STAY HERE!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Terraza de San Juan
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, SC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“JUST STAY HERE!”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I am one who over researches every detail of our trips. We loved our stay here and wouldn't consider any place else when returning to SJ. First of all, Joe is an excellent host. Not one problem from the time I emailed him to him helping us with an early morning cab on our departure day. The location is superb. It is a quiet and charming street but you are literally 2 blocks or so from everything minus the traffic and the late night commotion. The whole town seemed very safe to walk at night. The apartment is large, well equipped, and VERY clean. Super comfortable beds and wonderful A/C! The roof top deck puts the place over the top though. After dining out we purchased beverages at the nearby Walgreens and adjourned to the roof each night. The view of the city lights, the harbor, the skyline, lit up cruise ships was spectacular. In the mornings we enjoyed opening our balcony doors and drinking coffee as we watched the occasional passerby. I seriously contemplated El Convento and a few other inns but why would you pay more to be in a crowded and noisy area? Joe will help you find or get to wherever you want to go. I would give La Terraza 10 stars if I could!!

Room Tip: We had 3rd floor facing the street with Juliet balcony. Apartment below us had full balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DJTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    126
    45
    20
    15
See reviews for
168
422
32
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

The hotel is a perfect mix of Mudejar architecture and funky Antilles exterior paint. There were four adults in our group, and we stayed in a two bedroom unit, roomy, each bedroom with a private bath, kitchen and living room. The hotel is classic old San Juan, on a hill far away from the noise of the cruise ships.

The owner/manager, Joe Uribe, is highly knowledgeable about Puerto Rico and San Juan; and brings a daily breakfast to your unit of fresh tropical fruits, fresh bread and delicious coffee. The hotel even sends you a useful guide to Old San Juan with your room confirmation. There is a great terrace on the roof with a view of Old San Juan. Uribe is completely bilingual.

The price was reasonable -- $275 for four adults. I chose this hotel from Trip Advisor reviews and could not believe that everybody raved about the place: they're true; kudos, Joe.

Room Tip: Unit 6 was perfect for four adults, and essentially a penthouse suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beechmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This is the fifth time in several weeks that I've spoken to a property in San Juan that promised a room, then reneged. This was one extremely disappointing since I spoke directly with the owner, Justino. I initially inquired about a home rental, but when that wasn't available, he directed me to La Terraza, which had availability. I even sent him all my payment information. He then informed me (the next day) that it was a two night minimum. I understand that it's peak season, but shouldn't he have known that already? Poor customer communications, but at least he followed up unlike some of the other properties.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank BeckyinCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTerrazaHotel, General Manager at La Terraza de San Juan, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
I lament your poor experience with Justino and the other five properties that offered and reneged. I can certainly sympathize with your frustration.

However this has nothing to do with La Terraza de San Juan.

I would like to clarify that Justino is an independent, short-term rental broker who on occasion refers guests to us. He has his own company. He is neither the owner nor an employee of La Terraza de San Juan.

There was no communication whatsoever between you and La Terraza de San Juan, therefore I find it inappropriate that you have posted a comment about poor communication on our review page.

I wish your experience had been different but I also wish you had posted your complaint on their pages, not mine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I would highly recommend this place. We will definitly stay again. We just returned from a trip to Puerto Rico. Our party had four adults and two small children. This place was very comfortable, clean and in a great location within Old San Juan. Our two bedroom suite was well decorated and had a lot of space. A few of many pluses to note include: beautiful kitchen, great furniture and high ceilings. It also had a common terrace which is fantastic. We had dinner there during one of the nights.

The property manager was a wonderful host. We arrived at 3 AM in the morning. He was there to great us and helped with our luggage. He also provided many suggestions.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonGopalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

La Terraza has a great location the heart of Old San Juan. Joe, the owner restored the building so beautifully as it is super charming, clean and cozy. We rented the 2-bedroom suite, which is very spacious and beautifully decorated. We got breakfast served in our room daily along with great maid service. It is also only a few blocks from the old fort. Joe is super hospitable, friendly and helpful (he even drove one of us to the car rental place!) If you don't want to stay in a chain hotel and want to enjoy convenient amenities and charm, you should stay here!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderfunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield County, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Our family spent 5 nights here in March and were just delighted with La Terraza. Our two bedroom, bed bath suite was spacious, clean and comfortable. The building itself was beautifully renovated with many lovely touches -- including stained glass windows, beautiful tile work and wrought iron. W really enjoyed the terrace views at sunset. Joe was very helpful with suggestions and Devon arranged a fabulous driver for our rain forest tour. All the conveniences of a hotel, with all the comforts of a private apartment. We will definitely stay here on our next visit to Old San Juan.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank threeonrtheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed four nights at La Terraza. We enjoyed the beautiful old building, the tall ceilings, stained glass windows and the spaciousness very much. Joe was very helpful. We made dining choices from his concierge book. Il Bacaro is a great value and excellent food. I wish the showers had more pressure and the bathrooms had moe hooks to hang wet towels. The two bedroom units can sleep six but only enough hooks for 3 towels. I also wish the housekeeping was daily. We were serviced once during our four days. Joe makes excellent French baguettes and he is very accommodating about when to serve the food. We would have liked more varieties of pastries and quiches. But the coffee was always hot and the foods beautifully presented. The rooftop is great, as mentioned by other reviewers. Perfect place to take a midday break on the chaise or sip wine while watching the cruise ships leave port. Overall, it is infinitely better than a resort hotel. Close to everything. The service is friendly and efficient. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking to take in the charms of Old San Juan.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Food-happy-AA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,711 reviews
0.2 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 47 in San Juan
946 reviews
2.6 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
211 reviews
2.6 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
802 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Terraza de San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terraza de San Juan

Property: La Terraza de San Juan
Address: 262 Calle del Sol, San Juan 00901-1421, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Terraza de San Juan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer one bedrooms, one bedroom suites and two bedroom, two bathroom suites, as well as suites with balconies. Individually appointed rooms and suites with gorgeous personal touches. Romantic, yet family friendly environments are La Terraza's trademarks. Delicious, homemade breakfasts compliment a relaxing trip to sun drenched Puerto Rico. La Terraza is walking distance to Old San Juan's historic landmarks, a locals only beach and azure waters. La Terraza is San Juan's newest hidden gem, a spectacular boutique hotel with superlative service and the highest attention to each guest's needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Terraza de San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing