We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will return!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Terraza de San Juan
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Over the past 5 years, we have regularly stayed in Old San Juan in a number of different hotels. We stayed at La Terraza in December 2012 and now we can't think of any other place we would rather stay. All of the positive comments are true. Great location, beautiful rooms, friendly staff, excellent breakfast. We can only hope that there will be room in the inn for us in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leon-Aija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

671 - 677 of 773 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2013

Best Bed and Breakfast place my boyfriend and I ever stayed at. Place was clean, nicely decorated, great home away from home, cozy, romantic. Great location for sight seeing, restaurants, shopping that everything was within walking distance. Overall place exceeded
our expectations and would stay here again if ever returned to San Juan. Manager and staff was delightfully accommodating. And would highly recommend to anyone visiting Old San Juan to stay at this charming place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlesonegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We found ourselves with flight and car and no place to stay, boy did we luck out. The place is right in the middle of everything walking distance to everything , restaurants bars, attractions perfect. As an owner of a small inn in Ft. Myers Beach, Fl. we appreciate location, location, location. The hospitality of the managers Joe has to have first props but Devon was not far behind she even offered to take us to the airport as it was San Sebastian festival and all; roads were closed off to taxis. If you want a clean!!!! place to stay great amenities fantastic hosts and the best breakfast you could have outside of Paris stay here. I and my inn aspire to be yours. Thanks for a great week off.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Four of us spent four wonderful days here over the Xmas holidays before boarding a cruise of the carribean. I chose it for the decor and location and was not disappointed. Walking distance to everything in Old San Juan. The apartment was so adorable, clean and had everything we needed. Devon was so helpful with all bookings and information about the area. Every morning, Joe delivered us a beautiful breakfast consisting of fresh fruits, meats, fresh bread, coffee, and sweets. The big double doors opened to balconies that faced the street and it was great watching the coming and goings and listening to the man calling out to sell his honeysuckle flowers every morning. The rooms were to the back of the apartment and were nice and quiet. We loved the walk-in ceramic showers. The terrace on the roof was a unique place to spend the evenings watching the sunset with a glass of wine. The free wifi let us stay connected with home. We all look forward to returning and spending a longer time as four days was just not enough. Soooo grateful we did not book just a hotel room as the luxury of this place was so welcome at the end of a busy day exploring. We have travelled extensively and would rate this place top of the line for comfort, service and accessibility to attractions, restaurants and shopping. Devon and Joe made it a memorable experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Perfect hotel for families or couples traveling together. This trip was a three night pre-cruise stay for two couples. We stayed in the two bedroom apartment, number 6.

The hotel is on a quiet street in the middle of Old San Juan, perfect for exploring the old city without a car. Parking in the old city looked difficult and I would not recommend it. Getting from the airport is easy via cab and only $20 to $30 depending on the number of bags. It's a small hotel, so be prepared with the address as the driver may not know it by name. It was also about the same cab fare to get to the Pan American cruise pier (Celebrity and Royal Caribbean departures).

Apartment six has a living room, fully appointed kitchen, two bedrooms and two bathrooms. Each bedroom had a queen bed and a separate bathroom attached with showers. There was laundry and a dishwasher in the apartment. For those continuing on with their vacation, pack some detergent pods and wash you cloths before you leave. You'll have a few days less cloths to lug.

The rooftop deck was our favorite and we spent many hours drinking wine and watching the sunset over the city. A beautiful breakfast was delivered every morning and included fresh fruit salad, fresh bread, cheese, deli meats, cookies, juice and coffee. The staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful with recommendations. We don't speak Spanish and they called cabs for us when we wanted to venture out of the old city.

If you're traveling with friends or family and considering booking a couple rooms at a hotel, definitely consider La Terraza. It was about the same as two rooms at the Marriott but so much more space and better service. A better value overall.

We've traveled and stayed at all levels of accommodations and this hotel was perfect for us. It was like staying at a friends apartment. If you're the type who expects a sterile hotel feel, this may not be for you. While we were there the hot water was an issue. Seemed the solar heater couldn't keep up. The air conditioning worked, but some rooms were frigid while others couldn't get cool enough. We rolled with it and had a great time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank escapethecube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Arrived after 8pm and Joe came out to the street to greet us and bring in luggage. 3 of us single women had plenty of space to ourselves at La Terraza. Great breakfast every morning: fresh breads, fruit, meat, cheese, brownies and coffee. With the advice of Joe & Devon, we saw much of Old San Juan and rented a car one day to get to El Junque & the bioluminescent bay. Loved the room furnishings, floor tiles,decor and the terrace. Just one of the best places I've ever stayed. Wish we could have stayed longer than 3 days. Maybe some day....

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3A, one flight up. Lovely balcony facing the main street, but not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler11292012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Let me start by saying that I am a traveler and have stayed at a vast range of accommodations, from cheap dormitories to luxury hotels, all around the world. I have worked for high-end, boutique, and historic hotel groups with multi-million dollar furnishings and exemplar service. I say this to elucidate that I have some knowledge of the hotel world.

La Terraza is, to the best of my knowledge, the most luxurious hotel in Old San Juan, and possibly in Puerto Rico. That said, if you need the amenities of a large hotel - swim up bar, 24 hour on-site room service, gym, etc. - best you stay at a chain hotel.

There are two main reasons I consider La Terraza to be the highest quality around: the manager and the quality of the rooms. Let's start with the rooms:

The rooms are huge by most hotel standards. I don't know the square footage, but my two-bedroom, two-bath suite with full kitchen, living room, and dual juliet balconies was enormous. If you've stayed at El Convento, perhaps La Terraza's only competition, you know this is not what you get there. They really are two different types of accommodation, but La Terraza is the hands down the place I’d stay. I love El Convento, but if you prefer an intimate setting with better aesthetics and vastly superior room amenities, pick La Terraza.

The kitchen is particularly impressive with very new, modern appliances such as stainless stove, dishwasher, and refrigerator, a large, marble island, tiled floors (throughout), and lovely dark-wood cabinets. It comes supplied with utensils, a toaster oven, a set of cooking knives, bar stools for eating around the kitchen-island, and even those little things most places ignore like salt and pepper, paper towels, and napkins.

The living room is attached, and I was surprised at the quality and size of the television. I only watched about an hour of a Thanksgiving football game (why would you watch TV in Old San Juan!?!), but while most hotels offer mid-to-low grade flat-screens these days, this was a really beautiful picture with surround speakers, if that's your thing.

One thing that really brings La Terraza into the "luxury" category (aside from service, to follow) is the quality of its decor. The owner has brilliantly chosen exquisite little pieces to make the space feel like home, or maybe better. Some of the pieces look to be from Southeast Asia, while many are surely from Puerto Rico and other parts of Latin America. On my beautiful wooden coffee table there was a little hand-carved book-rest that held an open Buddhist teachings book. Little touches like these make you feel comfortable and aware you're not in a chain… not that there’s anything wrong with that!

Next, the service:

The superlative nature of the service is primarily due to the manager. Joe speaks perfect American, having grown up there, as well as perfect Puerto Rican (as far as I can tell) due to his long residence there and his Latin American parents. He is incredibly personable, a bona fide character of Old San Juan, and when he knocks on your door in the morning with coffee, breads, butter and jams, deli meats, cheese, fresh fruit, and even homemade tortilla on my last day, you know it’s going to be a great day.

Joe arranged taxis, restaurant reservations, a tour, and even a flight for me. He and his staff put together a great couple of pamphlets for your coffee table detailing their recommendations for restaurants and tours. It’s touches like that you don’t get in big hotels.

Staying at La Terraza, not only are you in a quiet, untouristed area that’s still an easy walk to everything, you’re more a resident of Old San Juan than a visitor. The familial yet professional staff and the warm ambience of the rooms lend to this. The owner was kind enough to show me the renovations they are doing next door to double their size, and it will soon add a rooftop pool and hot tub to their existing, peaceful terrace.

I’m telling my friends and family it’s a no-brainer to stay at La Terraza when they visit. Please don’t tell too many people and ruin my ability to book there!

Room Tip: Just ask when you book. They have one of the few elevators in Old San Juan, so access is not an issu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank erikthebold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
970 reviews
2.6 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
844 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.3 mi away
Ciqala Luxury Suites
Ciqala Luxury Suites
#12 of 47 in San Juan
891 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Terraza de San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terraza de San Juan

Address: 262 Calle del Sol, San Juan 00901-1421, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range: £212 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Terraza de San Juan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer one bedrooms, one bedroom suites and two bedroom, two bathroom suites, as well as suites with balconies. Individually appointed rooms and suites with gorgeous personal touches. Romantic, yet family friendly environments are La Terraza's trademarks. Delicious, homemade breakfasts compliment a relaxing trip to sun drenched Puerto Rico. La Terraza is walking distance to Old San Juan's historic landmarks, a locals only beach and azure waters. La Terraza is San Juan's newest hidden gem, a spectacular boutique hotel with superlative service and the highest attention to each guest's needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Terraza de San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing